We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of Provence”
Review of Cafe Veranda

Cafe Veranda
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Menerbes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $25
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Silverdale, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best of Provence”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We dined twice at Café Veranda during our week in Menerbes and would have even more had we not been out exploring the rest of the countryside. The wait staff were very friendly and efficient and the food superb and plentiful. The scallop risotto, filet of beef, and were wonderful and the baba au rhum and pistachio panna cota were especially delicious desserts. There was a bit of chill in the evenings (early October) but it was warm and cozy in this beautiful restaurant. The chef checked with each table after dinner and he took great pride in ensuring his customers were happy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SSBNchop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    140
    44
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

A very nice restaurant in the heart of Menerbes. Has undergone several changes of staffing in the past few years, but standards remain high. Try it for lunch and see if you can get a table at the back of the room on the verandah for beautiful views.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best lunch in Luberon.”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

We went with high hopes that we could have the famous omelette du truffe... But they were out of truffles. Bummer. We thought all was lost but were too hungry to leave. We ordered the gnocchi and the omelette fromage thinking that that would probably be an ok alternative. HOLY CRAP. This was the best, most flavorful thing I have ever tasted. My wide and I kept looking at each other with every bite shaking our heads in disbelief. The gnocchi was absolutely amazing And the omelette was just as good. Seriously - every bite we would make a 'can you believe how great this is' face and shook our heads with pleasure. The salad that came with it was very fresh and tasty too. All in all, we'll worth the price. One day earlier we ate in St. Remy and the price was about the same, so maybe our 'value gage' was off, but we gladly paid about 50€ for two of the best dishes, a half carafe of rouge, coffee, and water. We'll worth it. See the photo that I am about to post.

Oh - and the service was simply amazing. Friendly, accepting of our baby, and speedy. Can't ask for anything more.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Xfortythreex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goult, France
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Maybe the nicest restaurant in the Luberon”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This restaurant has everything. It is located in the beautiful village of Menerbes.It has a gorgeous view overlooking the valley and mountains. It has a cozy fireplace burning in winter time. The food is always very high quality and served with elegance. Especially for lunch the price is very good. The service is always friendly and you can see that the it is a place that people come back to. This is the place where we most often take are guests for lunch.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LocLorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Consistently Wonderful”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We came here for lunch yesterday, expecting a good meal but possibly not as wonderful as we got! Menerbes is a lovely little village but there isn't a huge amount of choice for places to eat at. With that in mind, we thought that whilst this place had no. 1 spot on Trip Advisor, it would probably just equate to a "good meal in an out-of-the-way" spot.

It was fantastic!! We came for lunch 2 days in a row, not the original plan, and found not only the food wonderful but the staff just lovely as well. We ordered the "plat du jour" both days and it was outstandingly good in taste and value. We are coming to the end of a 2 month trip in France and we didn't expect to have such a lovely surprise at this stage of the holiday.

You can not go wrong visiting this place and we are just sorry we can't come tomorrow as well!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YeeHaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Veranda also viewed

 
Bonnieux, Luberon
 

Been to Cafe Veranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing