We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant accommodation in a very lovely area”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Aubeterre-sur-Dronne, Charente, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
paulears
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Brilliant accommodation in a very lovely area”
Reviewed September 8, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We decided to look around for something to do at fairly short notice when our diary dates gave us just a short time to get away, and my sister suggested as it was nearing the end of the season, we might be able to get into Terry and John's place where she had just returned from.

So we got ourselves a flight from Stansted to Bergerac - a small, basic airport around an hour's drive away from Les Essards. We got the car and had no problems finding Lemonie - which is not in the nearby Les Essards village, but on a low rise opposite a small lake. The property is a number of lovely old building, brought up to very moderns standards inside, but retaining the quaint local look outside. I've pretty well honed my travel requirements into a few important areas. It has to be clean, comfy and have just a few essential features. A decent shower or bath, modern loos, a comfy bed and a kitchen able to knock up my favourite stuff. Wifi and electricity that is effective (so many aren't) is also a must have. Lemonie exceeds all these requirements easily - not a tiny kitchen, but a proper one - a good size so even a family would fit properly, and bright. Everything I needed and more.

Anybody who has never seen a real starry sky needs to visit this gite - the milky way slices through the night sky and the stars are simply amazing.

You need transport, as apart from a few other homes, it's probably five to ten minutes to get to the source of your breakfast croissants, and a bit further to big supemarkets.

The locals we met were not bothered in the least by my feeble attempts at French. We found none of that snooty behaviour so many other destinations have. Ali and I went for a fifteen minute walk to feed the donkeys a nearby farmer keeps in a field near the river. The walk was a simple one. Turn left, then follow the lane down to the river. We found a french chap fishing, and he happily wished us good morning and didn't flicker at my schoolboy French reply! Just past the donkeys there is a widening of the river, a weir with stepping stones and a wonderful view of a small chateau. At the time we visited all the fields were either sweet corn or sunflowers - and amazing sight! The gites are on a seldom used, very quiet road and the silence would be broken by the occasional distant donkey - but pretty well silence. On one of our walks, we took the owner's daft dog as he's a native. He wasn't much help and vanished into the sunflowers, but luckily he arrived back at Lemonie about half an hour later.

The gites have a really nice pool, shared with the other guests and I'd estimate it to be around 10m long so plenty of room, and clean and well looked after. We bumped into the other family staying when we were there and it's big enough to allow separation and privacy if you want it, although we spent a long time just chatting!

Terry and John are full of useful information on where to go and what to see, and we found wonderful villages, small towns, ravines, rivers and even river beaches - areas where proper beach sand had been brought in to create beaches on the river, which is clean and swimmable. Plenty of old things to see - churches built into cliff faces, beautiful old buildings along the river, terraces of old houses that vaguely made it more like Italy than France. In the big regular street markets we found all kinds of interesting stuff, and wishes Ryanair had more affordable excess baggage charges. Food is everywhere, and lots of different styles. One place we were recommended was a workman's style cafe - you pick a starter from the buffet, they serve you a main course and then you help yourself to desert - quite cheap and again, nobody bothered we were English. Plenty of very nice 'proper' restaurants with helpful staff make eating out easy.

We will certainly be going again - more exploring to be done. Weather while we were there was hot and dry. If it turned, we could easily have kept ourselves busy - we just didn't need to!

In fact, I'd consider this area if we every decided to sell up and move somewhere abroad.

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: not having good enough French to chat to more locals, they were great
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 9, 2016
Hi Paul And Ali,
Thank you for your lovely review. The pool is 12 m x 5m and heated. Looking forward to seeing you next time you visit.
Regards John & Terry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KA105829
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Truly Amazing Holiday!”
Reviewed August 23, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a 2 week stay at Lemonie Gites in 'La Grange' which is the 3 bed gite. We were instantly taken back by how beautiful the grounds are and how welcoming John and Terry (the owners) are. We had seen photos on the website and as stunning as they are, they really don't do it justice! The interior of La Grange has been beautifully renovated and has a particularly spacious open plan living area which is perfect for a family. John and Terry had kindly left a welcome pack of essentials; milk, bread, eggs, soft drinks, a lovely tea set and even wine and a freshly baked homemade cake! Which was delicious.

The brand new pool was a huge hit with our two young children and it was difficult to prize them away to visit some of the beautiful places that surround Lemonie Gites. There are so many places to go that we didn't have time to do it all so we are planning to return next summer. Some of the highlights for us were the local towns of Aubettere and St Aulay as they both have lovely river beaches and plenty of restaurants to choose from for relaxing lunches and evening meals. We also visited Brantome and St Emilion which are both breathtaking places to visit in their own right.

Another highlight of our stay was the fact that John and Terry were kind enough to take us to a couple of local village festivals where you get to experience real local life. This is something you wouldn't normally expect to do during a family holiday and the fact we had the privilege to experience this will leave lasting memories for our family, it was such a nice touch.

Another nice touch was the fact John and Terry hosted 'pizza nights' each Friday which brought everyone together where freshly made pizzas were baked in the outdoor stone oven, it was lovely. It's worth pointing out that all of this was entirely optional and there was no pressure to go along. I'm glad we did though as the night markets and pizza nights proved to be the best nights of the holiday!

In truth there was absolutely nothing negative about our stay at Lemonie Gites and we cannot recommend this place highly enough. We will be back again in August 2017!

Date of stay: August 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2016
Kelly, Laurence, Izzy & Fraser, Thank you for your wonderful review, We are so glad that you had a fantastic time. It was a pleasure having you stay and we look forward to seeing you next August.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
decolady2...
Kent, UK
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Amazing rest and relaxation”
Reviewed August 20, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
3
people found this review helpful

This is a new gite complex nestling in Les Essards. I have been here for the best part of a week and it has been a while since I slept so well. Mine hosts Terry and John go out of their way to ensure that everyone is happy and catered for. The accommodations are beautifully finished and light and airy (see photos). The property is set amidst beautiful fruit trees and flower borders, and it benefits from a recently completed 12 metre heated swimming pool. The third member of the hosting team is Brandon, a griffon, and the Gites are dog friendly. On Friday night we had a pizza night where everyone chose their own toppings and the pizzas were then cooked in the outside pizza oven, with wine flowing freely and a convivial atmosphere. The Gites are only 10 minutes from Aubeterre and there are plenty of things to do within a short radius. I can't recommend this place highly enough. I will be back!!!!!

Date of stay: August 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2016
Nicky, Was lovely having you stay here and we look forward to your next trip. John, Terry & Brandon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daniel_pi...
Chateau-d'Olonne, France
2 reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
Google Translation

Date of stay: November 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 17, 2016
Merci beacoup pour vos paroles agréables. C'était un plaisir de vous acueillir. Terry et John.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne V
La Rochelle, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
Google Translation

Date of stay: September 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 25, 2016
Merci beacoup! C'etait un plaisir de vous acueillir tous a Lemonie. Nous esperons vous revoir bientot. Terry & John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing