We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Bastide de Marie
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolute perfection”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This was our second trip to the Bastide de Marie celebrating our second wedding anniversary, and once again we were blown away. We stayed in Anis Vert, a gorgeous room with traditional provençal decor and wonderful views of the vineyards. Mireille was superb, always looking to make sure our stay was just as memorable as the first time.

The Bastide de Marie achieves something very rare: effortless luxury. The delicious food, the endless bottles of rosé and the friendly service, all in a rustic provençal setting provide a perfectly intimate experience. This will remain our favourite hotel in the world, it is a true gem. Sibuet family we love you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spaglies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    26
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
29
117
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris,France
Level Contributor
124 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Nice setting , food ok though menu limited in choice . Pricey , assume 100 to 120 Euros per person including wine.
Reasonable service
Not comparable to Capelongue though in food quality.
Proprietor mentioned their separate villa for 8 to 10 people for weekly stays.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveler0944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

What to say except you feel just like at home, a home you wish to have. From the moment you step inside the house, it's color scheme, it's decor, it's ambiance, it's amazing combination of warmth stone and color scheme, everything is breath taking. The proximity of the kitchen made me want to take a class, more like offer my help if it was welcome, and it was. This morning I put on my apron and showed up for what it became a 3 hours of "petits farcis" preparation! Amazing! The chef and his brigade were extremely welcoming and helpful and I felt like being part of the "Sibuet family" for a morning! Go blind folded in this magnificent bastide where you will be blessed by the Goddess of the South! Amen!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonore L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi,India
Level Contributor
174 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The rooms are comfortable and the staff friendly . One feels at home and at ease here . The meals are very good as is the wine though between the main dish and dessert service can be a bit tardy . Its part of a vineyard which one can explore. It allows you to make the most of the long summer Provencal evenings and the beautiful , unique light . Wine from the vineyard is on the house at dinnertime and starts at 7.15 , with dinner at 8 . There are two pools- one a heated one around part of the main Hotel building and a cold one in the garden - also nicely designed

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Honeygatherer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have just returned from a week at La Bastide de Marie. My husband is writing his second book and loves the peace and tranquility of Provence and this place was absolutely perfect. It is set amongst vineyards with the mountains in the background. Truly stunning.

Our room Mauve d'Aster was charming and beautifully appointed. Staying at the Bastide is a truly wonderful experience. The staff are all so kind and friendly. The reception staff are amazing. Nothing is too much trouble. The setting for eating breakfast and lunch if you want it and dinner are out this world. The food is fantastic. The wines from their vineyards are truly delicious
They serve complimentary wine and fruit juice from 3.00 pm. At 4.00pm they serve complimentary afternoon tea. At 7.30 pm they serve complimentary drinks with lovely canapés. With dinner they serve you wine which is all included in the price. We thought this was all excellent. The food is really first class, prepared lovingly by the very talented chefs. Breakfasts are delicious and the evening meal is the best we have ever eaten in Provence.
We were very sad to leave this truly wonderful place. It really is very very special.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We booked the Bastide de Marie at the recommendation of a seasoned travel adviser. We intended to use it as a convenient place to have breakfast, have a place to sleep in the wonderful Luberon region -- a base. We had reservations in great little restaurants around the area and after the first night decided to cancel -- we ate every dinner there!

First, the food -- my poor eloquence cannot do it justice. The finest, freshest, many course meal prepared by an outrageously great chef staff. (The kitchen is behind these gigantic glass doors that are normally open to field the jolly greetings of cooks of great talent. The other door is open to what appears to be a farmers market of fresh vegetables and local goodies -- but it is just where they store the ingredients for the next meal.) I guess "perfect" is too strong a word, but seated at a table under the setting sun and a great spreading tree, accompanied by the soft murmurs and laughter of the few lucky enough to be served, probably influenced our taste buds. Wait, it gets better -- the dinner table arrangement is not only next to the herb garden, some of which is on your plate, but literally a few grassy feet from the grape vines that once they are stomped and allowed to ferment make this wonderful beverage.

OK, the wine. I understand they have an outrageous wine list -- expected from a hotel near the finest and most storied wine region on the planet. But the Bastide de Marie is literally in the middle of the Domaine de Marie which has some wonderful mid-level, not crazy-priced wines. Every dinner was a choice of glasses of their six varieties of whites and reds that best complimented what was gently and properly placed in front of you by a young, friendly, enthusiastic wait staff. By the way, I believe the Marie wines are only available in France. I used to pride myself on "never meeting a wine I didn't like", but the night we returned, i opened a bottle of red stuff I used to think was passable -- had to flush the bottle down the sink -- gee thanks Domaine de Marie for wrecking my taste for mediocre (cheap) wine!

Two smallish swimming pools offer the slight refreshment just right after a thrill ride up and down mountains to visit the coolest towns you have ever seen. Yeah, its right in the middle of some "where do we go next" spots that date back when Romans also decided that part of the world was insanely great. Visited the mental hospital in St. Remy where Van Gogh spend a bunch of time -- fought the urge to stay -- it is still a working facility -- but their insistence I needed their treatments is a story for another day.

The rooms were obviously never intended to be bedrooms -- interesting and comfortable -- each is different, and I don't know how to advise on choices here. But ours became ours within seconds and the cocoon flavor of the suite had us unconscious within minutes (the Domaine de Marie wines probably helped there too!)

And the proprietress -- more friendly, helpful and full of life than should be legal. Five minutes conversing with her about days activities or breakfast or the vineyards and your store of enthusiasm is set for a week. i am embarrassed I don't have her name handy because she deserves to be honored. As does the Bastide de Marie!

Room Tip: They're all different and priced differently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomMariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortaleza, CE
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Simply a paradise! A cosy "Bastide" inside a vineyard in the heart of the Luberon national park. Nature, quietness and good food! I strongly recommend it. I spend 2 nights there with my wife last may. Perfect time too: spring. There, we can taste the wine produced right there in the property, and also take some bikes to make a "promenade" in the surroundings.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulo-Alcantara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menerbes
6.3 mi away
La Bastide de Gordes
La Bastide de Gordes
#1 of 25 in Gordes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
5.5 mi away
Domaine de Fontenille
5.7 mi away
Coquillade Village
Coquillade Village
#1 of 1 in Gargas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hotel Les Bories & Spa
Hotel Les Bories & Spa
#6 of 25 in Gordes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
7.7 mi away
Le Mas des Herbes Blanches
4.3 mi away
Domaine de Capelongue
Domaine de Capelongue
#2 of 5 in Bonnieux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bastide de Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bastide de Marie

Property: La Bastide de Marie
Address: 64 Chemin des Peirelles, Menerbes, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Luberon > Menerbes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Menerbes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Bastide de Marie 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Bastide de Marie is located in the heart of the Domaine de Marie's 57 acres of vineyards, offering you an idyllic break in Provence. 15 rooms, each one with a unique irresistible charm, its restaurant known as one of the best in the region, welcoming lounge areas, 2 pools, a Pure Altitude treatment room and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline and HRS so you can book your La Bastide de Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bastide De Marie Hotel Menerbes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing