We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place next to the sea”
Review of Hotel des Ormes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel des Ormes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The Hotel Des Ormes has a lot going for it - overlooking the estuary, a lovely bedroom with this view, and a splendid beach. The restaurant has an extensive menu which we thoroughly enjoyed and as a place to stay at Carteret there is little reason not to choose here. The staff might mug up on their customer service skills, but they were not in any way rude or unhelpful, just that they could be a little friendlier and moire communicative. All in all an enjoyable venue.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eyedeebees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
There are newer reviews for Hotel des Ormes
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 192 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2012

Hotel room small with no airco, but good beds. French TV channels only. Excellent breakfast with freshly squized orange juice and home made jams. Perfect garden dinner setting with a cuisine at high standards, but too bad about the noisy kitchen airco which spoils the quietness. A great location if you are into sailing (with a marina across the road) or sunbading on a suburb non-crowded beach in a 5 minutes driving dinstance. Poor location for Normandy sightseeing or shopping. We would only recommend this hotel for a short stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Classy is the word. Our room was small but quiet and immaculately presented, as was everything else about the hotel. Excellent continental breakfast, helpful staff, pricey but exceptional evening meal.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RenwickRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed 2 nights in this little hotel and were more than happy. The staff are very attentive and professional and speak good English. The room and bedding were of high quality. They have a nice dining room or you can eat outside in the garden. The breakfasts was very good and one of the best we had on our driving trip of Brittany. The evening meals in the restaurant were more than excellent and it appears they have a well qualified chef and kitchen staff in their restaurant. Even through there are other restaurants in town we were happy that we ate at the hotel on both nights. We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnSSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This is a beautiful, clean and relaxing hotel to stay in. Everything is very clean and comfortable. The staff were an absolute pleasure to deal with and went out of their way to help.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms get the sun in the morning. The grden is spectacular.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D4surfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Excellent hotel , in peaceful village of Normady , the hotel is very romantic , cosy , well furnished. Moreover it has a wonderful panoramic view to the sea canal of the village. The restaurant serves good , top quality dishes and it is very cosy. The room are not very big but very comfortable and provided of all facilities.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dumbledore92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

The hotel overlooks the pleasure port and has parking in front and a very attractive garden in back. Our room was attractive and nicely furnished, but extremely small even by European standards. We left one of our suitcases in the car because we could not think where to put it and still be able to move around the room. The hotel restaurant is good but not special and the menu is quite short. If you are staying more than one night it might be worthwhile to explore the other restaurants up the street for some of your meals. The garden is delightful. We enjoyed breakfast there and also enjoyed reading with a drink before dinner.
Overall, the small room size is a serious drawback and negates many of the positive aspects of the hotel. They do have larger rooms, but none were available when we reserved. By the way, the hotel is in Carteret not Barneville and you have to know that when taking the exit from the highway.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank retired698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barneville-Carteret
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Marine
Hotel de la Marine
#1 of 5 in Barneville-Carteret
285 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant des Isles
Hotel Restaurant des Isles
#3 of 5 in Barneville-Carteret
265 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#5 of 5 in Barneville-Carteret
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Jersey
Hotel Jersey
#2 of 5 in Barneville-Carteret
109 reviews
9.3 mi away
L'Hostellerie du Chateau
L'Hostellerie du Chateau
#1 of 2 in Bricquebec
219 reviews
20.8 mi away
Le Landemer
Le Landemer
#1 of 1 in Urville-Nacqueville
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Ormes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Ormes

Address: | Promenade Barbey d'Aurevilly, 50270 Barneville-Carteret, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Barneville-Carteret
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Barneville-Carteret
Price Range: $108 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Ormes 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel des Ormes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Des Ormes France/Barneville-Carteret

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing