We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location, nice people, but avoid mansard room.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of La Dordine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Dordine
Ranked #5 of 18 Pezenas B&B and Inns
Latvia
Level Contributor
172 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Perfect location, nice people, but avoid mansard room.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2010

If you want to enjoy the flavour of a old and beautiful city, this is the place to stay. Also a good location to visit the coastal area, the Herault inland or Montpellier. The mansard room is only accessible by narrow stairs (but the owners inform you about this beforehand, so no complaints about this (they even send you pictures of the stairs). The problem with the mansard room is that for taller (1,8 m) people it is always an exercice not to bump one's head. The owners are very helpful with information. Parking is located about 300 m on a public parking, but rather safe (I left my car open, with keys on the seats). The prices are attractive and correct for the quality you get.
By the way don't forget to visit La Cirque des Navacelles and to eat oysters in Bouzigues.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peersman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    16
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
37
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sale, Cheshire
Level Contributor
129 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2010

well situated in the loverly village of Pezenas. A very old house with rickety stairs leading up to the very low ceilinged attic room that we slept in. Furnishings a bit worn.

Didnt find the gastonomic tasting of local specialities and wines held in the garge/basement very good. Most 'delicacies' were purchased from the local market and the wine was a bit rough.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatandBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2009

A perfect place to stay, right in the heart of the old town, and full of character and charm.
No frills bedrooms, as reflected in the price, but clean & comfortable. The hosts were so friendly, breakfast was a great affair with homemade breads & jams on offer and very sociable. Go stay there & find out for yourselves!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NashersDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2008

This place has a great location , lovely brekfast and the hosts are very helpful indeed.
At these prices you dont expect great rooms - and you dont get them. Ours was on the very top floor , and with low beams you had to keep stooping , which was very uncomfortable - so when you book , make sure you dont get the top floor room.
Other than that - a definite recommendation.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukiwil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comrie, Perthshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2007

This was our third visit to Pezenas and to La Dordine. It was great to see Veronique & Aurelien again and to meet their charming daughter Leonora. The welcome we received was second to none and the breakfasts provided by Veronique - wonderful. La Dordine is a perfect base to explore the Languedoc region and experience genuine french cuisine, We hope to return very soon!

Janet & Trevor Griffiths

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2007

Superbly located for great access to the wonderful old town, Pezenas. Veronique & Aurelian are very kind and attentive hosts: providing an immaculate facility and very personable interaction. Our rooms were well equiped and very unique and quaint - as hoped for in such a vintage building.
Breakfast was a really social time getting to know other guests -- as well as Veronique's marvellous breakfasts (a high point!).
The dinner tasting in the "Cave Gourmande" is a "must do" treat of exceptional gourmet delight!! With Veronique to mastermind the kitchen and Aurelian to present and lead us through the wine pairings, we simply wanted to just stay on and on....
Their keen interest in gourmet food and wines is evident at each step ... and to be cherished as part of what they offer.
Wholeheartedly recommended to everyone looking for those unique travel experiences!!

  • Liked — Unique rooms, Cave Gourmande, Veronique's breakfasts
  • Disliked — Low ceilings in some rooms, tight staircases (goes with the 'territory' though)
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1750Spider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2007

We arrived in Pezenas late in the evening thinking that we had booked two rooms for two nights in La Dordine -a 14th century chambre d'hotes accomodation located in the old quarter of Pezenas, only to discover that we had forgotton to confirm the booking. Quel Disastre! Dispite the fact that they were very busy , Veronique and Aurelian, who both speak fluent English immediately put us all at ease and provided us with a very genuine welcome and two of the most quaint rooms we had ever seen. Breakfast is a real treat in a very French kitchen, Veronique's home baking, Aurelian's coffee as well as their interesting and insightful conversation provides a great start to a day in the beautiful town of Pezenas. Of the many trips we have made to France, this was the most memorable!
McDonagh Family Galway ireland

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxi50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pezenas hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Grand Hotel Moliere
Le Grand Hotel Moliere
#3 of 6 in Pezenas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Germain
Hotel Le Saint Germain
#4 of 6 in Pezenas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
1.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Pezenas
B&B Hotel Pezenas
#5 of 6 in Pezenas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Garrigae Distillerie de Pezenas
0.1 mi away
Hotel De Vigniamont
Hotel De Vigniamont
#2 of 6 in Pezenas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.3 mi away
De Fleurus
De Fleurus
#8 of 18 in Pezenas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Dordine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Dordine

Property: La Dordine
Address: 9 rue des Litanies, 34120, Pezenas, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Herault > Pezenas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Pezenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming BnB and self-catering studios in the historical centre of Pézenas; Open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your La Dordine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing