We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Unique” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maison Numero Neuf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maison Numero Neuf
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed one night in June 2013, and it was the most unique and convivial stay in our experience and we have travelled quite a lot. Dinner was a fixed meal, but they asked us what we liked when booking, and it was arranged like a family meal so we met and chatted with fellow travellers. Our hosts were very attentive to our needs. Downside was that we had to pay in cash! Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J R J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    10
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
25
43
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is the most perfect B&B I've ever stayed in. In fact, I'd cheerfully move in and spend my dotage here! The interiors are gorgeous, helped by the generous room sizes and large windows of this lovely house, and I felt as though I had just walked into an edition of Country Living magazine - a vintage piece or vase of flowers in every corner! Duncan and Lisa are charming, attentive hosts and Lisa's cooking is to die for. We will definitely be back and I would thoroughly recommend MNN to anyone who wants to be thoroughly pampered but still walk away with their wallet intact.

Room Tip: We stayed in the top floor suite - perfect family accommodation with a claw-footed bath in the bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PenVeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My daughter and I ,and our labrador, visited Maison Numero Neuf twice in a two week period . Each time we were given a warm welcome ,a delicious meal and linen covered hot water bottles!.
This Band B can not be faulted in our opinion. It is everything you could want whether you are staying in the area or using it as a stopping post when travelling rom one part of france to another. It is a beautifully decorated home that would hold its own against 5 star designer hotels !!There were fresh flowers everywhere and every reception room had an open fire including the dining room at breakfast. The attention to detail is fantastic and I will be recommending it to all our friends. We look forward to our next visit

Room Tip: All lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blundells_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Our visit was more like staying with friends than in a Bed & Breakfast.

The property has been extremely well renovated and is very comfortable.

Extremely attentive hosts and nothing is too much trouble, including afternoon tea for weary explorers and hot water bottles to take the chill of your bed.

Duncan's knowledge of the area and French customs means that his guests maximise the benefits of their stay.

Lisa's cooking means that Maison numero neuf is frankly the best cuisine in La Souterraine.

We will recommend this establishment to friends and family and will return there ourselves.

Room Tip: Choose room to suit your requirements they are all superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldAgeGroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Make sure to have MEAL there. Lisa is an amazing chef and the only other restaurant in town is OK but has a not -so -friendly owner. BUT Maison Numero Neuf are so hospitable and helpful with absolutely delicious meals and breakfast. The rooms are beautifully decorated with lovely touches. Can't wait to get back to stay with my husband in the double room guest room which looks luscious and cosy. Jeanette O'D

Room Tip: If with your partner ask for the double room with ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgie992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Everything positve you read about this B/B is true. It is wondeful as the home cooked meals and lovely breakfasts are a real treat from this great family. Duncan and Lisa,Hattie,Tom and Daisy we loved your place Especially the log fire in the dining room. Lisa the fresh flowers in the bedroom when we returned from dinner were fab. This is a treat to behold.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mafeTipperaryIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This is a wonderfully situated stopover for travelling through France. We had the best of welcomes and a perfectly balanced dinner.
The highlight was the quality of the rooms and bedlinen. We had wonderful linen sheets, and our hostess had a stock of them which were able to buy.
A memorable stay.

Room Tip: Picardie is the one we had, and although the road seemed to be noisy, there was no traffic at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Souterraine
5.3 mi away
Domaine de Vareilles
Domaine de Vareilles
#1 of 1 in Vareilles
4.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
3.6 mi away
Chateau de la Cazine
6.2 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Nougier
Hotel-Restaurant Nougier
#1 of 1 in Saint-Etienne-de-Fursac
4.0 of 5 stars 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Maison Voliere
Maison Voliere
#1 of 6 in La Souterraine
5.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
3.1 mi away
Chateau Lezat
Chateau Lezat
#2 of 6 in La Souterraine
5.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Alexia
Hotel Restaurant Alexia
#5 of 6 in La Souterraine
3.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Numero Neuf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Numero Neuf

Property: Maison Numero Neuf
Address: Rue Serpente, 23300 La Souterraine, France
Location: France > Limousin > Creuse > La Souterraine
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in La Souterraine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maison Numero Neuf has been returned to its former elegance, with luxurious en-suite bedrooms furnished with French antiques. Situated at the gateway of the Limousin - the French Lake District - ideal for many leisure activities or simply relaxing. Sumptuous breakfasts and delicious evening meals, prepared using fresh local produce, are served in the wood-paneled dining room or on the terrace. Our warm welcome and thoughtful service will ensure a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Maison Numero Neuf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing