We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magnifique! This is an amazing french cottage...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Le Potager

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Descartes, Indre-et-Loire, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Extraordi...
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Magnifique! This is an amazing french cottage with everything.”
Reviewed November 5, 2018 for a stay in September 2018

We loved our stay at La Belardiere; Kath and Roger (along with Polly and Denis) were there to meet us at the front gate with a very warm welcome. We stayed at Le Potager and it was absolutely full of charm, even better than the photos on line. We could not stop running from room to room admiring the decor. The grounds were also fabulous, we picked figs and plums from the trees and vegis from the potager garden at our back door, so fresh and delicious. The pool was pristine and in a great location overlooking the orchard, it was most welcoming after returning from our days travel.
The location was ideal, it is surrounded by green fields and typical french country roads with picturesque villages and charming stone farm house dotted here and there. Each day we visited either a chateau or museum or garden, on the way we often came across a little village where we just had to stop and explore and indulge in local delicacies and wine (to take home of course!). Oh, and then there are the markets of course, Kath and Roger advised us where and when they were on, we loved the Sunday Descates market, it had a great atmosphere, but there were many others.
We could go on and on about the many attractions in the surrounding area but really it was about us feeling so comfortable and relaxed from the moment we arrived until we left; the warmth of the hosts and the idyllic setting made it the perfect place for stress free holiday.
Polly the sock thief and Denis the cheeky cat visited us often and also contributed to the homely feel of La Belardiere. Denis wanted to come to Greece with us when we left, however fortunately he was discovered in our car in a timely manner and we returned him to Kath and Roger who would have missed him.
Once again we would like to express many thanks to Kath and Rodger for providing the perfect friendly environment for such a relaxing holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed August 31, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sgandsgan...
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Loved Polly!”
Reviewed August 11, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We found everything we needed in this beautiful gitewhich is lavishly filled with quality items .Thank you Kath for our welcome hamper which was very thoughtful as you included some gluten free products..The interaction with the owners was very helpful before the trip , giving advice on a supermarket that would cater for our needs and we felt that Kath was very helpful in suggesting trips during our stay as there is so much to see in the area. But despite all of the happy memories we have the best is of our perfect host...Polly the dog who wanted to come home with us.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZBJBMB
Sevenoaks District, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heavenly”
Reviewed November 24, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Le Potager's setting is beautiful and the cottage is full of charm, as you would expect in many a French building. What makes this wonderful is the way Kath and Roger have retained all of the charm whilst beautifully renovating the accommodation. The finish is superb in every room, and this is a truly comfortable place to unwind.
Every possible detail has been thought of - each time we opened a drawer in the kitchen thinking, might there be... bottle stops? or something else similarly obscure, we were happily surprised to find that there was. Clearly someone thoughtful and intelligent (Kath!) took a moment to think, okay - what would I like to find in the kitchens / bathrooms / utility cupboard etc.? and she made sure it was there. Same deal for the linens and bedding, all of which were lovely quality and most comfortable.
As many others have said, the animals on site were a huge boon with our two year old who LOVED Le Potager, and is still talking about it, a couple of months later. Ingenious Roger kindly fashioned some baby gating giving our toddler a safe area in the living room where we could see her from the kitchen but get on making yummy food, knowing she was playing safely on a flat area. She also learned to swim in the gorgeous pool, and thoroughly enjoyed charging about the enclosed, safe and pretty gardens when we weren't visiting the animals, which never got old.
We don't have a bad thing to say about Le Potager, and must have missed tonnes of good stuff but will finish with a couple more highlights:
* The view from the outside eating area as sun went down each night.
* How warm, charming and spacious Kath and Roger were, which was especially impressive given the level of detail and care they've put into their cottages.
* The generous size of all the rooms.
* How nice it was to find something disabled friendly which did not look altered / ugly in the least - quite the reverse.
* Having covered parking.
* Fabulous sculptures and planting in the gardens.
* An easy drive from Calais on great roads.
We had a really lovely, truly relaxing time and will be sure to visit Le Potager again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor M
1 review
“A Slice of Paradise”
Reviewed August 11, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Having travelled and stayed in France over many years La Beladiere is the pick of the bunch! Fantastic location, superb accommodation and attention to detail are just a few of the superlatives that can be afforded. Kath & Roger are wonderful hosts with a genuine willingness to help with your stay and travel plans. Numerous chateau's within east reach. Great medieval towns and villages abound. Polly (the dog) Stumpy/Beryl/Black & Decker (the chickens) Denis (the cat) Mondice (the goat) we miss you all!!
Thank you for a wonderful stay!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marilyn B
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed June 16, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Wonderful family holiday for 15 so using all accommodation . Everything was perfect. We all loved the swimming pool especially the children. The whole place is so safe for them. Kath and Roger could not do enough for us, from arranging a birthday meal to be cooked. By a local,chef, a birthday cake, bike rides, canoe trips, sheep shearing and so much more. They really went beyond the call of duty to ensure that our trip was special in every way .
We cannot recommend this place highly enough and have booked a return trip. There is lots to see and do in the local area and beyond, yet it is peaceful and relaxing.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
663matthe...
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful return”
Reviewed September 4, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Le Potager for a week last year and within 2 days we'd already decided to go back so here's my second review.
We stayed for 2 weeks this time and once again had a wonderful time. The gite is first class, 3 excellent en-suite bedrooms, plus all the facilities you'd want, but it's the larger extensive property which really adds to it, the converted farm of La Beladiere, the owners, Roger and Kath have created a beautiful idyllic retreat to get away from it all in the rustic rural French countryside. There are plenty of places to relax and unwind, whether in the private garden, in the field at the back, in the orchard in the front, by the pool...it's so very peaceful. There is lots to do as well, my daughters are 17, 11 and 4, and they all had a great time, obviously the pool was very popular, but also the table tennis and badminton was utilised, as well the numerous mountain bikes, provided free of charge to use, cycling down to the local river. We were also lucky to be able to eat produce from the vegetable garden at the back, fresh tomatoes and cucumbers - plus freshly laid eggs from the chickens, my 4 year old daughter was very excited to be handed a warm freshly laid egg to have for lunch! it's very well located for the sites of the Loire Valley and we enjoyed visits to Chinon, Amboise, Tours plus the Futuroscope theme park (we went on a quiet day which was great!). We would thoroughly recommend staying here, you will not be disappointed, Kath and Roger are absolutely superb hosts - they are so helpful and clearly enjoy having people stay in their home and helping them fall in love with it as they have, I'm sure we'll be back at some point, it'd be sad to think we won't.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beauty and tranquility of the location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing