We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a luxurious homestay - but better!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aubeterre-sur-Dronne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Les Chambres de coco
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Like a luxurious homestay - but better!”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at les Chambres de Coco with friends in June when visiting the Dordogne for another friend's wedding. We couldn't believe our luck. Our room (Clementine) was spacious, modern, comfortable and spotless. Vincent and Coco were extremely gracious hosts and genuinely interested in getting to know their guests. We got a lovely recommendation for dinner on our first night in Aubeterre (Hotel de France) and retired early to les chambres to enjoy some drinks from the honesty bar (a lovely idea, novel and fun!) and play some pool-chess. The house is full of some gorgeous furniture finds, lovingly restored by Vincent. I took their divine retriever Bob for a run in the surrounding countryside the next morning to brush off the cobwebs from the night before (that they allowed me to is testament to their graciousness as hosts), then returned for a swim, followed by a very tasty breakfast. More or less a perfect morning. We didn't get to explore the surrounding area as much as we would like and are hoping to return to do this in the future. For accommodation we will look no further than les Chambres. Thank you again Vincent, Coco and Bob!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcmurphy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceVincent, Owner at Les Chambres de coco, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
hello emer,owen and the gang,
thank you so much for your really kind review,glad you enjoyed yourselves,it sounds like your wedding was a great success.
we are looking forward to seeing you here again soon i hope...bob too.
very best to you all.vincent and coco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
55
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We booked into Les Chambres de Coco knowing the area well as we own property nearby. We also had met Coco from her fabulous shop in Aubeterre square - sadly now closed. In short, you would have to travel many many miles to get this quality of accomodation - we had the Nectarine suite - absolutely spotless, beautifully decorated and the bed - probably one of the most comfortable experienced in our Worldwide travels. The breakfast breads fresh out the oven and the locally made preserves are to die for! Vincent and Coco are brilliant hosts who we will most definitely be seeing again. Simply the best!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StaninBahrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceVincent, Owner at Les Chambres de coco, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
hello stan and grace.
this is an interesting and sometimes challenging job...but i have to say it is made all the more worthwhile when we have the pleasure of the company of folk like you two....
hope to see you again very soon...
thank you for the kind words...greatly appreciated..
coco,vincent ...plus of course... bob.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We arrive in Aubeterre with nowhere to stay. Another local hotel suggested Co Co. We were so glad they did!
Vincent was charming, the room was excellent and the welcome was second to none.
we particularly liked the attitude to trust... there's the fridge, help yourself and write down what you've had. What a gent!
Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceVincent, Owner at Les Chambres de coco, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
hello tim,glad you found us too...hope we see you back here soon...i will stock the fridge up ready...
very best regards..vincent and coco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We must first thank our wonderful estate agent and new friend for recommending Les Chambres de Coco to us. We took her advice and booked in for a short stay during our house hunting trip over the Easter break. We were greeted warmly by Vincent, one half of the husband and wife team who own and run Coco's and a warmer, friendlier welcome couldn't be possible! We had a choice of rooms and decided on a suite which was beautifully decorated and very comfortable indeed. We didn't get to meet Colette aka Coco, but Vincent's warm personality was sufficiently entertaining! We spent an enjoyable evening chatting over drinks with him and his stories and humour made it an evening to remember. With a shared interest in property restoration Vince was as generous with his local knowledge as he was with his hosting skills!

We had a wonderful stay at this truly excellent bed and breakfast and we hope that our next visit will be soon. Thank you Vincent- you are a great host!

Room Tip: All the rooms are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceVincent, Owner at Les Chambres de coco, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
hello you two,thank you for your very generous review.it was great to meet you both and chew the fat as it were.hope we see you again soon to continue the conversation.you never know we may even have found some tea bag bins by then....!best to you in the property hunt.vincent and coco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, England
Level Contributor
114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed here for one night while looking at wedding venues.

This place is stunning! We were upgraded to a suite, the room was beautiful and the bathroom was amazing!! Vincent met us and gave us a tour/overview, very much welcomed.

5 min drive from aubeterre sur dronne, a beautiful little town with restaurants and shops.

The only negative was that we only stayed one night, we should have stayed longer! Needless to say, we will be back. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglandCls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceVincent, Owner at Les Chambres de coco, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
hello you two,many thanks for the kind words,great to be appreciated.hope we see you again soon,and hope the wedding plans go well.very best wishes,vincent and coco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed at this beautifully restored manor house for two nights in December with my daughter and her fiancé while looking at a wedding venue. It is situated close to the picturesque town of Aubeterre, and is a little gem in this lovely part of France! The accommodation is first class, with beautifully decorated and well-equipped rooms, and if there is anything you need, nothing is too much trouble for the hosts Vincent and Coco. Our room had a comfortable seating area with TV and tea-making facilities, a fabulous wet room, comfortable king size bed and wonderful views of the garden, pool and countryside beyond. There is a well resourced library with leather sofas in the hall, and a fridge containing drinks downstairs. We thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast in the lovely bright downstairs room, and there was an excellent selection of delicious pastries etc. accompanied by fresh juice and coffee. I cannot recommend Les chambers de coco highly enough, but perhaps the most memorable part is the warmth and helpfulness of the hosts. Thank you Vincent and Coco for making us so welcome!

Room Tip: They are all good, but Cherry and Nectarine and excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceVincent, Owner at Les Chambres de coco, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
hello rosie and thanks for your generous review.it does us no end of good to be appreciated ! it was very good to meet you both,and hope to see you all again in the summer for the big event.take good care,and have a very happy christmas.vincent and coco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

So many people have sung the praises of this fantastic find in a beautiful part of France - there's really not much more anyone can say! But, nevertheless, here it goes...

My fiance and I stayed here in late October on a trip to find a wedding venue in the area. The stay was magical and just what we needed to get us in the wedding mood. First things first - the actual building has been lovingly refurbished and decorated with an expert touch. No expense has been spared on the furnishings and you can really tell that Vincent and Coco have invested a lot of themselves in the property. The rooms are large and comfortable (the bed was better than ours at home!). The building is large so it feels like a small hotel, rather than a B&B! We arrived quite late at night so the view from the window of the pool outside was a lovely surprise when we woke. The breakfast was authentically French and the ingredients were top quality. The area itself is so friendly - Aubeterre is a town with a real community feel. We were taken care of at all times.

This B&B goes above and beyond a 5* hotel. Vincent and Coco were attentive and helpful at all times. They called local restaurants to make reservations for us on both of the nights we stayed (and the meals were delicious). As a previous reviewer has commented - having only stayed 2 nights, we felt like we were leaving friends. Many thanks to Vincent, Coco and Bob (the most beautiful golden retriever in the world) for making our trip a memorable one. Needless to say, we will be seeing you in 2014 for the wedding!

Room Tip: We did not stay in a suite. The main rooms are large and spacious - you really can't go wrong wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceVincent, Owner at Les Chambres de coco, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
hello rachel,many thanks for your generous write up,it may have been said before ,but it does us the power of good to hear a kind word now and then.i think this is one of the many positives with trip advisor,it encourages people on this side of the business to try harder.that said,very glad you enjoyed yourselves,and looking forward to seeing you again for the big event.thanks again,vincent and coco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aubeterre-sur-Dronne
2.5 mi away
La Braisiere
La Braisiere
#1 of 1 in Saint-Romain
57 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hostellerie du Perigord
Hostellerie du Perigord
#1 of 1 in Aubeterre-sur-Dronne
131 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel La Vieille Maison
Hotel La Vieille Maison
#1 of 1 in Saint-Paul-Lizonne
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Chateau Le Mas de Montet
Chateau Le Mas de Montet
#1 of 1 in Petit-Bersac
94 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Les Chambres de coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Chambres de coco

Property: Les Chambres de coco
Address: Bonnaud, 16390 Aubeterre-sur-Dronne, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente > Aubeterre-sur-Dronne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Aubeterre-sur-Dronne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comprehensive and sensitive restoration of a beautiful 19th century manor house set in the Charente countryside near Aubeterre sur Dronne. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing