We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit just as good x”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Loudun
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Chabotterie Chambres d'Hotes
Ranked #5 of 5 Loudun B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Another great visit with superb food and lovely company - enjoyed the additions in the garden and the room was as gorgeous as we remembered

thanks again we hope to come back and visit you again sometime

Room Tip: We had the family room it is huge, very quiet and wonderful beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheRealWilkys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (12)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 12 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

Fantastic place to stay, we stayed in the gite and the owners, John and Sue were great. Good to finally go somewhere where the dog is welcome with open arms! The place is done up very nicely and located less than 5 minutes from Loudon - the nearest main town, the location is great and the surrounds are great too. Thoroughly recommend this gem.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjap1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here a couple of years ago as we travelled through and it was fabulous, the rooms are finished to such a high standard and hosts could not have been kinder - they made the start of our holiday a wonderful event.
We are heading back in the same direction this year so have booked again and can't wait to see them x

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheRealWilkys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stayed at La Chabotterie in September 2012 whilst on a photography course run by the owner John. This place is an absolute gem. Wonderfully restored farmhouse, full of character.The bedrooms retain there old character with exposed oak beams and stone walls, but with modern bathroom facilities.
The owners, John and Sue, couldn't be more welcoming, nothing is too much trouble.
I loved it so much, I returned a week later with my partner for a night B&B and was greeted like an old friend.
I can't recommend this place highly enough.

Room Tip: I stayed in both B&B rooms and both are great. There is also a 2 bed Gite which I didn't go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed 1 night on our way to the dordogne, we took 2 large dogs they were made welcome

We were made to feel very welcome, we were taken into Loudun, the meal was excellent, it was like going to your friends for the evening, nothing was too much trouble, and the next day taken back to Le Clerc as we needed to stock up on a few items.

it was just a shame we were only there for 1 day.

I would deffinatley go back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good we stayed in the blue room this was light an airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We had the good fortune to spend three days at John & Sue Bociek's lovely B&B back in June '11. The house has been beautifully renovated with wonderful modern amenities, but John carefully maintained its old-world character, right down to its well-worn stone staircase leading to our room. The location was perfect for exploring the Loire Valley, and we had the added bonus of John (an artist and photographer) acting as tour guide. We probably would never have visited some very interesting but little-known chateaux (such as the unique Chateau d'Oiron) or seen the birthplace of Coco Chanel without his "insider knowledge." The hospitality of the Bocieks, their assortment of pets, and the elegant coziness of their home made our stay in Loudun a great one. Would love to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoCarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

This is billed as 3 star but should be 4 star at least. I think it's 3 stars due to some quirk in the criteria. We've stayed at several self catering accommodations and all have been lovely but few with such high quality standards. Every consideration has been thought of and dogs are particularly well catered for. The hosts (human and animal variety) are all extremely welcoming. We thoroughly enjoyed their company, tips and conversation - whether it was travelling with them locally or drinking wine into the early hours.

We had the pleasure of eating with them twice and the food was great - especially John's chocolate pots!!

We came back with the fondest memories and having made some good (hopefully lifelong) friends, so great to have a home from home to go to again and again.

Room Tip: All rooms are the best room in the Chabotterie and the B&B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaribuSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Loudun hotels
4.3 mi away
Chateau de Jalnay
Chateau de Jalnay
#1 of 1 in Glenouze
91 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Renaudot
Hotel Renaudot
#3 of 3 in Loudun
23 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Clos Albert
Le Clos Albert
#1 of 3 in Loudun
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Chabotterie Chambres d'Hotes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Chabotterie Chambres d'Hotes

Address: 1 Lieu Dit la Chabotterie, 86200, Loudun, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Vienne > Loudun
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Loudun
Price Range: $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast or self-catering Gite Accommodation close to the Loire Valley in an ideal location for travellers passing through and those wishing to holiday in the area. On the very outskirts of the historic old market town of Loudun the three star accommodation offers the peace of the countryside with nearby amenities of the town. All rooms are recently refurbished to a very high standard. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing