We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Manoir de Herouville
Ranked #1 of 2 Litteau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ruthin, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Stay Here”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Stunning entrance with a long tree lined drive leading up to this beautiful traditional Manoir. The gardens are lovely, it is extremely peaceful and our room was superb. Evening meal was very good and there was plenty of choice for breakfast. The service was first class If you are looking for a quality bed and breakfast, this place is hard to beat. Excellent, we look forward to our return.

Room Tip: We had the garden room, very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Owner at Le Manoir de Herouville, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Andrew,

Thank you for your wonderful post on Trip Advisor.
Catherine and I are so pleased that you enjoyed you stay with us and all that Le Manoir has to offer.
It gives us a great deal of satisfaction knowing that your stay with us was such a good one.
We really do hope you and Loraine will join us again very soon.
Michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
74
66
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2014

After reading the reviews, our expectations were high. But the stay was even better than expected. It felt like being guests in someones home, in a positive way. If we ever come back to this area, we will stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OleChristian007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Owner at Le Manoir de Herouville, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Ole
Thank you for taking your time to tell us how much you enjoyed your stay at Le Manoir.
We try our hardest to make our guest feel at home here but still have all their full privacy.It gives us a lot of satisfaction knowing that we are achieving this.We hope to welcome you and your family back soon.Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We spent four magical days and nights here up in the attic. The room is large with a queen four poster bed and an iron single bed and large bathroom. Catherine & Mike are warm and most hospitable, always ready and willing with suggestions. They arranged a one day tour of Normandy with John, a great guide and his passion for history & the area makes all come alive.

We would love to return and stay there again, just to stay in touch with Catherine & Mike.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank travelwithpeggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Owner at Le Manoir de Herouville, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Peggy
We were delighted to read your review, thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to leave this.It was a real pleasure to welcome you and your husband here with us at Le Manoir de Herouville.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back in the future should you ever return to Normandy.

Michael and Catherine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We had a great stay at Le Manoir de Herouville. The owners, Catherine and Michael, are a very friendly French-British couple who were there to welcome us as we drove in, and were happy to give restaurant recommendations and advice on places to visit. The Manoir property is gorgeous, with lots of lawn space, manicured shrubs, and lakes, and would be an excellent place to relax outside in nice weather. Everything is wonderfully peaceful and quiet, yet it is only 20 minutes' drive to Bayeux and not far beyond that to the D-Day beaches.

We stayed in the Pigeonnier, which, as other posters have said, is a circular building separate from the main house. It has three levels, one room on each level. The ground floor is a living room/kitchenette, 1st floor has a double (queen?) bed and a bathroom, and 2nd floor has two twin beds. It's very nicely decorated and furnished. One thing to be aware of is that there are open stairs between the rooms, so noises on one level can be heard on the other levels. This wasn't a problem for us, however, as we went to bed at the same time. It's a great place for a family with kids to stay, or for two couples who do not mind sharing a small bathroom.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chad620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catherine r, Owner at Le Manoir de Herouville, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to show other people how much you enjoyed Le Manoir de Herouville.
It was a real pleasure welcoming you all and we are so pleased that your Children were able enjoy the Garden and Grounds of our home.We hope to see you all again in the Future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verviers, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We have enjoyed our stay in the "Garden Room" and we have appreciated a lot the hospitality of our very frendly hosts. The boat ride on the lake, the barbecue with the 2 funny ducks trying to steal our food, the contact with the others customers, the hedgehog in the garden...Le manoir de Hérouville has all the qualities needed to spend a very relaxing moment. The breakfast prepared by Catherine is excellent and everything is Bio !

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jeremie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catherine r, Owner at Le Manoir de Herouville, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you for your Stay and review at Le Manoir de Herouville.
It was a real pleasure for us to have you here and so pleased that you enjoyed your dinner by the lake with our ducks.
We look forward to welcoming you here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We cannot begin to describe what an amazing visit we had at Le Manior de Herouville! This gorgeous and pristinely maintained property looks like it belongs on the pages of a magazine! The owners, Catherine and Michael, could not have been more charming, generous, and knowledgable hosts! Our children were in paradise with its kid-friendly atmosphere. The row boat on the pond was the biggest hit, but they also spent hours playing ping pong and just exploring on their own. We stayed in the self-catering cottage which was perfectly appointed. We enjoyed grilling dinner on our little patio. We wish we were closer so that we could make this a more regular weekend destination!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catherine r, Owner at Le Manoir de Herouville, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Jill
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell others how much you and your family enjoyed your stay at Le Manoir De Herouville.
It give us a lot of satisfaction knowing that the time you spent here was so good and it was a real pleasure meeting you all.
We hope to welcome you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This was our second stay in two years. It's my favorite place of all my travels. My husband and I were touring D- Day beaches with our son and stayed in Le Pigeonnier - a restored pigeon coop built in 1744. It has three levels - kitchen/living room/TV, master bedroom and bath, and a circular loft area with two twin beds. It's near the main manor house. It's shrouded in history and romance. Lots of countryside to walk around, plus a pond for kids to fish. Chickens and ducks walk freely. Catherine and Michael, the hosts, are very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. Excellent mattress.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Litteau
11.9 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
1,304 reviews
14.1 mi away
Le Chateau d'Audrieu
Le Chateau d'Audrieu
#1 of 1 in Audrieu
78 reviews
19.1 mi away
Domaine de la Ranconniere et de Mathan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Chateau La Cheneviere
Chateau La Cheneviere
#1 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
360 reviews
11.8 mi away
Novotel Bayeux
Novotel Bayeux
#7 of 21 in Bayeux
580 reviews
12.0 mi away
Hotel Tardif Noble Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Manoir de Herouville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Manoir de Herouville

Property: Le Manoir de Herouville
Address: D122a, 14490 Litteau, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Litteau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Litteau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prestigious B&B Accommodation in historic Manoir. Idyllic setting in extensive gardens and grounds and ideally located for D-Day Beaches and Norman history Battlefield tours. Le Manoir de Herouville is located mid-way between Bayeux and St Lo, easily accessible from the Channel ports of Caen/Ouistreham and Cherbourg and Caen Carpiquet airport.Serene and beautiful Le Manoir de Herouville is a perfect gem set in 17 acres of gardens and paddocks amidst quiet rural countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Le Manoir de Herouville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Manoir De Herouville Litteau, Normandy, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing