We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Le Potager was everything we hoped for and more.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of La Belardiere

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
8 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Descartes, Indre-et-Loire, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Leonora21...
Taree
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Le Potager was everything we hoped for and more.”
Reviewed May 19, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

My husband and I, together with friends from Brisbane, spent three nights in Le Potager, La-Belardiere in April. We spent a month travelling through France and La-Belardiere was an absolute stand-out in every regard. The accommodations here have been finished to a very high standard and Le Potager is simply beautiful. We had everything we could possibly need, including a very much appreciated welcome basket, the beds were super comfy, the herb garden a real treat when preparing meals in the very well appointed kitchen and the free bike hire an added bonus.

The owners, Kath and Roger, are a delightful, easy-going, friendly couple who went out of their way to make our stay as enjoyable as possible, sharing their knowledge of the area, pointing us in the right direction to local attractions, shops, restaurants, walking tracks etc; while Roger delighted Bob and Garry by inviting them into his "shed" to share some secret "men's business". We shared a few glasses of wine and some wonderful conversation and found, when it was time to leave, that our time at La-Belardiere had been way too short.

We highly recommend La Belardiere to couples, families and/or groups looking to spend a delightful holiday in beautiful accommodation in a truly gorgeous area of France.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful accommodation, the locality and the company of the hosts
Liked least: There was absolutely nothing to dislike except that our time there was too short
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simjm
Florence, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“perfect”
Reviewed May 18, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Everything was exactly as represented The owners are extremely helpful and anxious for their guests to enjoy the stay. They have done an amazing job of converting a limestone barn into beautiful, spotlessly clean apartments, while retaining the historical character of the property. Views from the property are beautiful and the large fenced- in yard are perfect for children. We had 9 adults and a 2-year old in our party and could have accommodated more quite comfortably. Hope to be able to come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, perfect condition
Liked least: no complaints
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet H
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful and relaxing place to stay”
Reviewed November 12, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

In August 2012 we spent a wonderful week at La Belardiere with our children and grandchildren.(6,4 and 2 yrs..It is a perfect place for all ages. We all loved the swimming pool and surrounding area, where there is plenty of space to sunbathe and play badminton or boules. It is all very safe for young children. Our grandchildren loved the animals...Boudie, a lovable airedale, a kitten,sheep, hens and goats.
We stayed in the larger gite, Le Verger, which is amazing. Both gites are superb and are tastefully furnished,with everything you could possibly need for a great holiday.
Kath and Roger are happy to tell you all you need to know about the surrounding area and the many places to visit.
Our holiday was both relaxing and interesting. So, we look forward to going again, but next time for two weeks instead of one

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A superb gite in lovely surroundings
Liked least: Liked everything
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful, Immaculate Comfort”
Reviewed October 24, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Le Verger gite with a large group of friends in for a wedding. The gite was beautiful and spotlessly clean. Our room was lovely and the bed was very comfortable. Kath and Roger were warm, friendly, and on top of things even before we could ask.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Anne...
Darlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a beautiful gite in peaceful countryside, friendly owners, lots of activities”
Reviewed September 12, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in the smaller gite (Le Potager) for the first week and the larger gite (Le Verger) for the second week. The gites are immaculate - great facilities, very clean, a well-stocked welcome basket and chilled wine in the fridge to greet you on your arrival. The owners/hosts, Kath and Roger, are incredibly friendly and will do everything they can to make sure that you enjoy your stay. The location is very quiet and peaceful, but there are plenty of activities - swimming in the pool or in the nearby river, cycling, walking, canoing, visiting the nearby markets, villages and chateaux, or just sitting in the sun and relaxing. The age range in the gites during our stay was group was 2 to 70 and all were happy. I would heartily recommend a holiday at La Belardiere.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peacefulness, friendly owners, plenty to do
Liked least: nothing.
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula A
New Forest National Park Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous, can't wait to return”
Reviewed September 2, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We had a fabulous time at La Belardiere; there were eight of us in total including my three young children (6,4 and 2); the abundance of space both inside and out meant they had a lot of freedom in a really safe environment. Kath and Roger were complete naturals at being fantastic hosts and it was a pleasure to talk to them over the week. The gite was beautifully converted and the view from the decking only beaten by the view from the top of the field at the back - sheep, goats, wildflower meadows and fields of sunflowers. The children loved the different outside spaces - hammocks, swimming pool, orchard and being nosy out in the courtyard to see what Roger was up to. His patience with the children was much appreciated. Their joy at discovering a dog and kitten were an added bonus. We only did very limited trips out to the markets and river beaches, to be honest La Belardiere was so lovely it seemed a shame to leave it even for a morning. Thank you Kath and Roger, we will see you again but we'll be staying longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The luxurious space due to tranquillity and gorgeous gite
Liked least: The first two seconds in the pool! After that, lovely!
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike H
Dorset,UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Little Slice of Heaven....”
Reviewed August 12, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Of all the self catering accommodation that I have booked for my family over the last 20 years I have to say that La Belardiere was the best of the lot. From the original booking to the stay itself everything was what we would expect and more. The accommodation was magnificent having recently been refurbished, all home comforts were on hand, a real home from home. The location as well was great as everything was close by and easy to find when travelling from the UK. The two Gite's are nestled in a magnificent part of the Loire valley with a pool, gardens, a woodland and above all peace and quiet.

Kath and Roger made us extremely welcome and provided great insight and knowledge of the local area as well as acting as translators on occasion.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The accommodation and locale.
Liked least: Having to leave at the end!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing