We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More like Staying with a Friend than a Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel De Vigniamont
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pezenas
Certificate of Excellence
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“More like Staying with a Friend than a Hotel”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

The last few reviews leave little to say about this gem of a property. We stayed three nights in the Provence Room, one of two on the ground floor. It was a fabulous stay- more like staying with a good friend in a fabulous home. Despite being the smallest room available, Provence was good sized and very well equipped. Our French doors opened to the ground floor terrace, which made the room seem even bigger than it was. There was fresh fruit and a bottle of complimentary wine waiting for us in the room. Babette is absolutely the perfect hostess. The breakfasts are delightful, the wine and hors d'oeurves a special treat, the living room/breakfast room filled with art and well furnished, the roof-top terrace very special. Babette's recommendations for restaurants were on the money, and her suggestions for sights to see and wineries to visit were on the money. Follow the instructions on the property's website to print out the directions to the hotel, drive slowly when you are in the small streets, and you will not get lost. (Our GPS was fading in and out in Pezenas so make sure you have the printed instructions with you.) We cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: The Provence room is on the ground floor with French Doors to the courtyard terrace. It has a doubl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    6
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
26
150
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2014

My wife and I absolutely LOVED the B&B.. Everything from the beautiful entry way to our most gracious host Babette.. The rooms are comfortably decorated and are not over done, The beds are also comfortable ( this is a plus for most euro Hotels).. The breakfast is not to be missed, everything was fresh. the home made lemon Madeleines made with lemons from her lemon tree was a nice touch..
Pezenas is a quaint quite southern France Village. My wife and I love to hunt for antiques and much to our surprise there are several cool antiques shops in Pezenas with many treasures to be found.. Babette also told us that there is a big antique market in mid July that has a large number of Venders.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

It is impossible to describe the warmth of the welcome provided by Babette, the owner of this elegant boutique hotel. She is an absolute delight, as is her beautiful hotel, which she has set up so beautifully. Each room is named and themed, all with tasteful and appropriate decor - ours was the lovely Languedoc suite. Babette goes out of her way to make your stay a real holiday - she even did our washing!
The excellent breakfasts she lovingly prepares and serves in the elegant dining room are huge, with a great selection of fresh fruits, cereals, breads and pastries, and on each of the three days we stayed, there were extra treats, a breakfast creme caramel, a fruit tart and the most delicious banana loaf. Babette's rooftop soiree in which she brings all her guests together for drinks and delicious home-made hors d'oeuvres, is really enjoyable. She is indeed the perfect hostess, ably accompanied by her beautiful dog Tango.
I would go back to this hotel at the drop of a hat - it is superb!

Room Tip: All the rooms are superb, but we saw the huge Vigniamont suite in the room beside ours - it is was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fourevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweden
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Impossible to describe how wonderful this hotel is! It is in an ancient creeper-clad 17th century house with blue shutters in a quiet street in the middle of Pezenas (parking meters right opposite). As you walk into the hotel entrance, along the old stone corridor, you already get an idea of the way the whole hotel is decorated, with attractive little personal touches everywhere. The delightful and absolutely charming owner Babette rushes to greet you as you ring the bell on the iron gates and from the moment you arrive, she can't do enough to help you with anything she can (she speaks perfect English). We loved our first stay so much we booked in for a second time before we left the area so that we could enjoy the hotel and Babette's hosting skills again. There are three floors, reached by very old wide shallow stone winding steps, built around a creeper-clad central open courtyard with little candles and small lights dotted around everywhere. Magical. On our first visit we stayed on the ground floor, with French doors giving onto the courtyard, in a beautifully decorated white/pale grey/pale blue room with an excellent bathroom, comfortable bed and good lighting. On our return visit, we stayed on the first floor in the Red Room. A very generous buffet breakfast, with various French breads & croissanterie, bowls of cereals, yoghurts, lots of fresh fruits, patisseries (and a home-made treat like a fruit tart, cake or crème caramel made by Babette), is served in a large, light, airy, high-ceilinged Library with huge vases of fresh flowers, guide books to borrow, a sound system, large comfortable sofas covered in toile de jouy and two large chandeliers. There are lots of table lamps and candles and a string of little white lights trailing over the enormous gilt-framed mirror, which is hung above the open stone fireplace. Just one example of how Babette went out of her way to make our stay as nice as possible, was when we asked about a good place to have lunch and, concerned that we would get lost, she walked over with us to the central square and pointed out her personal recommendations. We tried both and they were very reasonable and the food was excellent. In the evenings, Babette invites her guests to share a bottle of wine with her and her husband on the really lovely roof terrace, (where you can while away the afternoon, if you want a break from sightseeing), and there are home-cooked treats to accompany the drinks. When we were there, we met a very nice American pair and a delightful young Irish couple on their honeymoon. Both couples had stayed there previously. We agreed that the entire hotel was so exquisite we could happily lock the front gates and stay there forever. We are already planning our next trip, because there is so much to see nearby and, apart from this wonderful hotel, Pèzenas is a delightful old city with good restaurants and only about 10 minutes drive to several beaches. We flew to Béziers airport very cheaply with Ryanair and hired a car at a big discount via Expedia, so it was a very good value few days - only problem was we didn't want to come back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonnie1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
Level Contributor
118 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

This very special 17th century luxury bed and breakfast (former home) is found in the historic town of Pezenas, France. Babette Brun, the owner, is delightful, helpful and also a fantastic chef, making breakfast with ingredients from her own gardens.

Room Tip: There is no elevator but they do offer one accommodation on the first level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peggy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We spent a weekend at this beautiful boutique style hotel in Pezenas. The room (Languedoc Suite) was chic, classy and very comfortable. The attention to detail is evident across every facet of the hotel and it is simply stunning. The level of service shown by the owner, Babette, is superb and we have to recommend joining the wine tasting on the roof terrace eating bread and Babette’s homemade olive and aubergine tapenade. The breakfast is excellent with fresh fruit, yoghurt, granola and pastries. This truly is a 10/10 hotel and we would strongly recommend to anyone visiting Pezenas. We most certainly shall return!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forsn0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

My husband and I were planning a small getaway from the kids in Pezenas but ended up having to take our infant son with us on the trip due to a family emergency. Babette was wonderful and had a crib and high chair that we were able to use during our stay. Everything overall was simply wonderful and relaxing: from the room and it's decor to breakfast to Babette's recommendations for area restaurants, wineries and attractions. Babette also hosted her own private wine tasting one night with her guests which was really nice. It was relaxing but elegant. I have to say, I've also never stayed in such a cool building - with open air spiral stone stairways.

In terms of locating it via car, good luck. It's worth it when you find it, but takes some hunting through narrow medieval streets. Our best advice is to try to use the GPS and try to approach from the south. It's directly across the street from the city hall that was formerly a school and has public parking.

Room Tip: We absolutely loved the Vigniamont Suite. If you want to stay in a smaller room but still be up nea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julesk24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pezenas
0.3 mi away
Garrigae Distillerie de Pezenas
0.2 mi away
Le Grand Hotel Moliere
Le Grand Hotel Moliere
#3 of 6 in Pezenas
38 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Germain
Hotel Le Saint Germain
#4 of 6 in Pezenas
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Hotel Navas Les Hauts de Moureze
12.8 mi away
L'Hotel Particulier
L'Hotel Particulier
#1 of 32 in Beziers
217 reviews
1.0 mi away
B&B Hotel Pezenas
B&B Hotel Pezenas
#5 of 6 in Pezenas
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Vigniamont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Vigniamont

Property: Hotel De Vigniamont
Address: 5 rue Massillon, 34120, Pezenas, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Herault > Pezenas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pezenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Vigniamont is a luxury bed and breakfast inn situated in the historic town of Pezenas. Step inside this 17th century Hotel Particulier and discover the inner courtyard and striking arches and majestic stone staircase. All the accomodation offers en-suite facilities, tea/coffee making facilities. Guests are free to use the grand salon and sun drenched roof terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel De Vigniamont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing