We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“It's amazing! your own private country mansion...”
view of the entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
view of the entrance
South terrace : the place to be ! the amazing pool area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
view of the entrance
South terrace : the place to be !
the amazing pool area
the  pool always!
what else !
the hall
Second setting room for games and TV
The dining room/ library
The dinning room
spectacular staircase and paintings
spectacular staircase and paintings
the bedroom 'CHARLOTTE'
the ensuite bedroom 'KALY'
the 'lovers' bedroom a very a romantic room !
lunch under the shade of the terrace
lunch under the shade of the terrace
the hundred-year-old pines
the main (north) entrance to the chateau
The entrance with the grey spectacular gate !
Aerial photos of the chateau and the pool
winter at the château!
Bessan sunday market a wonderfull time for gourmets!
The old medieval town of PEZENAS for shopping !
VIEW OF CARCASSONNE THE ANCIENT AND FAMOUS TOWN
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chateau -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Pezenas, Herault, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
NikkiSTM
Berkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“It's amazing! your own private country mansion with grounds and a pool”
Reviewed October 5, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This is such a find! A must! Put it on your bucket list! We have stayed in 2015 and 2016.

As soon as the gates open to the chateau you feel like the lord & lady of the manor. As you drive around the corner and set eyes on the house you can't fail to be wowed.Staying here is like staying in a National Trust property with all of the elegance of it's classic furniture & decor but with the addition of modern essentials such as WIFI, TV, stereo, dishwasher, coffee machine & microwave! The ample grounds are classically landscaped & through an almost secret gate to the side of the house you'll find the private pool in it's well manicured walled garden.

Your English speaking host, the lovely Marie-Sophie will make you feel most welcome and is always contactable to help with anything you're unsure of. The house has been in her family for generations and yet for the duration of your stay she makes you feel as if it is yours. If you will be arriving after the shops have closed, Marie-Sophie will kindly arrange the shopping for your evening and breakfast, or book a restaurant locally on your behalf.

There are lots of useful little things that make your stay easier, such as the foot pump for your pool inflatables, badmington, petanque & table tennis to occupy the kids (& bar b que & washing machine) .

The bakery is a 10min walk in the morning, for fresh bread & croissants. The supermarket, Intermarche Bessan, is a 10 min drive. The lovely village of Pezenas is nearby & has a huge market and interesting unique shops off the main street. Carcasonne or Montpellier are a little over an hour away. Nimes, the french Rome, with it's arena (similar to the colosseum), is about an hour & fourty mins.

We have stayed in 2015 and 2016, flying into both Beziers, 30mins away, and Toulousse, 2hrs away. Go with family/friends. It's well worth the money. Heaps of holiday for your £.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Liked least: not all bedrooms are en suite
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2016
Dear Nikki,
Thank you so much for your review! It was really a pleasure to meet you, Steve and the 2 kids. I hope to see you another time here. Anyway take good care of you. With friendly regards Marie-Sophie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sikija
Dobbs Ferry, New York
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Chateau d'Hortes - a vacation of a lifetime!”
Reviewed September 6, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We've just returned to NY from our holiday at Chateau d'Hortes and we are still walking on clouds! Our two-week stay at the Chateau was everything we anticipated and more. Absolutely delightful owner who speaks English had everything ready and for us. The Chateau is a charming Mediterranean property nestled among the miles and miles of Languedoc vineyards. It has a large entry hall, beautiful sitting rooms, romantic bedrooms, a wandering staircase, and large floor to ceiling windows with little balconies. The amenities are all modern; the kitchen had everything we needed to cook elaborate meals. A charcoal grill is also available – something we cannot live without.

The Chateau is very private and relaxing. It has plenty of room to accommodate large families and/or visiting friends as was in our case. The property has wonderful gardens and lawns for children to play. A ping-pong table, badminton set up and boule are among the many things one can do. The lovely pool was well maintained and surrounded by oleander and a large fig tree that produced the most wonderful figs. Nearby towns to visit are essential for your southern France experience. Charming ezenas is a few minutes away and in a little over an hour you can travel to Carcassonne. Montpelier is also well worth a visit. Arles, Avignon and Aix en Provence are all do-able for a day trip as well. A 45-minute trip North will take you into mountains with ancient caves and canoeing on the Herault River.

The Chateau is very easy to get to from the nearby highway. Two hours west of Marseille airport or 45 minutes from Montpelier. A well-stocked food market is in town and the town's Sunday fresh market is not to be missed offering local foods - fresh and prepared dishes. The town of Bessan has a wonderful bakery and a five-minute bike ride or ten-minute walk in the morning to get fresh croissants is a must. And the bread is not to be missed as well. Two pharmacies, banks, a butcher are all minutes away.

The Chateau was clean and had cleaning and linen service once a week, as we had requested. We had everything we needed to prepare meals and enjoy long breakfasts and fun dinners outside on the back patio. If we needed anything or had questions, the owner was immediately available. We will definitely return to this wonderful place! Highly recommend it for travelers who wish to reach their destination easily as well as for well-seasoned travelers. U.S. travelers should not miss this wonderful southern France experience. We plan to be back in 2018! Merci and bientot!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The absolute charm of the Chateau and the castle grounds.
Liked least: We honestly cannot think of a thing!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 8, 2016
Dear Janet,
I miss you already ! your enthousiasm and your cheerfulness were a happyness for me ... I don't know tell more! you are an wonderful ambassador for the "château d'Hortes" and his area!
I hope to see you soon here or in NY,... Anyway I am sure we will stay in touch, Awaiting take good care of you, of Greg and Noah. Kinds regards. Marie-Sophie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becs6
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The most enchantingly gorgeous place to stay.”
Reviewed July 12, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This was our second time back to the lovely Chateau Hortes as a family with ages between mid 20's and late 70's. Last year was supposed to be a one off 50th birthday celebration but everyone loved it so much that we had to return. This really is the perfect place to stay for a fabulous holiday. It is very central to travel from and only an hour and fifteen minutes from Carcassonne airport and even closer if you fly to Beziers. The chateau has everything you need to cook including a BBQ which we used extensively. The pool area is beautiful with a very good sized pool. The weather was hot between 28 and 32 degrees so we used the pool frequently. The grounds are extensive and we saw 2 red squirrels whilst there. Everything is spotless and beautifully kept. I would not hesitate to recommend Hortes as it is such a very special place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: This is a proper majestic French Chateau.
Liked least: There is nothing to dislike about Chateau Hortes.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed August 25, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nina_newf...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“charming and wonderful chateau and hospitality”
Reviewed August 5, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This was our third holiday at Chateau d'Hortes and we're keen to go back asap for as long as possible!

Great location and all you need for a wonderfully relaxing and fun stay with family and/or friends. If you can draw yourself away from the sun terrace, the pool and beautiful gardens there are so many interesting places close by to visit - the magical town of Pezenas, St Guilhem Le Desert, Marsellian, Gorge d'Eric, Carcassonne...the list goes on.

The chateau has been in the enchanting Marie-Sophie's family for many generation and is a treasure of family heritage. This is ever apparent in love and care that has gone in to making this elegant chateau feel like a home from home.

Worth asking Marie-Sophie to arrange for a delicious wine tasting with meats and cheese on the beautiful sun terrace. A night to remember!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: house, gardens and the hospitality of the wonderful Marie-Sophie
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How beautiful it was.
Liked least: There was nothing not to like.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 15, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character and setting of the Château.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing