We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Oasis in a Jewel of a Town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garrigae Distillerie de Pezenas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garrigae Distillerie de Pezenas
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pezenas
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“An Oasis in a Jewel of a Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Pezenas is a gem of a town and The Distillerie is a gorgeous oasis at the heart of it. The Distillerie is brand new and is an absolute find. If you are driving, it has parking right at the property unlike most of the Pezenas accommodation. The staff, Nadia at reception and her team could not be more helpful.

The rooms are seriously large with balconies and are also air conditioned which was most welcome in the French summer sunshine. While I know some people commented on preferring the views over the pool and towards the sun, I preferred the view over the car park as it encompasses the old town and beautiful rooftops. The rooms have tea and coffee making facilities and a fridge and also a sink so would certainly be perfect if you had a family or were planning a long stay and wanted to make your own delicious lunch from the local produce.

The lighting or lack thereof in the bedrooms is very strange and I think that might be something that could be revisited. Everything at The Distillerie is beautifully done but the configurations of furniture in the public areas make it quite stiff and not really a place that is conducive to relaxation. Perhaps once more people are using the restaurant and bar, the feel of the place will change because it does deserve to be very successful.

Of course, Pezenas is so gorgeous a town with so many lovely restaurants and cafes that it is really a waste not to share those wonderful options anyway. I thoroughly enjoyed eating with friends at various locations in the area whilst we were staying at La Distillerie. And during the Summer there appears to be a never ending array of activities taking place in the streets and the squares that you would not want to miss.

The pool is very small and very cold so I am not sure how much one would really use it and the area around the pool doesn't seem very user friendly yet. I know The Distillerie does not want to be a 4 star hotel but it is caught between not being a b and b or old boutique hotel and being a wonderful, new property that really is a boutique hotel so it may just have to embrace that philosophy to match its terrific facilities.

I felt like I lucked out staying at The Distillerie. I would certainly stay there again if I happen to be in the area and I really enjoyed being in a new property with wonderful, large rooms and lifts not stairs. It truly is a special place and can only get better and better as it finds its heart in Pezenas.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janeblogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    221
    57
    17
    6
See reviews for
52
360
4
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork,Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

This is quite simply gorgeous. An oasis of luxury in the beautiful town of Pezenas. Do not go there ever, I want to keep it all to myself !

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dfgood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level Contributor
182 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

The Distillerie has only been open for a couple of months, but the word seems to be getting round that this is somewhere worth a visit. We were enchanted. The staff are young and enthusiastic, and really keen that you should enjoy your stay; our room was excellent, spacious and well-equipped (although obviously the designers were not expecting people who might want sufficient light to read by!) We had not opted for one of the more expensive rooms overlooking the interior garden and pool, and frankly, I was delighted with what we had - the view was fine, and Pézenas is far too nice a town to stay in your hotel room anyway! The lounge area was extremely pleasant, and the tapas bar looked very attractive, though we did not try it, or the spa. Breakfast was a tad over-priced at 15 euros a head, and the pleasure of what was on offer was suddenly spoiled when staff noticed - horrors! - that we were sitting in peace and quiet: the ghastly, ubiquitous noise-pollution of music was turned on, chasing us away from a second cup of coffee. A minor beef, in what was an all round delightful experience: we'll certainly go back, the location is excellent (5 minute stroll to historic centre), parking is easy and secure, and Pézenas itself is a real delight.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jb5753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

My partner and I travelled from Carcassonne, Andorra and along the coast to Montpellier staying at a couple of hotels on the coast and Pezenas was our last night before we travelled back to the UK from Perpingnan.
I was a little apprehensive when i booked La Distillerie as there were only two reviews on tripadvisor and the hotel had only just opened however when we drove into the beautiful town of Pezenas i couldnt believe how quaint and lovely it was.
The hotel looked fantastic from a distance and when we arrived we were greeted by Nadia who was efficient and professional.
The hotel room was huge and had its own kitchen and lounge area it was the biggest hotel room i have ever stayed in and it was immaculate.
The hotel was great the only thing i didnt like was the restaurant, i thought it was overpriced and a little protentious but it is such a small detail compared to how wonderful the hotel is overall.
La Distillerie was a great way to end our holiday and it was the best.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rospat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

Have just returned from a far too short break to this outstanding hotel in the centre of Pezenas. Just opened was fairly quiet when we went which was lovely the staff were all really attentive and helpful. The location is great right in the centre of the lovely town with loads of secure parking available. The rooms are enormous even the standard room which we had though would upgrade to a poolside room next time as they have glorious sunny terraces. Restaurant was very good and reasonable price with lots of choice and a very nice house wine. Don't often stay in the same hotel twice but can't wait to stay here again.

Room Tip: Worth going for the rooms overlooking the pool as they have sun terraces, though all are extremely l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank juliehilldevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

When you book a hotel room last minute you don't necessarily expect too much in the way of quality or value for money, particularly traveling through the south of France in a region you have not really studied up on....well what a total surprise - talk about hitting the preverbial "jackpot" - La Distillerie de Pezenas is simply an outstanding property. Led by the Director, Alexandre the entire staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly, going out of their way to make my fiance and myself very welcome and special throughout the entire stay...even offering us free coffee and sweets when we had to double back two and a half hours round trip when we left a suit bag in our room! Speaking of which; the rooms are nothing short of exceptional. When you think Europe, generally you except the rooms will be tight on space, while sometimes being well appointed...we booked a standard double room and were blown away by the size, comfort, and overall presentation. The room had a kitchenette, comfortable sofa and coffee table, Juliette balcony, separate bathroom-toilet with his/her vanity setting meaning there was ample room rivaling a one bedroom suite offered up by your more fancied 5 star establishments.
The tariff (€145 incl breakfast) could have been double and it still would have represented fine value. The Distillerie is conveniently located in the town a couple of minutes from the historic centre where the narrow lanes, interesting shops, and quaint quality restaurants avail themselves. If you are in the the languedoc region, do yourself a favor and make Pezenas a must and be sure to stay at La Distillerie, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pezenas
0.1 mi away
Le Grand Hotel Moliere
Le Grand Hotel Moliere
#3 of 6 in Pezenas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
1.2 mi away
B&B Hotel Pezenas
B&B Hotel Pezenas
#5 of 6 in Pezenas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Germain
Hotel Le Saint Germain
#4 of 6 in Pezenas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel De Vigniamont
Hotel De Vigniamont
#2 of 6 in Pezenas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
13.1 mi away
L'Hotel Particulier
L'Hotel Particulier
#1 of 30 in Beziers
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
13.1 mi away
Hotel in Situ
Hotel in Situ
#2 of 30 in Beziers
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garrigae Distillerie de Pezenas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garrigae Distillerie de Pezenas

Property: Garrigae Distillerie de Pezenas
Address: 6 Rue Calquieres Hautes, 34120, Pezenas, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Herault > Pezenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pezenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Garrigae Distillerie de Pezenas 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15 Minutes from the beaches of the Mediterranean, in the heart of the Pays d'Oc , discover Pezenas and its former Distillery restored into a boutique hotel with a spa, wine bar , restaurant , swimming pool and facilities for seminars. For stays with family or friends all year , discovering the South of France , its heritage , its wines and its beaches , the distillery is the ideal place to spend a pleasant moment . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Garrigae Distillerie de Pezenas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing