We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great value, great service,good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Restaurant Le Foch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cassel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Restaurant Le Foch
Save
You added Hotel Restaurant Le Foch to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cassel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great value, great service,good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with the wife and elderly in laws. First trip abroad for the in laws and Natalie the owner could not have made a better impression, charming and helpful. This is my third visit and I will definitely stay here again when I am back in this area of France .

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steelytim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    30
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
58
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Spent one night in Hotel Foch. The room was spotless and the fair-sized bed very comfortable. Dinner was excellent, with a reasonable choice on the menu. The small hotel gives very good value for money, and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juster300346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

At the suggestion of friends who regularily stay at Le Foch, we spent a night there recently rather than rushing straight to the eurotunnel following a long drive through France. This proved to be an excellent decision. The hotel is situated in the picturesque cobbled main square of Cassel, a small town with a historically interesting past - and something of a rarity in this landscape, being set upon a hill. We were given a warm welcome by the charming proprietors, Natalie and Luc, on our arrival, and shown to our room overlooking the square. It was simply furnished, but most charming and immaculately clean - as was the en-suite bathroom. Unfortunately, the restaurant, of which we had high expectations following our friends enthusiastic report, was closed, but we ate well within the town nonetheless. The charm of the town, and the close proximity to the channel tunnel/ports makes Le Foche an ideal stopover prior to crossing to the uk (or indeed upon arrival, if, like us, you always have long days of driving ahead). Natalie speaks English, and is most helpful regarding places of interest to visit in the area should you wish to extend your stay - for example, Bruges is only one and a half hours away by car, so there is clearly plenty to explore.
Regarding some of the other comments made by visitors - personally, we did not find our room facing the square too noisy. It's true that you do hear cars as they drive over the cobbles....but in our experience, not at an unduly early hour - and there were external wooden blinds/shutters (closed with from within the room), which blocked out any light from the square. The bed was most comfortable for us as 'back sufferers', though it would be lacking in length for a six footer! This is a reasonably priced and charming 'old world' family run hotel to stay in, and we have already planned to return there on our next regular trip across the channel, when we look forward to extending our stay and aquainting ourselves further with the town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CountryKiwi_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Cassel is the only hill town in French Flanders and (supposedly) where the Grand Old Duke of York marched his 10,000 men up to the top of the hill and down again. But it is known to the French as the HQ of FOCH in 1914/15 in the Great War. His office can be seen in the expensively restored Museum of Flanders opposite the Hotel Foch.

Luc and Nathalie run the hotel with charm and a cheerful welcome. Rooms are mostly spacious with showers rather than baths. They are simply but attractively furnished. Those at the front may be a bit noisy in the morning as cars travelling over cobbles rattle. Dinner here is excellent. Demi-pension is both flexible and very good value. The dining room offers widely spaced tables which is a relief. Locals are in evidence.

This is a first-rate small, family-run hotel in a picturesque town unspoilt by tourism. The Gloucesters and Ox & Bucks defended it in 1940, and both they - and the town - suffered. Restoration has not been universally sympathetic and the new Mairie is a poor substitute for the old, but enough original buildings remain to give the town a cohesive period feel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickyarthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Le Foch with my husband and 2 teenaged girls for one night. Natalie, the proprietress was very welcoming and helpful. Our room was spacious and spotless. The dinner and breakfast were both very good and affordable. If you are looking for a reasonably priced, charming, immaculate and central spot in this gorgeous gem of a town, I highly recommend Le Foch!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bernie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We chanced upon Le Foch a few years ago from its "Logis de France" accreditation. We've stayed several times since and never been disappointed,

Cassel is a lovely Flemish town and handy for ferry terminals at Calais and Dunkerque. It's a hill-top town and the Grande Place has loads of character and several cafes, bars and restaurants as well as other tourist attractions.

If you are looking for clinical perfection in the modern formulaic sense, this might not be for you. If you are looking for an excellent small hotel that is France, then Le Foch will be perfect.

Nathalie and Luc run the business to high standards and they sure look after you well. Bedrooms vary in style and are attractive. There are all the standard comforts and free wifi.

The restaurant is superb, even by French standards, and good value. Mostly local cuisine prepared and presented exquisitely in a relaxing atmosphere.

Are there downsides? Rooms at the front can suffer from road noise from the cobbled Grande Place. Disabled access bedrooms upstairs may not be easy. There is no private parking but we have always managed to park very close (less than 15m) for free in the Grande Place.

This is very individual Hotel that tries very hard to please, and succeeds, in my opinion. But if you like every hotel room in every hotel to look the sane, stick with Travelodge (et al)! We will return.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear are quieter, rooms to the front have a view over the Grande Place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Glenfinnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
59 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

In June 2011 and, again, in June 2012, I stayed at the Hotel Foch, on the Grand' Place in the heart of Cassel. The hotel is managed by a young couple, Nathalie and Luc. Nathalie is English-speaking; she is attentive to guests requests and makes them feel at home. Luc's cuisine is refined, well-presented and appetizing. The rooms are clean and the television channels include BBC, CNN and Sky. The only downside was that there was no telephone in my room; you'll have to rely on your cell phone.

Cassel was founded by the Romans 2,000 years ago. Its many stores and restaurants make it a good location for exploring the region of French Flanders and the neighboring Heuvelland area of Belgium. The Hotel Foch is an excellent place to make your headquarters.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diglebond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cassel
0.1 mi away
La Chatellerie du Schoebeque
8.1 mi away
Hostellerie Saint Louis
Hostellerie Saint Louis
#1 of 1 in Bollezeele
4.5 of 5 stars 377 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel du Gambrinus
Hotel du Gambrinus
#2 of 3 in Hazebrouck
3.0 of 5 stars 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Le Logis De La Lys
Le Logis De La Lys
#2 of 2 in Aire-sur-la-Lys
3.5 of 5 stars 33 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Callecanes
Hotel Callecanes
#4 of 6 in Poperinge
4.0 of 5 stars 113 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hotel Chateau Tilques
Hotel Chateau Tilques
#1 of 1 in Tilques
4.0 of 5 stars 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Le Foch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Le Foch

Property: Hotel Restaurant Le Foch
Address: 41 Grand place, 59670 Cassel, France
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Nord > Cassel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cassel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Face of the Foch in Cassel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Foch
Le Foch Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing