We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Manoir de Herouville
Ranked #1 of 2 Litteau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Verviers, Belgium
1 review
“A wonderful place !”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We have enjoyed our stay in the "Garden Room" and we have appreciated a lot the hospitality of our very frendly hosts. The boat ride on the lake, the barbecue with the 2 funny ducks trying to steal our food, the contact with the others customers, the hedgehog in the garden...Le manoir de Hérouville has all the qualities needed to spend a very relaxing moment. The breakfast prepared by Catherine is excellent and everything is Bio !

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jeremie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catherine r, Owner at Le Manoir de Herouville, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you for your Stay and review at Le Manoir de Herouville.
It was a real pleasure for us to have you here and so pleased that you enjoyed your dinner by the lake with our ducks.
We look forward to welcoming you here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
71
61
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We cannot begin to describe what an amazing visit we had at Le Manior de Herouville! This gorgeous and pristinely maintained property looks like it belongs on the pages of a magazine! The owners, Catherine and Michael, could not have been more charming, generous, and knowledgable hosts! Our children were in paradise with its kid-friendly atmosphere. The row boat on the pond was the biggest hit, but they also spent hours playing ping pong and just exploring on their own. We stayed in the self-catering cottage which was perfectly appointed. We enjoyed grilling dinner on our little patio. We wish we were closer so that we could make this a more regular weekend destination!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catherine r, Owner at Le Manoir de Herouville, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Jill
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell others how much you and your family enjoyed your stay at Le Manoir De Herouville.
It give us a lot of satisfaction knowing that the time you spent here was so good and it was a real pleasure meeting you all.
We hope to welcome you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
114 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This was our second stay in two years. It's my favorite place of all my travels. My husband and I were touring D- Day beaches with our son and stayed in Le Pigeonnier - a restored pigeon coop built in 1744. It has three levels - kitchen/living room/TV, master bedroom and bath, and a circular loft area with two twin beds. It's near the main manor house. It's shrouded in history and romance. Lots of countryside to walk around, plus a pond for kids to fish. Chickens and ducks walk freely. Catherine and Michael, the hosts, are very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. Excellent mattress.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We booked a lastminute room 2 weeks ago and were surprised in every kind of way. What a fantastic place is this! We stayed in le pigeonnier (the tower you can see in the pictures). It was very clean, cosy and comfortable. It had also been recently refurnished. We had nice walks in the gardens where we found fresh apples, etc. Breakfast had everything you needed with croissants, bread, chocolate buns, cheeses, pancakes. Michael welcomed us on the first evening and made us feel at home instantly. The lady of the house knew what she was doing and gave us all the right tips. I was absolutely not a fan of France but this visit changed everything. Do not hesitate: if you like peace and quiet and want a romantic place to stay: you know where to go!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank stevandan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Catherine and Michael were wonderful, friendly hosts who really made us feel at home during our time at the Manoir. We stayed in the garden cottage, which is tastefully decorated in a more modern style. The cottage was bright and airy and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast is very good, with a nice selection of croissants, fruits, cereals, yogurts, etc.

The beautiful country setting is what really makes the Manoir a magical place. Words probably can't do it justice, but it is an extremely tranquil place with charming French farm buildings and gardens where you can find tiny hummingbirds flitting from flower to flower.

The only downside to the location was that it was a bit remote from tourist sites and restaurants, but not too far to be terribly inconvenient. Saint Lo and Bayeux are both about 20 minutes away, and the D-Day sites are about 30 minutes away.

All in all, a great stay and highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Everything about our stay at the Manoir de Herouville was absolutely picture perfect. We stayed here for 3 nights of our honeymoon in France, and trust me, we wish we could have stayed much longer! We had no trouble at all finding the place and we were met with a warm welcome. Our room and the grounds were so beautiful, we just couldn't believe it. We felt immediately at home in our room (the Toile Suite) and were congratulated with a celebratory bottle of champagne, which was such a sweet gesture. Jacqui & Des were a real treat and we enjoyed getting to chat with Des who was very generous to share his knowledge and maps of the area. The location is perfect for traveling to and from Bayeaux and the beaches. The countryside atmosphere was romantic and a perfect note to end our honeymoon on. We stayed at other hotels while in Paris, but none even held a candle to the personalized treatment and spacious accommodations we experienced here. Jacqui prepared the most amazingly delicious breakfasts that we have ever eaten and they were definitely a highlight of our stay. If we ever grace the shores of Normandy again, we will definitely come back! Thanks again for everything!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood, Oregon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We were traveling in Europe, and France was our last stop, and Le Manoir de Herouville experience was the best way to conclude our traveling experience.
The place was hard to find, but when we got there, it was all worth it.
My husband was very skeptic at first due to having difficult time finding the place, but once we got into that charming garden room cottage, we just fell in love with the place.

Des, and Jackie were perfect host and hostess. We weren't travelers, but a family. People we met briefly at the house were like family too. The whole experience was so magical, that my husband and I will definetly go back the Manoir when we travel to France again.

Thank you Jackie and Des!

Room Tip: All room are beautiful and charming, but we loved our garden room for its privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mountain mama k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Litteau
19.1 mi away
Ferme de la Ranconniere
11.9 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
1,240 reviews
13.7 mi away
Chateau La Cheneviere
Chateau La Cheneviere
#1 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Manoir de la Riviere
Manoir de la Riviere
#1 of 1 in Saint-Louet-sur-Seulles
145 reviews
12.0 mi away
Hotel Tardif Noble Guesthouse
1.2 mi away
Siblu Villages - Domaine de Litteau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Manoir de Herouville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Manoir de Herouville

Property: Le Manoir de Herouville
Address: D122A, 14490 Litteau, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Litteau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Litteau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prestigious B&B Accommodation in historic Manoir. Idyllic setting in extensive gardens and grounds and ideally located for D-Day Beaches and Norman history Battlefield tours. Le Manoir de Herouville is located mid-way between Bayeux and St Lo, easily accessible from the Channel ports of Caen/Ouistreham and Cherbourg and Caen Carpiquet airport.Serene and beautiful Le Manoir de Herouville is a perfect gem set in 17 acres of gardens and paddocks amidst quiet rural countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Le Manoir de Herouville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Manoir De Herouville Litteau, Normandy, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing