We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch for 9”
Review of Le Vieux Coq

Le Vieux Coq
Ranked #28 of 99 Restaurants in Pezenas
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lunch for 9”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Had lunch with extended family ... Grand parents and a toddler. The staff were very accommodating moved tables chairs and parasols etc to fit us in. Food was good, fresh and different to the ubiquitous Steak Frites you find every where, especially the salads and crevettes. Skip dessert and have an ice cream next door ( part of the same restaurant I think!) Lovely terrace on a beautiful square well worth stopping here for lunch!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wabma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    100
    35
    11
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I wouldn't normally go for the biggest restaurant in the main square, but our friend had eaten there years ago and remembered it being a very good meal. It is a lovely location and unlike other restaurants in Pezenas there are plenty of tables outdoors.
The food and service were both pretty average. The night we went they were unable to accept credit cards and the look of the stickers on the menu stating this made me wonder just how often this happens to other tourists!?

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A good find on a quiet Monday evening”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Surprise, surprise - Monday evenings in Pezenas can be pretty quiet out of season. After wandering the streets becoming hungrier and hungrier every time we saw a Fermé sign we would have eaten almost anything. Eventually we came across this little place. OK we were grateful and OK the decor seemed a little strange at first but the couple on duty were friendly and efficient and the food was surprisingly good....nothing unusual on the menu (we had mains of lamb and grilled salmon) but all cooked fresh from the kitchen which is literally at the end of the dining room (it is a small place!). Not award winning but a perfectly decent meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Romanoff57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antwerp
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Nice terrace on the square”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The terrace is very attractive, we have been there before and the food was much better a few years ago, maybe we just had a lesser day, but it wasn't wasn't we expected.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank nadinekebloem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Tropez, France
2 reviews
“Better Luck Next Time”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to try while in Pezenas. There was nothing special about the meal in general. I ordered magret de canard rare and it came to me excessively well done. At the end of the meal, the coffee was a disappointment.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Antonietta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Vieux Coq also viewed

 
Pezenas, Herault
Pezenas, Herault
 

Been to Le Vieux Coq? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing