We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Charembeau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Charembeau
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Forcalquier
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Australlia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

The Charembeau was outstanding - and to date, probably the best place we've stayed on our trip to France. As a previous reviewer has noted, the 10E breakfasts are well worth it. It was divine to sit in the morning sun enjoying a hearty breakfast made with local produce. It is a little way out of town but in the evening the hotel can drive you in to one of a couple of nominated restaurants in town and someone from there will then drive you home. Very helpful when you've arrived by bike and can't face the idea of then riding to get dinner! Our room was beautiful, clean and spacious and we had a lovely terrace out the front to enjoy coffee in the sun. The family who own/run the hotel were really helpful and very personable - nothing was a problem. When it came time for us to leave it took us all morning to get motivated to get back on the bike as we'd had such a restful break at the Charembeau.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SStar00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    23
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
51
142
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mass
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

What an amazing spot and lovely hotel. We stayed three nights in August with our teenage son. We wish we could have stayed forever. The hotel is beautiful with well kept grounds, an amazing pool, volleyball, table tennis, beautiful interior spaces to just sit and relax. Breakfast ( 10 Euro/person) is well worth it , served on a lovely outdoor terrace ( though the indoor space is beautiful as well) and complete with cereals, fresh yogurt, assortments of breads, croissants, jams, honey, fresh fruit cups, coffee, tea, and hot chocolate. For 1 Euro ( $1.40) you can order eggs. The family that run the hotel are really delightful and attempt to cater to all your desires. Our teenager and dad rented bicycles and took off to see the countryside. They could not stop gushing about the wonderful the bikes and individual service- let alone the marvelous ride through an amazing countryside. We had a junior suite with a large main bedroom and smaller single bedroom and a private terrace. The bathroom was quite luxurious. There is much to see in the surrounding area- but you may want to just enjoy this spectacular hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rookie355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Stayed there three days during a two week vacation in the south of France and we simply loved it! What a place! A quiet farm type property ideally placed in the middle of fields with nicely decorated rooms and an even nicer pool. The staff goes to all means to make sure that your stay is as pleasant as can be! And I have to mention the wonderful breakfast!

Forcalquier itself is a nice little town out of the path usually travelled by tourists...It’s like I imagine Provence before it became a popular destination. If you have the occasion to travel to this area, stay at Charembeau!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havana, Cuba
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

After quite a bit of research and the excellent reviews, I was not disappointed. The quiet atmosphere, stunning surroundings and warmth of service was exceptional. One can tell that the family is well acquainted in dealing with the demands of running such an establishment. Any request was dealt with ease and a "no problems" attitude.
The pool and grounds are immaculate, and the location gives easy access to a lovely walk into the town. Market day in Forcalquier is a must!
The staff deserves a special mention as they were genuinely gracious and efficient.
Truly THE place to stay in the area....

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brenta38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
508 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2011

What a nice place! What a nice welcoming family!
We stayed at hotel Charembeau for 4 days (longer than initially planned!) with the family and booked two rooms, one regular for the kids (well, teens actually! :-)) and a junior suite for us (actually was a suite since the bedroom was separated). Rooms are awesome, bathrooms, modern with nice amenities (that you can buy at the hotel to bring some back home).
Breakfasts were very good, served in the room or in the breakfast room (eggs available (and good) as well as cereals). Fresh fruits and juice are also served. And most importantly the coffee is good (yes, they have an espresso machine)!
Since the hotel has no restaurant (although a cold plate can be ordered in advance - nice to chill out by the pool all day long :-)), a list of neighboring restaurants is available along with personalised suggestions. All the ones we tried were very good and reasonably priced.
In terms of activities, beyond the swimming pools, bikes (and e-bikes) can be rented (worth it as the area is beautiful). Other sports are also available close-by. And of course any visitor should visit the pretty Forcalquier and its "co-cathedral", as well as many other cute place in the area.
All together the Charembeau is a little paradise, hosted by a very nice family, that I would recommend to anyone going in this part of Provence. And we look forward going back soon...

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Swissdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2011

We spent three weeks traveling Southern France and this is a standout favorite. If you have not decided yet stay here, you wont be disappointed. A couple miles from the main town but there are bikes to rent to get around, or drive a couple minutes. A typical French style farmhouse in Provence.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moon_river_co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2010

We spent two nights here in order to relax before starting on a week's cycling trip from Forcalquier. The approach and the setting are beautiful; the building and the grounds are a delight; the proprietors and the staff are charming; the rooms delightfully French; the breakfast exquisitely presented. All at a remarkably reasonable price.

In short, a lovely place. But you do need a car.

(PS The cycling tour around the Luberon valley was wonderful as well)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forcalquier
1.7 mi away
Le Couvent des Minimes Hotel & SPA L'Occitane
2.1 mi away
La Bastide St Georges
La Bastide St Georges
#2 of 3 in Forcalquier
244 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Le Mas des Quintrands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Le Colombier
Le Colombier
#1 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
512 reviews
13.6 mi away
Villa Borghese
Villa Borghese
#1 of 14 in Greoux les Bains
430 reviews
21.8 mi away
La Bastide de Moustiers
La Bastide de Moustiers
#2 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charembeau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charembeau

Property: Charembeau
Address: route de Niozelles, 04300, Forcalquier, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Alpes-de-Haute-Provence > Forcalquier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Forcalquier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Charembeau 3*
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing