We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special experience”
Review of Morel's

Morel's
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A special experience”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We've eaten here several times and have always been delighted with the food served. Exciting plates of food arrive which you just have to spend a few moments just admiring! Service excellent, and you are assured of a good quality meal. The dining room is not to my liking with rather gaudy large pictures of flowers but who cares when the food is so delicious?

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank relaxonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    13
    4
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal with friends”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We ate here with some local friends who wanted to show us the beautiful village of Aubterre sur drone, the countywide and rive and finish off with a great meal. It all worked for us and I agree, a Michellin star yet to be awarded.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Novableu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed December 9, 2011

My wife and I eat the menu of the day for lunch at the beginning of December 2011. The restaurant is very pleasing but the service is a little slow. I found the cooking no better that good home cooking. Nothing was excellent but nothing was poor. It was just very ordinary. Ordinary that is except for the price of the wine. We paid 25 euros for a Bordeaux Superior which I would expect to cost 6-7 euros from their wine merchant.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank michael a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laprade
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed July 23, 2011

The best restaurant In aubeterre by FAR!
I do not understand previous comment.The service was excellent and the Maitre Di was charming. The best meal I have had in a long time. Rich and Delicious.
Michelin star without the michelin price!
The hotel itself was wonderful, and the gym was fantastic. I also had a treatment in the spa and The lady was very professional and did the massage I have ever had!
I highly recomend it!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food, appalling service”
Reviewed June 17, 2011

We visited with a friend who was buying us lunch to say thank you. The dining room and terrace have been enlarged sympathetically to handle increased business. We chose the 26 Euro menu and the food was very good indeed. HOWEVER....the service was truly awful. There was only the Maitre d' and a young girl serving 50 people so it was slow - no one offered us a menu or drink for 10 mins. after sitting down. We were expecting 5 courses, and questioned why the cheese was left out to be told it was only an alternative to dessert. We were charged for 5 courses on the bill so queried it and the Maitre d' was so rude, I still can't believe it. I thought that sort of patronising French behaviour towards foreigners was long gone. Safe to say, we won't be going back.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pippinpony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morel's also viewed

Aubeterre-sur-Dronne, Charente
Aubeterre-sur-Dronne, Charente
 
Aubeterre-sur-Dronne, Charente
Aubeterre-sur-Dronne, Charente
 

Been to Morel's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing