We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aubeterre-sur-Dronne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Les Chambres de coco
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed here for one night while looking at wedding venues.

This place is stunning! We were upgraded to a suite, the room was beautiful and the bathroom was amazing!! Vincent met us and gave us a tour/overview, very much welcomed.

5 min drive from aubeterre sur dronne, a beautiful little town with restaurants and shops.

The only negative was that we only stayed one night, we should have stayed longer! Needless to say, we will be back. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglandCls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceVincent, Owner at Les Chambres de coco, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

hello you two,many thanks for the kind words,great to be appreciated.hope we see you again soon,and hope the wedding plans go well.very best wishes,vincent and coco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 81 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed at this beautifully restored manor house for two nights in December with my daughter and her fiancé while looking at a wedding venue. It is situated close to the picturesque town of Aubeterre, and is a little gem in this lovely part of France! The accommodation is first class, with beautifully decorated and well-equipped rooms, and if there is anything you need, nothing is too much trouble for the hosts Vincent and Coco. Our room had a comfortable seating area with TV and tea-making facilities, a fabulous wet room, comfortable king size bed and wonderful views of the garden, pool and countryside beyond. There is a well resourced library with leather sofas in the hall, and a fridge containing drinks downstairs. We thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast in the lovely bright downstairs room, and there was an excellent selection of delicious pastries etc. accompanied by fresh juice and coffee. I cannot recommend Les chambers de coco highly enough, but perhaps the most memorable part is the warmth and helpfulness of the hosts. Thank you Vincent and Coco for making us so welcome!

Room Tip: They are all good, but Cherry and Nectarine and excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceVincent, Owner at Les Chambres de coco, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

hello rosie and thanks for your generous review.it does us no end of good to be appreciated ! it was very good to meet you both,and hope to see you all again in the summer for the big event.take good care,and have a very happy christmas.vincent and coco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

So many people have sung the praises of this fantastic find in a beautiful part of France - there's really not much more anyone can say! But, nevertheless, here it goes...

My fiance and I stayed here in late October on a trip to find a wedding venue in the area. The stay was magical and just what we needed to get us in the wedding mood. First things first - the actual building has been lovingly refurbished and decorated with an expert touch. No expense has been spared on the furnishings and you can really tell that Vincent and Coco have invested a lot of themselves in the property. The rooms are large and comfortable (the bed was better than ours at home!). The building is large so it feels like a small hotel, rather than a B&B! We arrived quite late at night so the view from the window of the pool outside was a lovely surprise when we woke. The breakfast was authentically French and the ingredients were top quality. The area itself is so friendly - Aubeterre is a town with a real community feel. We were taken care of at all times.

This B&B goes above and beyond a 5* hotel. Vincent and Coco were attentive and helpful at all times. They called local restaurants to make reservations for us on both of the nights we stayed (and the meals were delicious). As a previous reviewer has commented - having only stayed 2 nights, we felt like we were leaving friends. Many thanks to Vincent, Coco and Bob (the most beautiful golden retriever in the world) for making our trip a memorable one. Needless to say, we will be seeing you in 2014 for the wedding!

Room Tip: We did not stay in a suite. The main rooms are large and spacious - you really can't go wrong wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceVincent, Owner at Les Chambres de coco, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

hello rachel,many thanks for your generous write up,it may have been said before ,but it does us the power of good to hear a kind word now and then.i think this is one of the many positives with trip advisor,it encourages people on this side of the business to try harder.that said,very glad you enjoyed yourselves,and looking forward to seeing you again for the big event.thanks again,vincent and coco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

What can I say that hasn't been said before. 5 star luxury, but definitely not corporate. They've thought of everything to make your stay memorable.

We only stayed one night on our travels through this area of France, and were upgraded to a larger room as it was available, though the original room looked just as impressive. Oh how we wished it had been longer. Even so when we left the next morning we felt as though we were leaving friends.

Thanks so much to you all, of course not forgetting Bob the Dog.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyn1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceVincent, Owner at Les Chambres de coco, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

hello our little maltese chums.thanks very much for your kind review,it really is appreciated when people take the time and trouble to write such great things.hope the rest of your journey went well,and that we see you here again before too long.best regards,vincent,coco and of course bob the wonder dog.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in September, and I wish it had been longer. It is more of a boutique hotel than a chambres d’hotes, based in a beautiful restored building. We stayed in the Clementine room with lovely views over the countryside, garden and swimming pool. The room was large with a king size bed and had a flat screen TV with British channels so my husband could get his grand prix fix. The bathroom are excellent, and even included Roger & Gallet toiletries.

The owners, Vincent and Coco (not forgetting Bob the dog) are great hosts. They know a lot about the area and are incredibly welcoming. Coco also has a lovely chi chi shop in the village – perhaps a good job we weren’t there longer!

The pool is lovely and extremely clean and was great for a relaxing dip in the early evening – pool towels was a nice touch. There is an honesty bar so we were able to enjoy a drink in the gardens before heading out for the evening, though it was tempting just to stay around the pool with another glass!

Breakfast was good quality French with a choice of breads and croissants, jams and good strong coffee.

Thank you to Vincent and Coco for making our stay so enjoyable. And thanks to Bob too.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fleet-resident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceVincent, Owner at Les Chambres de coco, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

hello you two,thank you very much for your really générous review.i've said it before,but kind words such as yours really do give us à boost.come and see us again soon,grand prix week-end or not.best to you both.vincent,coco and......bob.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at this delightful house. To call it a B&B seems inadequate as it had all the comfort, cleanliness and attention to detail that you would expect at a good hotel. The rooms were beautifully decorated and the furnishings very tasteful. It really did feel like a top class hotel, waking up in the morning and going down stairs to the smell of fresh homemade bread, croissants and coffee as well as the most delicious homemade marmalades provided the perfect start to the day. The owners, Vince and Coco, could not have been more perfect hosts, going above and beyond the call of duty to make us feel very welcome. A special thank you must go to Sharon also found time to chat about the area and what it was like living in France you really feel as though you are friends staying at a friend’s house. We would highly recommend this as a beautiful, peaceful place to get away from it all and will certainly be going back again.
Our thanks to Vincent, Coco and Sharon for making our stay so enjoyable.
Lin and Len Unwin

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceVincent, Owner at Les Chambres de coco, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

hello lin and len,thank you very much for your kind and thoughtful review.it was a pleasure to have you both to stay with us,and we hope to see you here again before too long.the kitchen is permanently open for all manner of exotic car conversation,especially with someone who knows his stuff....best to you both.vincent and coco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed here while in the area for a wedding. Calling it a B&B does most other B&Bs a favour, as it's definitely a cut above in my opinion.

We were welcomed in the door by the lovely Vincent who showed us to our room (a suite - well worth it) and gave us the tour. Following a dip in the pool and some sunshine we went to a lovely dinner nearby, arranged for us by Vincent.

Breakfast the following morning was fresh bread and pastries, juice, tea and coffee to give us a good lining before the wedding reception.

I would definitely recommend staying with Coco and Vincent. It might sound corny, but when we were leaving it felt like we were saying goodbye to friends.

A bientôt.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BenEmerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceVincent, Owner at Les Chambres de coco, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

hello ben,thanks for the great review.people like you two make this job fun to do.it was good to meet you,hope we see you here again soon.glad the wedding was such a success.our very best to you both.vincent and coco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Les Chambres de coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Chambres de coco

Address: Bonnaud, 16390 Aubeterre-sur-Dronne, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente > Aubeterre-sur-Dronne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Aubeterre-sur-Dronne
Price Range: $116 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comprehensive and sensitive restoration of a beautiful 19th century manor house set in the Charente countryside near Aubeterre sur Dronne. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing