We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We came away healthier!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Domaine de Maran

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cavanac
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Domaine de Maran
Ranked #1 of 2 Cavanac B&B and Inns
Burlington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“We came away healthier!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed for four nights with Alix and Henry and were more than pleased with our accomodations. As others have noted, Alix serves a wonderful and healthy breakfast featuring fruit and home made preserves. We used the Domain as a base to visit noy only Carcassone but also the Cathar historic sites that are everywhere in this beautiful region of France. It was unseasonably cool during our visit in mid-May and Alix provided the girls with the warm coats they needed bit did not pack for this trip. My wife and I stayed in the Tower room which is quite a climb but worth it if you're able bodied. The grounds are beautifully maintained and the setting for the pool is glorious. Alix made calls for us and provided loads of useful information. We would not hesitate to recommend the Domaine du Maran to anyone travelling in this area.

Room Tip: The tower room is worth the climb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank AndyHardy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
65
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

We stayed three nights bed and breakfast in this beautiful house, just a few kilometres from the medieval city of Carcassone. Alix and Henry are lovely hosts, they are very welcoming, friendly and knowledgeable about the area, and if you don't speak French, their English is perfect. We stayed in the excellent yellow room, it is stylish and spacious. Alix provides fabulous French breakfasts with homemade jams, cakes and other goodies! We would certainly recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank EGChelmsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
272 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

We stayed four nights in the Gite "Le Galamp". Alix was very welcoming. She helped us orientate ourselves to the area and told us about various attractions. She even sold us some excellent wine and some fruit juice at very reasonable prices.
The apartment is very comfortable with two large bedrooms and a modern bathroom. There is a full kitchen so you are able to make good use of local market produce.
Carcassonne is a lovely place to visit and the surrounding Langue D'Oc area has many interesting sights and superb wineries.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank HDavidMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

I stayed in August 2010 and had a wonderful time.
The place has everything you would need and more.
The property is in a really quiet corner, close to the bustle of Carcassonne with easy access from the main roads. The gardens are extensive, attractive and a lovely place to relax. Take a wonderful, quiet walk through the adjoining vineyards of sunflower fields at dusk.
Alix and Henry (with a Y, the english way) are welcoming and helpful offering advice for trips out and places to visit, always on hand with a friendly word of cheery smile.
You can order your bread to be delivered each day, so no need to rush out each morning.
We would have returned this year but for the access to the pool by ladder steps which my husband can no longer manage.
Go stay - you will love it

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank antmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

We stayed in the Tower room - be ready for a surprise as you enter through the bathroom but it's a comfortable room.

Alix is a great resource. She knows the restaurants and towns in the area and you should ask her for help and suggestions every day of your stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Al S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechelt, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stay two nights (two rooms for three people) and fully enjoyed Alix's welcome and hospitality. It's a beautifully restored family home, quiet, welcoming, with large and confortable bedrooms. Breakfast was excellent, all local products, and we fully enjoyed the large park, peaceful setting just a few minutes from Carcassonne,

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Michel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

Stayed overnight in this beautifully decorated mansion.Madame was a delightful host and we enjoyed fine hospitality.
The breakfast was lovely with homemade jams and beautiful napery,crockery and surrounds.
The grounds are expansive and the pool looked inviting but we had insufficient time to use it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Europhile26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavanac
2.9 mi away
Chateau de Palaja
Chateau de Palaja
#1 of 1 in Palaja
5.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Domaine d'Auriac
Le Domaine d'Auriac
#8 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chateau de Cavanac
Chateau de Cavanac
#1 of 1 in Cavanac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon
1.2 mi away
Aux Anges Gardiens
Aux Anges Gardiens
#5 of 58 in Carcassonne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine de Maran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de Maran

Property: Domaine de Maran
Address: Route de Saint Hilaire, 11570 Cavanac, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Cavanac
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cavanac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 4 km from the tremendous medieval walled Cité de Carcassonne and close to a golf course, two charming B&B rooms in a stylish and quiet family mansion dating from the beginning of the XIXth century and surrounded by a two ha park with swimming-pool, rose garden, walkways… peace and quiet guaranteed.Also a nice gite (cottage) “Le Galamp” for 2 to 4 adults in the outbuildings of the Domaine de Maran ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing