We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Bastide St Georges
Nearby Hotels
Les Anes de Forcalquier(Forcalquier)(Great Value!)
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel(Forcalquier)(Great Value!)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$172
$154
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
La Margotte(Forcalquier)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Camping Forcalquier(Forcalquier)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (288)
Filter reviews
288 results
Traveler rating
144
92
38
10
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
144
92
38
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsst georgesenjoyed our staycycling holidayresidential areadecent sizebeautiful hotelpool areaper personspaterraceprovencegroundsregion
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 288 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2014

The site is exceptionnel, and the hotel is lovely. I agree with many other writers who comment that there is little service, and that which is offered is provided by young women who at best, are just beginning a career in hospitality, at worst are locals who need a summer job.

That's not necessarily bad, but it isn't 4 stars.

And seriously, the word "spa" needs to be removed from the french language - their's does not rate that title - once again, I got a nice facial, but the place isn't grand enough to be called a spa.

And why, oh why, can the french not heat their jacuzzis? The pool is warm and the jacuzzi is exactly the same temperature...

Finally, the restaurant was good, not at all imaginative, but good, served by a young woman who is going to hotel school but has a long way to go. And the place is so badly designed - you walk in past the kitchen- not a show kitchen, mind you- and then you walk through a room with service carts and crap everywhere, to go to a very nice terrace. To my way of thinking, it's like so many other places in southern France - just not up to snuff lately.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room "prestige" and it was great. Can't comment on the smaller rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mimimoore2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

La Bastide St Georges Forcalquier is on the fringes of the town, between Forcalquier and Mane. It looked unimpressive from the outside (at least in April) - a bit like a motel complex. However our room was extremely luxurious and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. There was a good on-site restaurant (a separate business in the complex).

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BTJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

a lovely place surrounded by an amazing landscape. very nice room - it's actually a little bungalow in a row with others, and you even have your own small terrace. we had a glass of wine there and watched the sunset - very romantic indeed. room was nicely decorated, fully equipped with kettle and everything you need for your first coffee in the morning. breakfast was very good, although we had to wait quite a while for our eggs (they had run out and someone had to fetch more eggs from a nearby shop). nicely located just outside forcalquier, but only 2min drive to the center.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cannylassZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We've been in this hotel in family (3 adults and 3 kids) for 2 nights, on the way to go to our holiday place in Cote d'Azur. We booked 2 "bedrooms" (in fact they are little bungalows side by side with a main room and a bathroom each, andyou accessthem from a little private patio in front of. A big garden is also present in the hotel). The people at the reception are very nice, the area very beautiful (with a lot of olive trees !). The "bedrooms" are big and very well decorated. The bathrooms are beautiful and big too. The pool is very nice and the spa area too.
From the autoroute, the access to the hotel is easy but can take 20 mins, moreover when there is the open market at Forcalquier.
There is free parking places for your car but when the hotel is full, I'm not sure everybody can have a spot.
We took only the breakfast at the hotel and it is very nice to have it on the main patio in summer.
For lunch, you can have snacks at the hotel and for diner, there is the independent restaurant at 5 minutes walking: Les Terrasses de la Bastide.

The negative points of the hotel is it is not children oriented. They is no games outside for them (even if there is a big garden) and the pool is not designed for children. And when you look at the people there with no children, you can see that they don't want to see/hear children playing or running in the area of the hotel.
Regarding the "bedroom", there is a kettle and only 1 normal instant coffee bag and 1 normal tea bag. We asked the cleaner to put more and she replied to us no as it's like that. And if we wanted more, we have to go to the reception to ask for some! Same for the shower gel or shampoo products: only one tub per bathroom! For a 4 stars hotel with bedroom at 240€/night, you expect more products in the bathroom and for coffee/tea!

Room Tip: Bungalows in front of the spa/wellness are very quiet but you can hear the swimming pool machinery in the evening/night.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincent1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

not really a hotel but a collection of bungalows and en-suite rooms.If I return I will request a room in the main building.
the room was excellent with fridge and kettle, and a little patio. not very private. The pool area was quite small, I did not use it as my family had one of the bungalows with a pool . The spa was very expensive, again I did not use it. The wifi did not work except in the main building. This was disappointing as I like to use it in the evenings before bed.
breakfast very expensive.
the restaurant close to the hotel was excellent, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelvalIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews