We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel de la Marine
Nearby Hotels
Hotel de Paris(Barneville-Carteret)(Great Value!)
$68
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Restaurant des Isles(Barneville-Carteret)
$155
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Les Pieux(Les Pieux)
$72
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bel Air(Flamanville)
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Colquin(La Haye-du-Puits)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Ferme des Mares(Basse-Normandie)
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel des Ormes(Barneville-Carteret)
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Jersey(Barneville-Carteret)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
L'Auberge du Vieux Chateau(Saint-Sauveur-le-Vicomte)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (295)
Filter reviews
295 results
Traveler rating
182
89
19
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
182
89
19
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmichelin starservice was excellentcomfortable hotelde laquiet locationmany occasionsstreet viewprivate terracesunday eveningafternoon sunamerican cemeteryfabulous hotelfirst floorout of this worldlovely roomfishing porthigh end
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 295 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed here a while back while buying a house in Normandy and the owners were lovely. Hot,e rooms very smart , great beds, good views etc. even better is the resturant cooked by the owners son, probably the best resturant in Normandy and have been many times. Not cheap but better than any Gordan Ramsey or Gary Rhodes resturant. If you can afford it, try the taster menu. Really heavenly!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We hadn't been to the Marine for some time, it is very expensive, and now we are on pensions and not both working we feel we need a good excuse to stay there. This year we felt we did, and we loved every moment.

There had been a big refurbishment since our last visit, and we thought our room couldn't be bettered. We had splashed out and gone for a bigger room with a big, big bed and a terrace looking over the estuary. The bed and linens were superb, the bathroom had a large corner bath and an excellent rainshower; the towels were as large and fluffy as one would hope.

There was a huge sofa, which turned out to be very useful as unfortunately I picked up a bug and had to spend a lot of time stretched out on it, and so, sadly, we didn't dine, though we have memories of wonderful food in the past.

I did manage one breakfast during our 2-night stay, and found it much better than I remembered. It wasn't cheap, but the quality was so high that we didn't mind. My husband managed two, lucky man!

We didn't even try and park outside the hotel, but there is a public car park a very short distance away.
There are interesting shops near by, I think our favourite is the delicatessen run by the hotel, which is full of tempting items.

I am working hard on persuading my husband that there will be a special occasion next year which will merit a visit.

Room Tip: Not all the terraces are private, so check if you don't want to share.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale0042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for four nights in August, but we booked it in February and were really looking forward to staying there after reading the reviews.
Our room was very clean but small and the bathroom had no shower cubical only a shower head in the bath?
We had breakfast on one morning and we were very disappointed we were not offered anything special apart from a fruit pot and yoghurt. (thought we might even be offered an egg!). It was really expensive and not worth it.
We also had dinner in the restaurant and it was equally as expensive a good meal but for the price we expected it to be much better. There wasn't even an attempt to have any English translation on the menu. My French is limited... We found that once we ordered the meal nobody came back to us at any stage during the meal to ask us if everything was ok?
All in all we found this hotel a bit stuffy and would not return.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank MGIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We have stayed and eaten at this hotel many times over recent years - our repeat visits show our appreciation of this excellent establishment. The hotel is situated overlooking the picturesque harbour at Carteret some 35km south of Cherbourg.

We have never had anything other than imaginatively presented and beautifully cooked food that is served immaculately. There is a very respectable wine list.

It is not cheap, but quality never is. Booking is essential. There are site restrictions and parking may present problems in the summer.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geoffrey_carver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here for one night over the Easter weekend. The hotel has a great location looking over the estuary, and a lovely terrace where you can enjoy the afternoon sun. Our room was nicely furnished (muted & modern) and very spacious with two balconies overlooking different aspects. The windows also had shutters which meant the room was dark & quiet so we had a really good night's sleep.
We ate in the Michelin starred restaurant which definitely lived up to expectations. The dining room is beautiful with big picture windows to make the most of the setting. The food was delicious, and the set menu of 5 courses quite reasonably priced. The only slight fault was that they seemed a little short staffed in the restaurant.
Overall a really good experience and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view / balcony are definitely worth the extra cost
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicky_sykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews