We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friends had stayed previously”
Review of Chateau de Cavanac

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau de Cavanac
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cavanac
Certificate of Excellence
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Friends had stayed previously”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed at Chateau de Cavanac with friends and really loved it. We were given a great room overlooking the courtyard and much appreciated the twin basins in the large bathroom. We used the pool a number of times although the walk through the dusty car park does not show it off at it's best. The 48 euro dinner with wine was excellent although our 2nd night we did opt for just a slightly lighter option.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LillyLune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    153
    30
    14
    14
See reviews for
59
211
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Holidaying near Biarritz, we wanted to visit Carcassonne for the weekend of our wedding anniversary and chose the Chateau de Cavanac. It was everything we expected and hoped for from an authentic 17th century chateau. Our room (Benoite) was large with a fabulous bathroom and efficient air-conditioning.

It was decorated in keeping with its long history; if I'd wanted modern I'd have chosen another hotel.

Breakfast was a buffet offering lots of choice and the €45 dinner was breathtaking, 4 courses and 3 bottles of the chateau's own wine, which was excellent and a fabulous way to spend our wedding anniversary.

The swimming pool was wonderfully refreshing with plenty of loungers and room to sit in sun or shade.

We would certainly revisit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

This place was a huge disappointment, we booked it as a treat as we saw the good reviews and that it had a swimming pool. The room was big but smelt musty and the decor was outdated. When we arrived we were told the swimming pool was not open until July - apparently is says that on their website but as we booked through Expedia we didn't know. So watch out for that.
The plumbing must be pretty old too as after you use the tap or flush the water the pipes made noise for over 10 minutes afterwards - hardly relaxing. The bed was comfortable enough and it was quiet at night - but that's about all the positive things I can say.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ni-nor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
141 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We spent several nights here a few years ago and knew that we wanted to return, even if it was out of our way. We got the chance this past April and stayed two more nights. The 45euro dinner with wine included is still amazing. Portions seemed a little smaller, but still gluttonous and worth every penny. This time we opted to stay in the least expensive room, located in the old stable I think, which set a different tone than staying in the main building. It was not the exciting room we remembered. But we did look at other available rooms, more expensive, and they didn't look worth the money. Having traveled far more extensively through France, the Chateau just looks rustic. That said, dinner here is hard to beat. And although the bed appeared rustic as well, it was very comfortable.

As we were travelling for seven weeks, we had started finding our own breakfasts at local boulangeries, but we would have been better served eating at the Chateau as the location is quite remote and boulangeries are few and far between. Since we had already seen Carcassone on our previous visit, we went to St. Hilaire, home of the first sparkling wine, and from there we drove up the mountain to a local Blanquette winery. Very enjoyable day.

Sometimes its better not to repeat memorable stays, but although a little disappointed in the lodging, we are still happy with two lovely dinners.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thinktravelCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

What a fabulous room, complete with half tester bed, marvellous huge shuttered windows, and enormous bathroom? It felt more like staying in someone's super Chateau, rather than a hotel and I mean that in a good way! Amazing dinner in the restaurant which was packed with locals as well as guests always a good sign. Had a quick dip in the beautiful swimming pool but it was so cold even for a hardened swimmer like me. 10 minutes to Carcassonne airport where we were picking up family en route for Spain. Would definitely recommend it .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joannaflamingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I have no idea why this hotel is only 3 stars! Our room was big enough to hold a court ball in it, the staff were fantastic, the food was to die for, and everything about this place shouted style with a capital `S' - actually, that may be misleading and undervaluing it - what it actually has is CLASS! They just get it! Can't recommend it too highly, and only wish they would come and teach hoteliers in Oxfordshire a thing or two! Fabulous.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murcia, Spain
Level Contributor
146 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

This is the third time we have stayed at Cavanac en route for other places. The rooms all have names and are decorated in a period style. Ours overlooked the courtyard and we could use either of two entrances/exits as the hotel forms three sides of a square. We discovered that there was a full sized billiard table this time, as well as a sauna. We were here on a Sunday night and the restaurant was open. A meal for €45 per head including an aperitif, white, rosé and red wine from their own vineyard is a great experience. We cannot go past the half lobster to start with, followed by a meli-melo of fruit de mer, and are spoilt for choice with the main course which offers lamb and beef grilled on a huge open grill. We liked the white wine well enough to purchase a couple of cases on leaving. The breakfast is very good as there is a good choice of fresh juices, cereals, bread and viennoiserie. Then there's cheese, cooked meats, eggs to boil and home made jam. My only caveat is that the swimming pool was empty of water - not that the weather was great, but I hope that people who expect to swim will enquire before they arrive if it is available for them.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarB524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavanac
2.9 mi away
Chateau de Palaja
Chateau de Palaja
#1 of 1 in Palaja
428 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Domaine d'Auriac
Le Domaine d'Auriac
#6 of 39 in Carcassonne
319 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
746 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
3.2 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Cavanac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Cavanac

Property: Chateau de Cavanac
Address: Rue Etienne Guizard, 11570 Cavanac, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Cavanac
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cavanac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau de Cavanac 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The chateau has been in the family for six generations and date back to XVII century. The bedrooms individually designed by the proprietors wife, are decorated and named after flowers, incorporating the charm of the past with today’s modern comfort. Some are available with four poster beds or dramatic canopies, and all have ,air conditioning, WIFI, and en suite bathrooms,There is an outdoor swimming pool with a sunshiny terrace, a tennis court and a sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau de Cavanac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Cavanac Hotel Cavanac
Chateau De Hotel Cavanac
Cavanac Chateau De Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing