We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top location, kind people!”
Review of Villa Juliette

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pezenas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Juliette
Ranked #11 of 18 Pezenas B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 18, 2013

It was our fist visit after the owner changed. The atmosphere is still adorable! It still feels a bit like coming home in a holiday house. The rooms are nicely decorated. A very kind dog, Eros who helps to give you a nice welcome.
We will certainly come back and wish the new owners all the best!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nadinekebloem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 95 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had three days to fill before a boat trip on Canal du Midi. Pezenas looked like a great location so I booked for two couples.To out delight it turned out to be a highlight of our 6 week trip.
Ruth and Giles were wonderful hosts delivering perfect breakfasts in the most "French delicious"surroundings.They gave us lots of wonderful advise including local restaurant gems
and the newly renovated house was perfect. We felt very welcome and came home on hot afternoons for a swim and snooze by the pool.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with an en suite . Stairs a bit narrow for big suitcases
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ghris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Villa Juliette is a pretty, cosy villa very well positioned for access to the beautiful Pezenas old town. We had a floor to ourselves, with a suite and a separate room for our daughter. The rooms are very nicely decorated in a twee country style, with tea and coffee facilities. Breakfast is served either in the large kitchen, which is also the entrance to the villa, or in the garden, and is a great mix of bread, pastries and fruit, together with home-made jams.
There is a spacious garden with an interesting swimming pool.
Ruth and Gilles only took over the place in October 2012, so reviews before that date no longer apply, eg there is now NO wine allowed in or near the house!
Pros
- central for the old town
- great rooms
- good breakfast, home-made jams, fresh fruit.
- comfortable beds, very clean
- very friendly and accommodating hosts, Ruth English, Gilles French. Gilles spoke no English with us (suspect he could), but spoke clear, slow French which we all understood.
Cons
- there is a house dog. No concessions made for non dog-lovers - we are all expected to love dogs. Even at the breakfast table.
- the sound insulation is terrible. We had a couple above us and the whole ceiling shook VERY loudly as they walked around - at 3:30am on one occasion. Toilets flushing are also very loud.
- wifi access is a problem. On the first floor access is patchy to say the least - from our second day on we had NO access at all. They either need to reposition their router, or get a booster for the upper floors. We had 3 devices, all showed the same problem.
- narrow staircase to rooms. Tough and a little dangerous with heavy cases.

Room Tip: First floor suite is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thengit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

As soon as we heard that Ruth and Gilles were the new owners of Villa Juliette we booked a six night stay with them. Previously the owners of Domaine de Bourgade we had spent many happy holidays in the gites they had on the domain.
Villa Juliette has that lovely welcoming feeling from when the gates open on arrival and you are greeted by Ruth, Gilles and Eros standing in front of a lovely mellow coloured building shaded by mature trees and lawn, flowers and a welcoming pool to when they wave 'au revoir' to you. Entering via the kitchen with dining area we went through the door to stairs up to our room where Ruth's interior design skills had been used to good advantage. The large bed was blissfuly comfortable, there was a tea tray set up ready and two easy chairs. The en-suite bathroom had been refitted and the water was HOT!! The windows had electric shutters which could be stopped at any point. We fell asleep each night to the sound of nightingales in full voice and woke each morning to a blackbird singing. Lovely!
Breakfast was served at our chosen time by Gilles, croissants, preserves made by Ruth, yoghurt, fruit, bread, fruit juice and coffee or tea. On the one day it rained breakfast was served in the dining area in the kitchen.
Whether it was revisiting our favourite places, Valras Plage for the ice-cream, Marseillan for lunch and to stock up on Noilly Prat Ambre and Rouge, Beziers for shopping, wandering round Pezanes or just lazing by the pool with our Kindles it was a very happy holiday.
Eros is a very well behaved dog who keeps his distance until he knows he is welcome. When that is clear he is a great big softie who loves a fuss.

Room Tip: Stairs are steep in this old villa so if that is a problem choose the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Villa Juliette is a charming villa with a superb location in Pezanas, close enough to the pretty streets and excellent restaurants yet the villa's lovely garden and pool offer a relaxed afternoon if you fancy some downtime! Ruth and Gilles are wonderful hosts and really made our stay special, we were travelling with our 12 month old son and couldn't have felt more welcome or at ease. The rooms are beautifully decorated, good quality, white, crisp bed linen...whcih is always a good indicator of standards. Breakfast was served in the garden and something I looked forward to every day; fresh pressed juice and homemade jams! This place is a real gem, so glad we found it and really look forward to our next visit. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s'amuser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

My husband and I have stayed in many beautiful properties in France but this is my favourite. The house is beautifully decorated and Ruth and Gilles are very warm and welcoming. The house has a lovely secluded garden and pool. Pezenas is a pretty town with lots of lovely restaurants and shops. The countryside around Pezenas is stunning and it is only a short trip to the coast. If you are planning a trip to Pezanas this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

A friend and I stayed at Villa Juliette for a week at the end of May and it was really lovely. We were hoping for a relaxing holiday and we got just that, the room was great; nicely decorated and very clean. The villa on a whole is stunning and it's garden is such a gorgeous little haven with a beautiful pool; we spent almost every afternoon reading in the sunshine and taking dips to cool off. Breakfast was great with fresh croissants every morning, what more could you ask for? Marie and Serge are very friendly and welcoming and helped us with oir questions as much as they could. We would definitely recommend Villa Juliette.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank F00die16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pezenas hotels
0.4 mi away
Garrigae Distillerie de Pezenas
0.1 mi away
Hotel De Vigniamont
Hotel De Vigniamont
#2 of 6 in Pezenas
231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Grand Hotel Moliere
Le Grand Hotel Moliere
#4 of 6 in Pezenas
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
B&B Hotel Pezenas
B&B Hotel Pezenas
#5 of 6 in Pezenas
87 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Germain
Hotel Le Saint Germain
#3 of 6 in Pezenas
72 reviews
0.4 mi away
Les Galeries de Beaulac Chambres d'hotes de prestige
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Juliette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Juliette

Address: 6 Chemin de la Faissine, 34120, Pezenas, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Herault > Pezenas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Pezenas
Price Range: $87 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gem in the heart of Pezenas, opposite the municipal park, "VILLA JULIETTE" offers 5 guest rooms in a WINE GROWER, in a lovely nineteenth century bourgeois building, 3 minutes walk from the historic pedestrian.In season, you can enjoy the tranquility of the shade of old trees in our Mediterranean garden and swimming pool in our original stones.The wireless internet is free, and your car is safe in our enclosed parking, private and free. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing