We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Fabulous Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Manoir de Herouville
Ranked #1 of 2 Litteau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Thank you, thank you, Manoir de Herouville for another fabulous experience. Having traveled Europe extensively over the last three years, I feel that the warm hospitality and personal care for every possible need is indeed first class.

We returned this year with three young children, two parents, and two grandparents. Our family stayed in the Pigeonnaire, which fits four (in our case five, with one child in a cot) persons perfectly. We cooked in every night in the small but very usuable kitchen (thank you expecially for the set of quality sharp knives). The grandparents were thrilled with the charming cottage, where everything was accessable without stairs.

Our family fished every day in the pond. Those poor carp were each caught three of four times before we sadly packed our bags to go. We watched the stars and could see the Milky Way each night. What a relaxing retreat.

The location was ideal for the landing beaches as well as Mont St. Michel.

I can and do recommend this Manior to all of my friends.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PhillyGirlAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 179 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2011

Nice place, but agreed with another person writing here at Tripadvisor that the attitude to the guests was a bit stranged. We had the feeling that we were disturbing in their private property. Fully understand that rules of order is needed, but it could have been done in a much better way.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeanneDiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catherine r, Propriétaire at Le Manoir de Herouville, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2015

Hello Hannah, let me introduce ourselves : my husband Michael and myself have been running le Manoir de Herouville for the last 3 years. We are very passionate in running this very beautiful property as our family house and as a bed & breakfast.
Because we want to make sure that all our guests have a fantastic time with us, we would like to contact you but we do not have your email address. You came while the previous owners were here so we do not have any details from you.

We would like to show you that the manoir is truly a magical place so if one day you decide a trip to Normandy, please come and stay with us. Unfortunately smoking cigars is still not allowed inside the house but there are plenty of outside areas in the garden at your disposal.

Kind regards, catherine & Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

From the moment you arrive to this beautiful estate, you are greeted with warmth and friendliness by the hosts, Des and Jackie. The grounds are beautiful, food delicious and these hosts do everything they can to make your stay in Normandy comfortable and informative. This is a experience you can't get in the city. A must!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Nice place, but the persons running it have wrong attitude to its guests. They are setting up the roules of order whitch suit them, but are unreasonable for the guests.

Hanna

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catherine r, Propriétaire at Le Manoir de Herouville, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2015

Dear hannah, let me introduce ourselves, my husband Michael and myself have been running Le Manoir de herouville for the last 3 years. We are very passionate in running this amazing property as our family home and as a bed and breakfast. Our aim is to make sure each guests has a fabulous time with us. Reason why we would like to have your email in order to contact you privately. You came while the previous owners were here so we do not have your details.

We would like to show you that le Manoir is truly a magical place, so next time you are in normandy, please come and stay with us ! Unfortunately smoking cigars inside the house is still not allowed. But there are lots of nice areas outside at your disposals.

Kind regards,

Catherine & Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

My husband and I just returned from a 9 day trip to France. Our first two nights were spent at the Manoir. We had the beautiful Toile room. It was large, beautiful and much more than we expected. The grounds are stunning. They meet and even exceed the photos that can be found on the internet.

Jackie and Des (and their dog Bess) were wonderful hosts. Jackie makes the best croissants I have EVER had. Both her and Des are knowledgeable of the area and are happy to offer advice. They also have some area history of their own to share, which added to our whole Normandy experience.

Location is great. It's really in the middle of nowhere, but close enough to Bayeux where there is plenty of exploring to do. If you are in the area to explore the Normandy Beaches and historical sites, I highly suggest taking a guided tour. The Normandy area is quite expansive and there is a lot of ground to cover, which would have been difficult on our own. The Manoir was a perfect jumping off point for meeting our tour in Bayeux, which was an easy 20 minutes away.

The Manoir has Wi-Fi available in the first floor common rooms, in case you need to stay connected while on your vacation. In the evening hours, the common room is open until 11pm, but closed after that. There, you can find a CD player and a classical music selection for your listening pleasure. There are also books (many on area history) and some games to play in your down time.

As mentioned earlier, the room we stayed in was beautiful. The rooms are very quiet, without TV and radio, and are a place to truly a place to relax and unwind after a day of exploring. If you like background noise in your room, bring your own. Also worth noting, the Manoir does not have locks on their room doors. My husband and I did not have any concerns with this, but can see how some people might be weird about it. We do not stay at B&B’s often, so we aren’t sure if this is common practice.

Overall, we loved our stay at the Manoir and would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet, warm B&B experience.

Room Tip: Each room has it's own personality; select one that fits you best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JessJean1278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We enjoyed 2 nights in the beautiful Manoir, but we wished we'd booked for a longer period. The beautiful buildings you see on approach are just as lovely inside. Des and Jackie are perfect hosts, friendly, informative and helpful, but not ever-present. The bedrooms are superb, and we have NEVER stayed in such a well-maintained building. We thought the bedrooms had been newly refurbished and that the bathroom was brand new, but we found out that was not the case. Jackie has such high standards of quality control that the rooms are kept in perfect condition, so that everything seems new, even the draperies on the four poster beds. This was especially important to me as an asthmatic.

The breakfast was very good as other reviews have said, and Jackie and Des do all they can to ensure that everyone has what they need. The grounds are lovely for wandering in, and there are chairs and tables here and there if you want to enjoy a drink outside. It is a perfect B & B.

We stayed at the Manoir to visit Bayeux and the famous tapestry. We can strongly recommend a stay, we would certainly go back if we could, and would also urge people to see the tapestry, it's so fascinating.

Room Tip: Everyone that we saw was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank heachri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

This was our first 3 nights of a 10 night vacation to France and by far our favorite place to stay. We traveled with our 2 adult children and stayed in Le Pigeonaire. The accommodations were amazing, clean and very comfortable. Dez and Jackie were wonderful, very informative, helpful and gracious hosts. We arrived late in the evening around 10:30pm and Dez was up waiting for us. He also helped us with an itinerary for sightseeing the D-Day beaches and surrounding areas. They also recommended a local restaurant and made reservations for us. The grounds around the manor are beautiful and peaceful. What a wonderful place to relax after a long day of sightseeing. It is perfect and you will not be disappointed. Very highly recommended!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Litteau
14.6 mi away
La Ferme de la Gronde
La Ferme de la Gronde
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vigor-le-Grand
29 reviews
1.2 mi away
Siblu Villages - Domaine de Litteau
0 mi away
No photo provided
Camping de Litteau
#2 of 3 in Litteau
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Normandy Getaways at Mis Harand
Show Prices

Been to Le Manoir de Herouville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Manoir de Herouville

Address: D122a, 14490 Litteau, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Litteau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Litteau
Price Range: $137 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prestigious B&B Accommodation in historic Manoir. Idyllic setting in extensive gardens and grounds and ideally located for D-Day Beaches and Norman history Battlefield tours. Le Manoir de Herouville is located mid-way between Bayeux and St Lo, easily accessible from the Channel ports of Caen/Ouistreham and Cherbourg and Caen Carpiquet airport.Serene and beautiful Le Manoir de Herouville is a perfect gem set in 17 acres of gardens and paddocks amidst quiet rural countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Le Manoir de Herouville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Manoir De Herouville Litteau, Normandy, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing