We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The most magnificent holiday villa, Mason Olive.”

Review of Maison Olive

Bastide les Amis property - Maison Olive is on the right. There are four terraces on the property.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bastide les Amis property - Maison Olive is on the right. There are four terraces on the property.
Exterior of Maison Olive Exterior of Maison Olive
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Bastide les Amis property - Maison Olive is on the right. There are four terraces on the property.
Exterior of Maison Olive
Exterior of Maison Olive
Kitchen
Kitchen
Dining room
Lounge
Downstairs double bedroom
Downstairs bathroom
Downstairs bedroom - two single beds
Leafy garden view from one of the bedrooms
Upstairs bedroom
Upstairs bathroom
Garden
Terrace looking over to the Luberon Valley and Mont Ventoux
Another perspective of Maison Olive's terrace.
Aerial view of pool area - lounging chairs; BBQ
Swimming Pool
Swimming Pool
Pool house
Pool kitchen
House approach
Menerbes
Village of Menerbes
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Menerbes, Luberon, Vaucluse, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pamela220...
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The most magnificent holiday villa, Mason Olive.”
Reviewed November 7, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed at villa Mason Olive from 8th to 15th June and from the minute we arrived, it felt like home to our travelling group of 6 people. Individually before we arrived, we had all visited the web site and had an idea of what to expect but, I have to say that the photos do not do it justice. We were blown away with the size of the villa and the comfort we found. The villa is divine and we couldn't have been happier. We revelled in roaming about the grounds and particularly the cherry tree and its bounty.
I picked the village of Menerbes because of the movie "A Good Life" because it
is by far my favourite movie. I know I was not to find a replica of the
village in the movie, but I did find the essence of it and was not disappointed.
But Menerbes is not a shadow of the movie, it is much more. We were made to
feel welcome by every person we met and we found ourselves roaming through the
village endlessly. We made the early morning visit to the coffee shop the start to our day and on our departure we were met with the most welcome question, "Will you be back next year" to which we would loved to be able to say, 'Yes.'. We walked around the outskirts and in and out of the streets. We drank in the views at all times of the day and eat and drank very well indeed.
We found all of our experiences in France to be delightful. We were never made
to feel unwelcome and we have the need to return wedged firmly in our hearts.
It is the little things that make an experience and it is experiences that
help to complete our worlds. Unfortunately we don't feel complete because we
are wanting more. One day we may return.
The villa Mason Olive is a must in everyones travel plans.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and the welcoming, home coming feeling and the location.
Liked least: Having to leave at the end of our stay.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junter201...
Golden, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Beautiful Corner of Paradise”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Maison Olive is an elegant, quiet retreat on gorgeous grounds. We have stayed several other places in the Luberon Valley before, but after our first experience here we knew we would be back ---- and we have stayed there twice so far. There are only two of us, but the place also works well for larger groups since there are 3 lovely bedrooms. Everything in the house is beautifully appointed, from the quality of the bedding to the paintings on the walls. The kitchen is a dream, especially for those of us who like to shop the outdoor markets and then cook at home. In short, the place is heavenly!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautifully landscaped grounds and terraces.
Liked least: Having to leave!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caterpill...
Tring
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Heaven in the Luberon”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed as a family of 4 including 2 kids aged 3 and 4. It was our first visit to the house and this part of France and we have fallen in love with both. The house is very comfortable and well equipped, surrounded by beautiful gardens with an amazing variety of trees; walnut, olive, oak, wonderful roses and rosemary in abundance.... Idyllic. The pool is great, it's unheated and can feel cold when the pool is in shade (my 3 year old got blue lips, although he does that at our local pool in England and our nearly 5 year old was fine) but we loved it, perfect size, deep enough for jumping but it has a very wide step which makes a perfect area for little ones. Menerbes is an easy walk and perfect to drop in for an ice cream or pastis, unfortunately the butcher was shut and we only found the patisserie on the last day, very good epicurie and we had a wonderful meal at La Verandah while Justine babysat (Lovonne can give you her details). We did easy trips to Isle sur la sorgue, Gordes, Rousillion and drove to mont ventoux which was wonderful especially as 2 eurofighters came flying up from the valley as we reached the top. We'd have liked to have seen more of the area but we got swept away by the peacefulness of the house and gardens - so perfect we've booked to return for 2 weeks next year. Thank you Lovonne for creating such a wonderful place to stay and for the excellent area guide

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris p
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wish we had stayed for longer!”
Reviewed June 13, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We trawled the internet to find a place we could make home with our parents for a week in a part of the world we adore, a place my mum,dad & mother in law hadn't been to before so we wanted to prove all the hype was justified and it was and more. Maison Olive was perfect for all of us a 2 minute walk for me and my wife in the evening and a 5 minute for all of us in the afternoon!! There is everything you need in Menerbes it is truly beautiful a real class village. The views from the house are divine and the setting is fabulous we really didn't want to come home. The kitchen was so well equipped i did more cooking than i expected in a truly provencal atmosphere. We visited so many places as the location of Maison olive is so good, the house itself was very homely and comfortable the pool and bbq area was perfect and we just wish we could have stayed for another week or 2!. Lovonne & Simon were very welcoming even helping my dad change the language on the cars computer. Thanks

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Cherries from the tree & the location.
Liked least: The upstairs shower when people use water downstairs!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armen g
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Everything about Maison Olive is Superb!”
Reviewed April 15, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a thoroughly enjoyable second stay at Maison Olive. Everything was superb - the decor is utterly charming and made us feel immediately as though we were in the comfort of our own home......but in the idyllic surroundings of Menerbes. The house is perfectly apppointed with stunning views and allowing for a leisurely stroll into the centre of the delightful village. All we could have wanted from our visit to Provence was encompassed by Maison Olive and I recommend it wholeheartedly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything.
Liked least: not applicable
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChantalMi...
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highlight of our 3 week holiday in France”
Reviewed November 9, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a wonderful week at Maison Olive in September. The house was perfect in everyway. Super comfortable beds, stunning view to wake up to!! Lots of space for kids to play. Village centre 5min walk to your morning coffee and pastry or amazing dinner at La Verandah! Location perfect for exploring the area. We have tried to book for 3 weeks next year and its booked up!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle...
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfection in Provence”
Reviewed September 5, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We spent 3 wonderful weeks enjoying the delights of Maison Olive, Menerbes and the many picturesque villages nearby. The house, gardens, wonderful hosts and resident cat were even more charming than the pictures and brochures we had seen and we spent our days relaxing by the pool, eating baguettes in the beautiful gardens and sunning ourselves. We've reeboked for 2014 and can't wait to come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peacefulness
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$159
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing