We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience for me!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau du Breuil

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chateau du Breuil
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cheverny
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
“Great experience for me!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Great experience for me! – few days spent at Chateau du Breuil (in Le Verger du Chateaux) relaxed me so much. The place enchanting and discreet – just as I imagined, embedded in a quiet park, castle itself surrounded by an aura of the past – pictures taken at night scenario were awesome. Swimming pool was an additional nice surprise in such a place.
Warm hearted and friendly owner who welcomed us, convenient, nicely decorated rooms, discreet service and most of all – the delicious and “eye catching” food. Chapeau bas!
Merci beaucoup.
p.s.
I would gladly return to this place to cherish this feeling again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beata F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    241
    126
    82
    50
See reviews for
127
493
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Menlo Park, California, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here w our family of 5 as part of a Backroads trip for two nights. The place is just special with great charm and a feeling of being in another time, very relaxing. We stayed in the more modern rooms behind he main bldg. we did not mind the walk as rooms were great and spacious. Meals were great the two nights we stayed and the lawn behind the outside terrace was huge n kids loved playing there every night after dinner. The fact that Backroads chooses this place says a lot, as they can choose to stay anywhere. The cycling from here is awesome and many many castles nearby. I will come back for sure.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Beautiful chateau, lovely restaurant with nice food. Rooms were very well appointed and clean. Some parts of the building looking a little worn but added to the charm :) Pool was nice and clean, duck pond not so much! We left feeling we'd sampled a little of the history by staying here. Also great location for visiting Chateau Chambord and others.

Room Tip: We loved being in the castle rather than the cottages further down the track
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in mid July and being city people this chateau in the French countryside was a real treat. It is surrounded by woodlands and fields and is in easy driving distance to the many chateaus in the area. We were blessed with warm weather and took advantage of a lovely swim in the decent sized pool. We were located in the original building and our room was charming and spacious. The dinners at the restaurant were very good but I did miss not having scrambled eggs and bacon on offer for breakfast. Our only complaint was that it was warm and there was no air-conditioning - opening the windows brought in the mosquitoes. We also found the shower nozzle a 'challenge'. Otherwise, we would highly recommend this accommodation to our friends and work colleagues.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bronte_b491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

The main building and chapel are lovely (as is the drive in through the woods). Be aware that if there are a lot of guests, most will end up in the overflow buildings a walk away from the chateau itself -- so if you want to stay in the chateau, specify. Our room was in an overflow building and was a pretty but average hotel room. The view was of a field (not picturesque, not ugly, just a field.) The bed was actually two twin beds. The shower confused many people -- one person in our group could not figure out how to turn it off and had to have the hotel staff come into the room to do it for her! Speaking of the bathroom, we were not happy to find that our used, damp towels had not been changed -- apparently they wanted you to leave towels to be changed on the floor of the shower/tub (which we did not understand). Since we'd left them over the shower door (because leaving damp towels on a wet floor seemed like a recipe for mold and mildew), they assumed we didn't want them changed. It was a little less than luxurious to come back to our hotel room and see our clump of dirty towels still there.

We ate two breakfasts there -- basic French carb-laden breakfast. We ate one dinner there. The included glass of wine consisted of 1" of wine in a large glass. The appetizer was a chilled small glass with ice in the bottom and onions and beans on the top of the ice. The main course was a quail, which was nice, but small. The dessert was a berry mix with a spicy jus that was not favored by most in our group. It took so long for coffee to be served that most people gave up and left. Several people commented that they were still hungry after the meal had been eaten (and no, none of us are "big" eaters). The problem was that since we were so far from town and it was now late, it was not possible to get into town to buy more food.

An important and critical factor when considering the hotel is its isolation. You must have a car/bike to go anywhere or see anything as the hotel is outside of town and down a long, wooded road. You need to decide if you like that sort of isolation.

Room Tip: Specify a room in the original chateau if that is your wish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Millie6119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the sea ranch
Level Contributor
127 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Beautiful location for a chateau. The old original hotel plus chapel are surrounded by lawns and woods. A newer building is there to accomodate overflow guests. The pool is big was not ready for us in May.....a little too cool. It was nice to sit on the large terrace and enjoy aparatifs. The dining room, food, and service was fantastic. Our group, 2 mini-busses of 7 people were easily accomodated.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the original hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welland
Level Contributor
313 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Rooms are lovely, and a quiet country location is a treat (as long as helicopters aren't landing outside your room in the annex - ruined a delicious little nap). The rooms are very clean. The air conditioner didn't work ( front desk response -"Open the window"). The annex is a long way from the main chateau, and it's difficult enough to haul luggage without having to put up with rude drivers - both guests and staff will claim the driveway right-of-way over some poor sucker hauling rolling luggage. If you stay here, know that there is nothing else nearby. You will have to eat at the Chateau, with a menu that seems to be overpriced and uninspiring.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Professor04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheverny
2.2 mi away
Relais des Trois Chateaux Hotel
Relais des Trois Chateaux Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cour-Cheverny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
19.6 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
3.1 mi away
Chateau de La Rozelle
Chateau de La Rozelle
#1 of 1 in Cellettes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
#1 of 5 in Chenonceaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
21.7 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
21.2 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#3 of 25 in Amboise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau du Breuil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau du Breuil

Property: Chateau du Breuil
Address: 23 route de Fougeres, 41700 Cheverny, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Cheverny
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cheverny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau du Breuil 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Chateau du Breuil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Du Breuil Cheverny
Chateau Du Breuil Hotel Cheverny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing