We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get off the main street in Thuir and you may find this little cracker!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cortie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Cortie
Ranked #2 of 5 Thuir B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Get off the main street in Thuir and you may find this little cracker!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed in a villa in Castelnou this July and looked to have a nice meal on the final night. So, three laptops came up with three different options of where to go and thankfully we plumped for this one. Although a little way off the main street, it really wasn't that hard to fine. Stand outside the entrance to "Cave Bryhh" and go up a little street almost opposite. Past a fast food place and a hairdresser you should come across a small street to the left. 10 yards down this road and you are there.
We arrived about 7pm on a saturday and almost didn't go in as it was empty. The owner tried to get us outside but because we had a party of 6 plus une enfant, we went inside. This was really the only negative as it was a little warm. Once the owner realised our french was poor, he reverted straight in to excellent english and moved us around the menu in double quick time to get to where we wanted to be. Almost. Be careful, as an englishman, my pallet did not react well to the intense flavour of french cooking, but this can't be blamed on the chef/staff. They did an excellent job, the starters arrived bang on time and were fresh and very nice. I even had a snail from the buffet and it was excellent. Main courses to die for and the tart tatin knocked me socks off!
All in all, if you are in Thuir and you want a very good meal, get down there, you won't be dissapointed.

Room Tip: We ate only, no room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francois M, Propriétaire at Hotel Cortie, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
I am very happy you spend a pleasant time in my restaurant. I was pleased to read your comments which will be, I am sure, very helpfull to anyone who reads them.
François
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    21
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
30
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We cycled into Thuir not knowing what we would find for a hotel and followed the signs to the Cortie. Couldn't have been a more pleasant experience. Nice clean room with lots of atmosphere and plenty of room for all our gear and we were able to put our bikes in a spare room on the ground floor. The location is right in the center of town, near a wine shop and bakery. We also had one of our best meals at the hotel served by the owner. Great place!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kurt770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Escaping the heat to rest in our cool, impeccably clean room or enjoy the arbored terrace for breakfast and the congeniality of Francois, the owner who goes out of his way to help in any way made our stay at the Hotel Cortie a delight. So glad our friends nearby suggested it.

Room Tip: Many variations in options... our room had a toilet and shower en suite tho' as an American I wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GratefullyHIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

We found it by asking someone in town for somewhere to stay, we were cycling up from Spain. It was great, funky and very helpful owner. The food was good and our rooms were too, typical french small town hotel with lots of atmosphere and very good for cyclists. We would go back, no problem.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nick e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thuir
1.6 mi away
Casa9 Hotel
Casa9 Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thuir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
14.6 mi away
Host & Vinum
Host & Vinum
#1 of 21 in Canet-en-Roussillon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
7.1 mi away
La Villa Duflot
La Villa Duflot
#3 of 46 in Perpignan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hotel du Village Catalan
Hotel du Village Catalan
#1 of 1 in Banyuls-dels-Aspres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
12.5 mi away
Hotel Le Belvedere
Hotel Le Belvedere
#4 of 5 in Saint-Cyprien
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
6.8 mi away
Kyriad Perpignan Sud
Kyriad Perpignan Sud
#2 of 46 in Perpignan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cortie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cortie

Property: Hotel Cortie
Address: 3 Rue Jean Jacques Rousseau, 66300 Thuir, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Thuir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Thuir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cortie 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
very nice and historical hotel in down town Thuir. Very quit. Familial welcom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Cortie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing