We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place”
Review of Charembeau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Charembeau
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Forcalquier
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Recently returned from a perfect week's stay here while trying to fly my hot air balloon in between the mistral winds blowing a gale... And this was the perfect spot to unwind while waiting for the weather to do the right thing - the best breakfasts imaginable with lashings of fresh fruit, yoggie & delicious croissants breads with home made jams, and pastis plus nibbles to help the boules' matches along. The owners could not have been more helpful & friendly - & sent us to some delicious local restaurants round & about for dinner. The rooms are spacious with nice private terraces to enjoy & a small kitchen in ours in case we were flying early & needed food to get us going at the crack of dawn. We will definitely return...thank you to all the Charembeau team!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have terraces while the ground floor ones have their own little garden space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Frazers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 285 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2014

As part of a cycling holiday in Provence, my husband and I stayed at Le Charembeau for 2 nights. Every detail was exceptional- breakfast on the terrace overlooking beautiful countryside, L'Occitaine toiletries in the bathroom, adapters found for our phones, picnic made for the day we left with a punnet of local fruit etc. We will definitely be coming back here and staying for longer!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Hilary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Everything about this place was just perfect! We had a room with a little balcony overlooking the countryside. We rented bicycles and the staff helped us choose a great route, complete with lunch at a little local bistro. Stayed two nights, but could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanna727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Beautiful surroundings and a splendid agroturisimo-style place. Spacious room with everything you need; L'Occitane toiletries in a well-designed bathroom - and minibar plus corkscrew - all good things I was not expecting. Comfortable, firm beds with lovely linen, bolster and square pillow-style. Very clean. I was impressed by the high standards of housekeeping throughout the hotel. I really liked the fresh flowers (renewed during our stay). Service is understated and efficient. Found everyone extremely helpful. Liked the relaxing lounge and used the internet (unfamiliar layout of keyboard had me flummoxed for a while!). Art on the walls and great food. Was delighted by arrangement hotel has with a select few restaurants in the area to take car-less people there and the restaurant brings you back. Fabulous!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexandraUB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Only stayed one night, but would have been happy to stay longer. The room was extremely spacious and of great quality. We stayed the night before a hot-air balloon flight, which required us to leave before breakfast was being served; the hotel delivered a tray, cooler, and thermos of coffee for us the evening before so that we could eat before leaving. Do know that it's not quite in Forcalquier -- it's a very short drive to the nearest towns, but there's not much that you could plan on walking to. Staff were great, very friendly and efficient.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank lisa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Four of us stayed there for four nights and we only wished to stay for more! What a beautiful place! Views over snowy tops of Alps, gorgeous gardens surrounding and country fields around. The building itself and the decor very true to the character of this old country farm. Super clean and comfortable rooms and beds, tasty breakfasts and in general very personal,welcoming atmosphere. Overall one of this places you want to visit again and again.

Room Tip: All room beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank franciszek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We spent 5 nights at the estate, 2 families & 5 kids. The hotel was recommended by friends, and they were right ! The location is very comfortable for day trips in Provence - 1-2 hours drive to all the major sites. Situated in the countryside, very green. You immediately feel classy ... The kids had a great time with the pool, tennis, tabletennis, voleyball courts and were busy all the time.
The rooms are beautifully designed and are spacious. Plumbing is a bit noisy, and we would have liked optional dark curtains (awakened by the sun too early every morning). The staff are great - kind, helpful, speak good English. The breakfast was wonderful and carried us nicely through the day. We rented bikes at the hotel - very convenient and technically good bikes, of course wonderful landscape for biking.
We used the staff to recommend restaurants in the area (only breakfast available at the hotel) - all their suggestions were excellent. it's important to reserve tables, all the places were full when we got there.
The hotel is not cheap, but it was a unique experience and a delightful stay, worth the cost. Highly recommended !

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forcalquier
1.7 mi away
Le Couvent des Minimes Hotel & SPA L'Occitane
2.1 mi away
La Bastide St Georges
La Bastide St Georges
#2 of 3 in Forcalquier
275 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Le Mas des Quintrands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Villa Borghese
Villa Borghese
#1 of 14 in Greoux les Bains
501 reviews
21.8 mi away
Le Colombier
Le Colombier
#1 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
553 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mas du Pont roman
Mas du Pont roman
#2 of 3 in Mane
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charembeau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charembeau

Address: route de Niozelles, 04300, Forcalquier, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Alpes-de-Haute-Provence > Forcalquier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Forcalquier
Price Range: $82 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Charembeau 3*
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing