We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Affordable Luxury in the South of France”
other travelers have booked this property
4 Paws - the pool and view - a true holiday atmosphere.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
4 Paws - the pool and view - a true holiday atmosphere.
an excellent choice,4 Paws is a stunning ground floor Gîte next to the pool with both peace and privacy
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
4 Paws - the pool and view - a true holiday atmosphere.
an excellent choice,4 Paws is a stunning ground floor Gîte next to the pool
with both peace and privacy
enchanting surroundings
exotic Mediterranean plants, shrubs and stunted trees in the landscaped garden
and welcoming hosts. Graham and Sabine are there to help make your stay memorable.
Inside the Gîte:- the sun lounge and kitchen
and, the lounge/tv area.
the adjoining 'Mint' Bedroom,
with its en suite shower room.
Outside, 20m further along by the pool, is the Plum Bedroom
and, as it faces due east the sun rises spectacularly on the horizon
Later in the p.m., you can enjoy an Aperitif on its terrace too, or
or just daydream looking across the pool, gardens, palm trees and BBQ ...
where you can eat 'al fresco' on a local stone table, floodlit at night.
The surrounding countryside - vineyards wherever you turn, the 'paysage rayé'
magical Castles, this one just 2 Km up the road in Margon, beneath the mountains and Garrigue
stroll along long sandy Mediterranean beaches, a short drive away
Pézenas, with its historic centre is pure faded grandeur, and just 10 minutes away
with fine craftsmen, artists' studios and original boutiques
there is an important street market held every Saturday
You can buy locally sourced fruit and vegetables. Just taste the difference, and
try 'Oc' specialities -  tapenades, olives, almond oil, marinated garlic gloves,
or fruit confit
as well as yummy distinctive cheeses (from Roujan).
throughout the region, discover unique local wines
see the translucent grapes ripening in the summer sun
and taste the discoveries to be made
and, last but not least enjoy fine food and restaurants, on most street corners.
or just lie back and sunbathe under a palm tree ........
BUT, life's tough - so much unwinding, eating, swimming, sleeping - and the SUN ..........
dusk comes and the night falls on 4 Paws - AN AMAZING PLACE TO STAY
enjoy this part of France and its traditions - ALL FROM 4 PAWS
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Roujan, Herault, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Foodie197...
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Affordable Luxury in the South of France”
Reviewed September 23, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My fiance and I have recently returned from a wonderfully peaceful and relaxing stay at 4 Paws gite. It is simply stunning. From the moment you arrive you are filled with a sense of relaxation. The accommodation is like a home from home, with all that you may need. Everything provided, from the mattresses to the sun loungers is of the highest quality, as is the welcome hamper. It is immaculate and modern. Graham and Sabine really have thought of everything. The hosts are very welcoming and extremely knowledgeable about the local and surrounding areas and are on hand if you need them. The pool area is glorious and equipped with a bbq too.There are adorable dogs and cats on site which live in the top house, away from the self - contained gite.

The surrounding countryside and villages are beautiful with plenty of vineyards for those wanting to taste and buy local produce. The sea and its 10km beach is also only a thirty minute drive away. This is a great place to do as little or as much as you like.

It is very evident that a lot of work and love has gone into making the gite the glorious space that it is. It is everything it says it is and we cannot recommend it highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: The storms on the last day!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R
2 reviews
“A delightful stay”
Reviewed August 20, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Roujan a fairly quiet small town but with most amenities you are likely to need (eg chemist, boulangerie, supermarket, bars,restaurants.) However you are more likely to be attracted by the location, nestled between the coastal plane and the mountains (hills according to the locals) of the Massif Central. Car virtually essential but with the coast and mountains half an hour away and the towns/cities of Montpellier, Beziers, Meze etc less than an hour away your days need not be filled up by travelling. And the delightful historic town of Pezenas has an wide choice of restaurants and shops only 15 minutes away.

4-Paws accommodation is first class, spacious, freshly redecorated and equiped with all modern appliances. Although the two bedrooms are not connected they are both have bathroom/shower facilities so no problems overnight. Ideal for two couples. The pool and gardens are beautiful and essentially it is yours and no fighting over loungers. For those looking for a deep tan there is always a spot you can find in the direct rays around the pool as the sun tracks round during the day. And for those who like shade again no problem.

Our hosts, Sabine and Graham, were charming and helpful (in fact a virtual concierge service) but respectful of our privacy.

Don't overlook the blessing of the well stocked "Welcome Pack" which will get you through the Sunday in the likely event that the local SuperU is closed when you arrive (half-day closing on Sundays). Incidentally very impressed by the range and quality of the fresh food at this store.

In conclusion all very much as accurately described on the web site with no hidden unwelcome surprises.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita158
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“4 Paws...... 5Stars!!!!!”
Reviewed August 13, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

A garden of Eden without the snake!
The garden and pool were delightful and the accommodation very comfortable with everything you would ever need. Top quality air conditioning meant a good nights sleep, so important as plenty to do each day.
Graham and Sabine were the perfect hosts, there to help and advise without being intrusive. Their knowledge of local restaurants and vineyards was invaluable and we can highly recommend one that they kindly booked for us the L'Auberge Du Presbytere in Vailhan with its wonderful food and fantastic views. We will most certainly be returning to 4 Paws to enjoy another memorable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool, gardens and the views
Liked least: there was nothing not to like!!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian C
Newport Pagnell, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful holiday and will definatley be returning!”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Having just returned from 4 paws in late July this year, we had a wonderful, relaxing and peaceful holiday. A good location surrounded by vineyard after vineyard. Not far from the beaches, try Meze Beach if you want something a little quieter. Pezenas is just down the road full of old world charm. The Gite itself is extremely well presented, recently renovated to a very good spec, the gardens are immaculate and you'll have use of the whole area. The pool is outstanding, again extremely well looked after. Garham & Sabine are friendly, excellent hosts and will help as much or as little as you wish nothing was too much trouble, the starter hamper really helps if you've had a long journey and gets you started. We had one of our best holidays here, the whole holiday exudes quality and we will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxation factor
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GraniteCi...
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“4 Paws – the best gîte in France with stunning scenery and great hosts!”
Reviewed August 4, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We’ve just returned after a perfect week’s holiday at 4 Paws and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing and luxurious 5-star break in a gorgeous part of France!

The owners, Graham and Sabine, were perfect hosts who went out of their way to help us have a fantastic holiday with our 15-year-old son and 11-year-old daughter.

This was our first experience of renting a gîte and driving abroad – and they made the whole experience a positive one. Upon booking, Graham promptly sent a comprehensive information pack and travelling from Bezier airport to Roujan was made stress-free thanks to his spot-on directions.

Our flight arrived early in the morning and well before the usual check-in time at 4 Paws - but Graham and Sabine welcomed us warmly and made us feel right at home. Throughout our holiday, they were there when we needed local advice and knowledge but they were never intrusive.

The accommodation was clean, comfortable and exactly as advertised - with the rooms also well equipped with free wifi, TVs and a library of DVDs that would put Amazon to shame. The swimming pool was sparklingly clean and our children had a ball playing and diving in to cool off from the 36C temperatures outside.

The complimentary welcome pack we also received upon arrival has to be the best in the business. Enough to cover off an evening meal and breakfast (+more!) it included local wines, cheeses, butter, roast chicken, brioche, plenty of fruit and vegetables and some of Sabine’s delicious home-made jams.

Sabine also kindly let us pick oranges from the tree in their beautiful garden which my daughter and I squeezed to make fresh juice for our breakfast – a delicious accompaniment to the croissants (and cakes) we bought daily from the two local bakeries in town. In terms of shopping and amenities, there’s also a nearby supermarket, a 24-hr petrol station with cheap fuel, a pharmacy with a good selection of suntan lotion, a post office with ATM, and a choice of about three restaurants.

Roujan is a great base – and, from our experience, we would recommend visiting Pezenas (great historical town with lovely shops and restaurants), Meze (beach and seafood), Faugeres, Moureze, and Montpellier. But there are so many areas that we didn’t have time to visit and want to cover off the next time.

Thanks to Graham showing us the ropes – and speaking the language fluently - we also enjoyed a very enjoyable afternoon tasting wines at a local vineyard.

Above all, this was a perfect 5-star holiday and one that we will always remember with great affection thanks to Graham and Sabine.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian C
Newport Pagnell, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We have just had a wonderful, relaxing holiday at 4 Paws. The villa is exceptionally well equipped, the pool is excellent and constantly well maintained. A great location, with great hosts to help you with local information as much or as little as you need. We will definitely recommend and return.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane C
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely beautiful accommodation, stunning pool, gardens & location !”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

4 Paws gave us 2 weeks of blissful peace & tranquiity. The villa accommodation being absolutely beautiful with everything furnished & immaculate to the highest standard. Our 2 15 year old Grandchildren didn't want to leave, having spent everyday & many hours in the pristine pool, & are already planning our return trip. The genuine hospitality of the Owners Sabine & Graham is truly amazing, Sabine even making us delicious jam, with produce grown within the stunning gardens & having the company of their 4 legged family made our holiday experience so memorable, we can't recommend it highly enough !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything as per my review
Liked least: There was nothing to not like
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing