We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely AMAZING!!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of La Belardiere

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
8 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Descartes, Indre-et-Loire, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Katiemelb...
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Absolutely AMAZING!!”
Reviewed August 9, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We traveled with 2 other families (6 adults and 8 children) and stayed for 5 nights. From the moment we arrived, Kath and Roger made us feel welcome. Even before we arrived they were extremely helpful in providing directions and offering any assistance.
La Belardiere was just sensational and perfect for us, from the accommodation to the facilities. The converted houses were exceptional - extremely clean, comfortable and had everything we needed. A real plus was that all the rooms had separate bathrooms. The pool area was beautiful and the pool and the grounds were kept clean and tidy every day. The kids (and adults) had a wonderful time playing volleyball, table tennis, croquet and much more. Kath and Roger were extremely helpful, especially with booking restaurants and advising us honestly about where to go and where not to. Although they also stayed on the property that was also wonderful and not a problem at all (actually wouldn't know they were there). We felt we got to know them for the short time we were there. We wished we could have stayed longer. If you want to relax in a beautiful part of the Loire where you can really experience France then I highly recommend La Belardiere!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outdoor space and facilities
Liked least: Absolutely nothing
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great family holiday with three generations”
Reviewed July 30, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

La Belardiere is an incredible location. The gites are beautifully finished, with every last detail thought of and the grounds are incredibly well maintained.
We found it perfect for our five month old, the cot was comfortable with a good mattress, the rooms were easily cooled, in the day time there was plenty of shade for her in all areas of the grounds and the chickens provided great amusement.

Kath and Rog have in depth knowledge of the area and we enjoyed several bike rides, runs and river swims. I am coeliac and it was very easy to eat gluten free both from the supermarket and in local restaurants.

There is comfortable seating for 10 indoors and out and plenty of crockery pots and pans making cooking and eating so easy. The showers are all brilliant, bathrooms immaculately clean, plenty of hot water.

The pool was warm enough for our 5 month old, and is lockable in case of mobile non-swimmers. There are several road bikes and mountain bikes available for use. We enjoyed a table football tournament, table tennis games and an abundance of inflatables in the pool for all ages. There are so many places to sit and relax, you can sit in the sun by the pool, in several shady hammocks and even relax on a swing.

Would highly recommend for all ages, we'd be back next year if you weren't booked up.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael O
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed July 21, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for two weeks in Le Verger in July and had a truly excellent holiday. The house was exceptional, a vast beautifully appointed restored barn, with huge rooms. The kitchen diner was large with everything we needed, especially the hardworking dishwasher. We ate mostly on the deck under the canopy, chickens pecking in the grass nearby, heavenly! We must also mention that the beds were so comfortable, with crisp and pristine linens and towels from John Lewis.

The swimming pool was wonderful, big and clean, Kath checked the chlorine levels every day and adjusted accordingly and I can verify that the water was kind to sensitive skin - well done Kath!
The location was ideal, just minutes away from two towns, Dange St Romain and Descartes, and we could reach all the places we wanted to visit within 10-60 minutes, markets in Loches and Chatellerault, chateaux in La Guerche and Amboise, shopping in Tours and Saumur (which also has the wonderful tank museum some of us loved so much!), wonderful cafes and restaurants everywhere we went. Thanks to Roger and Kath for their advice and tips on every aspect of our visit. The children were never bored with swimming, table tennis, croquet, badminton, bikes supplied by Roger, as well as observing goldfish, chickens, sheep and goats on site. What a fantastic holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fantastic space, the pool, the comfortable beds. Kath and Roger were great as well.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
357henry
County Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Gite”
Reviewed July 18, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed here for 2 weeks in July with our 3 kids aged between 5 and 10. Kath and Roger are the friendly retired couple who run the gite and they have the farm houses looking beautiful. We stayed in gites previously (including in the Loire) and certainly the gite is what you expect from reading the other reviews - really pretty, clean and spacious. Previously we stayed in a gite near Saumur and we did find this year that this one was a bit of an extra trek to the visit the various chatueax etc. In addition, if you are a foodie there is simply not a great choice locally for families. There certainly are a few local restaurants but the quality and variety in those restaurants is an issue unless you want a long drive. That said I may return with my mother in the future for a weekend as it is a really quiet and peaceful location - probably more suited to elderly couples than families with children - unless the Mum/Dad enjoys cooking on hols! The kids really enjoyed the first week but the terrible 'bored' word came out too often on the second week and the long car journey to tourist sites was a chore for them. Pool is lovely as is hammock and badminton/football on lawn. There is a great choice of bikes for all ages. Weather was mixed as it can be in Loire.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 21, 2016
Dear Ann
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We are really pleased to hear that you found the gite clean, pretty and spacious. We were sorry to hear that come the second week the children couldn't find enough to do. We designed La Belardiere with large family groups in mind and we work hard to provide a safe rural retreat for families with a wide range of facilities and activities for different ages and tastes.
Great to hear that the children enjoyed badminton and football, along with the pool and the bikes. We also have table tennis, table football, croquet, boules, garden chess, lawn darts and swing ball available, as well as inflatables for the pool. There is also a wide selection of family friendly attractions and activities within easy reach, as described on our website, newsletters and in the visitor guide.
On the whole, families staying with us take advantage of the barbecue facilities and outdoor eating spaces for their evening meals, typically eating out once or twice during their stay. Following your feedback, we shall be providing menus and more detailed restaurant reviews to ensure guests are fully aware of the selection of family friendly restaurants available. Thank you again for your feeback.
Kath and Roger.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Love it here, perfect everything...”
Reviewed June 16, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is the fourth visit in four years which should tell you all you need to know. A lovely, peaceful, home from home in beautiful rural France with every mod con necessary and lots more too. Great for couples and groups, plenty to do locally if you want that. And then the sun shines and the pleasure is doubled.

As someone once said, book early!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hospitality
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewArchai...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent place, excellent price, excellent owners!”
Reviewed August 9, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The property is beautiful. The décor is tasteful and everything finished to a high standard. It was clean, comfortable and a joy to stay in. We went as a family group of six adults and four children and fitted easily. The garden is stunning, there are fruit trees dripping with ripe plums, apples and grapes. Friendly chickens roam freely and Boodie the dog will visit if you want her to. There is a swimming pool, table tennis, table football, boules, badminton and croquet all to hand. Roger and Cath are friendly and helpful without being intrusive and seem genuinely keen to ensure you have the best possible time. I could carry on and on, mentioning the boating on the river, troglodyte caves, glorious scenery, wonderful food.....a truly wonderful experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: The summer flies!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen J
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Returned for a second year. Love La Belardiere!”
Reviewed August 6, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here for a fortnight in July 2014 and re-booked for 2015 after only a few days of being there. Kath and Roger are fabulous people who are on hand to help and offer advice without being intrusive. Th gites are finished to a high standard and well thought out, particularly for those with young families. The large walled garden, decked seating area for meals, fenced off pool means that you can allow even very young children to wander around free of danger meaning the grown-ups can relax! Kath and Roger have a large selection of bikes (and child seat) for all ages that are free to use. A very rural setting, but only about 5k from Descartes with all the amenities you'll need. Fabulous place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Gites, comfortable beds, sun, pool, bikes, I could go on...
Liked least: Flies, but you get used to them being around.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing