We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mediocre”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Galoubet

Le Galoubet
Ranked #4 of 16 Restaurants in Menerbes
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bucuresti, Romania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

This small restaurant serves traditional food in a simple ambiance. The food was tasty enough, with some exceptions. The potatoes in the beef stew were undercooked, even if the meat was tender and good. The selection is very small and they don't go out of their way at all to bring something special to the menu. The creme-brulee was so-so. They didn't have the cocquelet and suggested chicken instead... as if it compares. They brought the check without us asking for it and without asking if we desired anything else. For the services they offered it was not very cheap. I would not go there again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanaE18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    68
    34
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had lunch and the service was good. The omelette was okay. 38E for 2 people to have a light lunch no wine.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donnasue32111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Bad / Mauvais Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

I, too, was in attendance on May 7 (see another's review below) for the service disaster at this restaurant. We waited 15 minutes before the serveuse came to see what we wanted. Then we waited for over one hour for our dishes and a basket of bread to appear. (Happily we did not order a prix fixe meal since we would probably still be waiting for the dessert.) The crowning absudity was that my wife had ordered a salad. How long does it take to construct a lettuce bed for a couple of slices of cured salmon and a couple more of duck breast? My slice of gigot with frites need not have taken much longer, so simple was the preparation. There was a bright chord sounded amidst this experiential cacophony: The 2011 "Les Artèmes" rosé of the nearby La Citadelle winery was superb, in large part because of the minerality it displayed. It rates an "Excellent" rating.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vandover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
287 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Nice lunch in a pretty village”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

We had a nice lunch in this pleasant restaurant. It is well worth visiting when in the town. The terrace was nice. Service was good and prices reasonable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EssexPianist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“For a nice little lunch break in Menerbes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

After a nice walk around the village of Menerbes, we enjoyed a very pleasant ( and very reasonnable) Luncheon . We recommend you sit on the little terrasse across from the restaurant ..

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Vahineinbora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Galoubet also viewed

 
Menerbes, Luberon
 

Been to Le Galoubet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing