We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine hotel, bad food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostellerie du Perigord

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostellerie du Perigord
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fine hotel, bad food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed quite often in this little hotel in Aubeterre and we find the rooms are fine. Small, but clean and nice. The food however was not to our taste at all, contrary to some reviews on this site. Pretentious but lacking in style and taste, randomly putting way too many flavours on the plate. There are better restaurants close by, but a good place to stay nevertheless.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mg-bc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    42
    17
    12
    9
See reviews for
32
46
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Burnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

We have visited this restaurant many times over the years and stopped going some years ago because we disliked having the swimming pool guests walk past us in their swimming costumes when we were having a classy dinner.. Not sure that this has stopped but we recently had a lovely lunch.. We feel the place could be stunning if there was someone to manage the environment like the pot plants and swimming pool which all looked very neglected and a bit haphazard (and they are right next door to a garden centre so there are no excuses!) and felt that the service could be much better. Shame to see a carefully constructed dessert dish carelessly carried to the table so that the arrangement had collapsed by the time it was delivered... and not impressed with the waitress' outfit.. could be much more elegant to match the food... little touches that make all the difference especially when you have this class of food...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueSpencerKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

We spent two nights here and had a great time. The rooms are basic but the bed is very comfortable. The staff are very friendly and happy to help but the star attraction is the restaurant.

Outside on the sign it reads "cuisine gastronomique" and it certainly doesn't disappoint! Simply amazing food and service!

Also make sure you try our the nearby restaurant "Le Domaine des Vignes" which is also excellent in every way!

Room Tip: Furthest away from stairs as can get a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alovelovey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aubeterre-sur-Dronne, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

We spent one night there when visiting Aubeterre sur Dronne on business. We were met by a British member of staff who was extremely helpful. The room was certainly not luxurious but clean and adequate for a one night stay at somewhere at a rate of €65 per night. The restaurant was however tremendous. The service was excellent, and although not necessary for us, the staff spoke English (half of Aubeterre seems to be British). The fixed price menu was €26, and to imagine the quality and presentation of the food - think TV's 'Masterchef'. Excellent! The breakfast was an extra €8. This, compaired to the previous nights meal was a bit of a disappointment. Adequate again, but perhaps a little overpriced.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise_Gary56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

The staff and owners of Hostellerie du Perigord could not have been more helpful and friendly. This family run small hotel, with the most amazing food, was a real find. The rooms were smallish but had all one could possiby require and were comfortable and homely. The pool area was such an unexpected treat and the food was sublime. Breakfast was a little disappointing as no fresh baguettes or croissants, but perfectly adequate. The village of Aubeterre-sur-Dronne is quite magical - with great shops, both food and gifts, a beautiful square, interestign sights and restaurants - If you havent been there it is to be recommended!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillyJTarves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angouleme, France
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

Spent one night and the following morning here as a birthday treat. We arrived for dinner and were shown to our rooms, no lift but we were asked if we wanted a hand with our bag. Our room was small but very clean and well equipped, no air con, but could request a fan, bathroom a very good size, well lit and the products supplied were of good quality.
The beautiful dining room overlooks the swimming pool & deck where we had an aperitif before dinner. Food and wine were excellent and reasonably priced. I even got a candle and sparkler on my dessert!! (gastronomic haute cuisine of Paris standard). The service from our waiters Ben & Matthew was second to none, attentive but not intrusive.
Breakfast the following morning was a good selection continental style. We then used the hammam & jacuzzi, (the fitness room seemed a little too energetic), prior to our spa treatments. Once again Ben was on hand to make sure that we had everything we needed. The girls in the spa really know their job, welcoming and fun to be around. Treatments were of a good standard, calm and relaxing, this was rounded off by an excellent lunch of salad by the pool (dont be fooled by the word salad, this is a salad like you have never had before!!!)
We will certainly be recommending this gem, set in the luscious Dronne Valley, to all our family and friends!!!! Well done guys

Room Tip: All rooms are good!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krissy16250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laprade
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

To former opinion who hated it I think you were mistaken!
Maybe it was too good compared to your usual standards because if you think that was pretentious you have obviousley never been to a 5 star restaurant.
I thought the experience was wonderful. Good for a family holiday and perfect for a romantic weekend away. It has been redecorated, the pool now has a deck and the 6 place jaccuzi was divine. There is also a brilliant gym and a spa with a fully qualified masseuse and beautician who was friendly and brilliant at her job!
The pool was lovely, there is a lovely beach a 2minuit walk down the road , the lovely square of aubeterre on the hill and to be honest, there is no better location for such a lovely restaurant/hotel . The new maitre di, Michelle is a charming man attentive to his customers. The food is of high quality and is completely delicious! There are many treatments possible in the spa, you have free acces to the gym, the jaccuzzi and the pool. I highly reccomend it! It is the most welcoming hotel I know of.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlotteJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aubeterre-sur-Dronne
1.3 mi away
La Braisiere
La Braisiere
#1 of 1 in Saint-Romain
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel La Vieille Maison
Hotel La Vieille Maison
#1 of 1 in Saint-Paul-Lizonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
11.5 mi away
Les Tuileries de Chanteloup
Les Tuileries de Chanteloup
#1 of 2 in La Roche Chalais
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Hotel Resturant La Vieille Etable
Hotel Resturant La Vieille Etabl...
#1 of 2 in Roullet-Saint-Estephe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
21.5 mi away
Chateau De La Cote
Chateau De La Cote
#1 of 1 in Bourdeilles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 1 in Aubeterre-sur-Dronne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie du Perigord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie du Perigord

Property: Hostellerie du Perigord
Address: Quartier Plaisance | Aubeterre-sur-Dronne, 16390 Aubeterre-sur-Dronne, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente > Aubeterre-sur-Dronne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aubeterre-sur-Dronne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostellerie du Perigord 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostellerie du Perigord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Du Perigord Hotel Aubeterre-Sur-Dronne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing