We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden treasure”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Loudun
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maison des Chevaliers
Ranked #4 of 5 Loudun B&B and Inns
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

this a perfect place to relax and explore ther Loire. Within the wall of a medieval town there is a beautiful peaceful garden which has plenty of garden furniture and is very well stocked. the town has several good restaurants and a market during the week

the hosts Elice and Jean-Loius are genuinely friendly and are keen to help you enjoy your holiday without beieng in any way obtrusive. they share their local knowledge of places to see, food and wine and easy routes to all the chateaux.

We cannot wait to return!!!

Room Tip: All available rooms are equally inviting!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sc0tswanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

My wife and I spent a week here in late May and enjoyed a warm welcome from Elice and Jean Louis, the owners. They could not do enough for us when it came to local information and what to see. I also enjoyed a beer or two with Jean Louis while we discussed France and Australia, their similarities and differences. The stay at Maison Des Chevaliers was a welcome break off the travel road and one which gave us the chance to see how the locals live. Don't forget to ask where the local Chinese restaurant is - one of the best Chinese feeds I have had.

Room Tip: The studio was well appointed and great for two people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyAndMarilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Pos. Fantastic and very quiet location, Host were great just let us get on with things, Plenty of space & very close to some lovely Chateaus ( loads within 50 Km drive )
Very enjoyable holiday and could have done with a longer period as by time you get use to the area its time to leave.
Neg. Did not realise there was a charge for cleaning on top of rental. If the weather is bad there is only French TV, so take a DVD, Laptop or a good book and your favourite music.

Overall a lovely place to stay and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Read small print eg. £30 cleaning charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PPHI1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

We stayed in the apartment for a week at the end of May. It is wonderfully quiet, light, airy, very well appointed and perfect in every way. Every convencience you need is there: it has a microwave, a dishwasher, laundry facilities and a fantastic shower. If you are unlucky enough to get rained in, there are plenty of books to read and a stereo system. Elice and Jean Louis are lovely people who really care about their guests from the moment they arrive to the day they leave. Elice is a fountain of knowledge regarding the best places to visit - the apartment has a huge collection of brochures and tour guides of the local area so there's plenty of help on where to go and what to do. There is a lovely walled garden in which you can sit out and enjoy a glass of wine or just wander round and admire Jean Louis vegetable garden.

This is one of those rare finds that actually exceeds expectations - I can't recommend it enough.

Loudun is south of the Loire but that means it isn't over-run by tourist buses so it really is a good place to stay if you want to explore the Loire chateau region. There are several good boulangerie shops, supermarkets and a number of bar restaurants in the town. There is also a good market for fresh produce once a week.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyMK99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2011

We stayed in the studio apartment for four days in April and were thoroughly pleased. This is a very old and charming house and garden that Elice and Jean-Louis have cared for lovingly. The studio while small had everything we needed - a table by the french window overlooking the garden, efficient kitchenette and bath, a big armoire for clothes, comfortable bed, sofa, and even a TV which we did not expect but were pleased to have to catch up on the news.

What makes this accommodation special is the hosts. They are helpful, informative, and kind without being intrusive. If you like to have your own special place to call "home" while you visit the many historical sites in the area - this is a wonderful choice.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EGuare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2010

I stayed in this charming apartment for one week with my 12-year-old son in the summer of 2009. We loved being in a small French town away from tourists. The apartment was beautiful, quiet, very clean, and well-equipped. The hosts were incredibly kind to me and my son. Only caveat is that you really do need a car to get around the area. I highly recommend this beautiful apartment. You won't find nicer hosts!

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madnike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2010

We stayed in this charming apartment for two weeks and loved every minute. The apartment is just as it appears in the photos on its web page. It is very comfortable and beautifully furnished, with a large carparking area just outside the garden gate. The garden is delightful and surrounded by a high wall for complete privacy.
Loudun is a perfect little town with all you need and the apartment is right in the old town centre.
Our hosts Elice and Jean-Louis were very welcomming and helpful.The Chateaux of the Loire were within driving distance and the countryside was beautiful.
We had a very happy time.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Loudun hotels
3.1 mi away
Chateau de Jalnay
Chateau de Jalnay
#1 of 1 in Glenouze
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Renaudot
Hotel Renaudot
#3 of 3 in Loudun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Clos Albert
Le Clos Albert
#1 of 3 in Loudun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison des Chevaliers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison des Chevaliers

Property: Maison des Chevaliers
Address: 8 rue Housse Galant, 86200, Loudun, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Vienne > Loudun
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Loudun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Loire Valley holiday rentals: One self-contained apartment, perfect for couples, in 17th century town house with garden, equipped to highest level, comfortably furnished rooms. Excellent base for exploring picturesque villages, lively towns, vineyards, Loire valley Castles and historical buildings. Two charming "Chambres d'hotes", double en-suite bedrooms furnished with antiques, each room is equipped with bathroom or large shower and private toilet. Continental breakfast is included in the rates. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing