We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay in this lovely apartment was magnifique!”

Maison des Chevaliers
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Loudun
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maison des Chevaliers
Ranked #4 of 5 Loudun B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 29, 2010

I stayed in this charming apartment for one week with my 12-year-old son in the summer of 2009. We loved being in a small French town away from tourists. The apartment was beautiful, quiet, very clean, and well-equipped. The hosts were incredibly kind to me and my son. Only caveat is that you really do need a car to get around the area. I highly recommend this beautiful apartment. You won't find nicer hosts!

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madnike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 13 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2010

We stayed in this charming apartment for two weeks and loved every minute. The apartment is just as it appears in the photos on its web page. It is very comfortable and beautifully furnished, with a large carparking area just outside the garden gate. The garden is delightful and surrounded by a high wall for complete privacy.
Loudun is a perfect little town with all you need and the apartment is right in the old town centre.
Our hosts Elice and Jean-Louis were very welcomming and helpful.The Chateaux of the Loire were within driving distance and the countryside was beautiful.
We had a very happy time.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

We spent a week in the apartment in July 2010 and had a very relaxing and enjoyable time. The apartment was perfect in every way and included a small area of garden for our exclusive use. Jean-louis and Elice were excellent hosts and were able to recommend local restaurants, places to visit etc. Loudun itself is a delightful market town ( although beware it becomes a ghost town on a Monday ) with good shops, restaurants and supermarkets. It is also handily placed for visiting some interesting and un-touristy places. We would certainly use the apartment again and would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2010

A super two week stay in Elice and Jean-Louis studio accommodation amidst a gorgeous spring garden. Easy access to the Loire whilst also being able to venture down south. We shared some lovely evenings with Elice and Jean Louis and as our French is certainly infantile, we appreciated their efforts in speaking English with us. Overall a nice time.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PamelaAucklandNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2009

This is a self-catering apartment in a solid house several hundred years old just off the main street in Loudun. We stayed here for a week in July. The centre of Loudun is only two or 3 minutes away but the house is very quiet, partly because Loudun is quiet anyway and partly because of the large and pleasant walled garden.
The apartment is large and extremely well equipped, on the first floor with views over the garden. Access is by a good old fashioned winding stone staircase.
Elise and Jean-Louis the proprietors - hosts, really - left a particularly nice basket of goodies out to welcome us and were generally really friendly and welcoming.
Loudun is a pleasant French town but it's a good half hour to get to the Loire chateaux if that's your interest.
We thought this was a great place to stay and would certainly come back if we were in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RickandRos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Loudun hotels
3.1 mi away
Chateau de Jalnay
Chateau de Jalnay
#1 of 1 in Glenouze
91 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Renaudot
Hotel Renaudot
#3 of 3 in Loudun
23 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Clos Albert
Le Clos Albert
#1 of 3 in Loudun
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison des Chevaliers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison des Chevaliers

Address: 8 rue Housse Galant, 86200, Loudun, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Vienne > Loudun
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Loudun
Price Range: $65 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Loire Valley holiday rentals: One self-contained apartment, perfect for couples, in 17th century town house with garden, equipped to highest level, comfortably furnished rooms. Excellent base for exploring picturesque villages, lively towns, vineyards, Loire valley Castles and historical buildings. Two charming "Chambres d'hotes", double en-suite bedrooms furnished with antiques, each room is equipped with bathroom or large shower and private toilet. Continental breakfast is included in the rates. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing