We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country Retreat”
Review of Chateau du Breuil

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau du Breuil
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cheverny
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Country Retreat”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in mid July and being city people this chateau in the French countryside was a real treat. It is surrounded by woodlands and fields and is in easy driving distance to the many chateaus in the area. We were blessed with warm weather and took advantage of a lovely swim in the decent sized pool. We were located in the original building and our room was charming and spacious. The dinners at the restaurant were very good but I did miss not having scrambled eggs and bacon on offer for breakfast. Our only complaint was that it was warm and there was no air-conditioning - opening the windows brought in the mosquitoes. We also found the shower nozzle a 'challenge'. Otherwise, we would highly recommend this accommodation to our friends and work colleagues.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bronte_b491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    255
    137
    86
    56
See reviews for
141
525
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The main building and chapel are lovely (as is the drive in through the woods). Be aware that if there are a lot of guests, most will end up in the overflow buildings a walk away from the chateau itself -- so if you want to stay in the chateau, specify. Our room was in an overflow building and was a pretty but average hotel room. The view was of a field (not picturesque, not ugly, just a field.) The bed was actually two twin beds. The shower confused many people -- one person in our group could not figure out how to turn it off and had to have the hotel staff come into the room to do it for her! Speaking of the bathroom, we were not happy to find that our used, damp towels had not been changed -- apparently they wanted you to leave towels to be changed on the floor of the shower/tub (which we did not understand). Since we'd left them over the shower door (because leaving damp towels on a wet floor seemed like a recipe for mold and mildew), they assumed we didn't want them changed. It was a little less than luxurious to come back to our hotel room and see our clump of dirty towels still there.

We ate two breakfasts there -- basic French carb-laden breakfast. We ate one dinner there. The included glass of wine consisted of 1" of wine in a large glass. The appetizer was a chilled small glass with ice in the bottom and onions and beans on the top of the ice. The main course was a quail, which was nice, but small. The dessert was a berry mix with a spicy jus that was not favored by most in our group. It took so long for coffee to be served that most people gave up and left. Several people commented that they were still hungry after the meal had been eaten (and no, none of us are "big" eaters). The problem was that since we were so far from town and it was now late, it was not possible to get into town to buy more food.

An important and critical factor when considering the hotel is its isolation. You must have a car/bike to go anywhere or see anything as the hotel is outside of town and down a long, wooded road. You need to decide if you like that sort of isolation.

Room Tip: Specify a room in the original chateau if that is your wish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Millie6119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the sea ranch
Level Contributor
126 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Beautiful location for a chateau. The old original hotel plus chapel are surrounded by lawns and woods. A newer building is there to accomodate overflow guests. The pool is big was not ready for us in May.....a little too cool. It was nice to sit on the large terrace and enjoy aparatifs. The dining room, food, and service was fantastic. Our group, 2 mini-busses of 7 people were easily accomodated.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the original hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welland
Level Contributor
328 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Rooms are lovely, and a quiet country location is a treat (as long as helicopters aren't landing outside your room in the annex - ruined a delicious little nap). The rooms are very clean. The air conditioner didn't work ( front desk response -"Open the window"). The annex is a long way from the main chateau, and it's difficult enough to haul luggage without having to put up with rude drivers - both guests and staff will claim the driveway right-of-way over some poor sucker hauling rolling luggage. If you stay here, know that there is nothing else nearby. You will have to eat at the Chateau, with a menu that seems to be overpriced and uninspiring.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Professor04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The food and dinner service have certainly improved compared to remarks made one year ago. Waiters mixed up on a couple of orders but that could be our fault for not communicating smartly. We shared the entrees so it was no big deal. Wine pairing with dinner was good and the food was fine and enjoyable after a 30 mile bike.

Our room for three was on the third floor. As there is no elevator you either schlep your own bags or pay 3 euros for porter delivery. The rooms were comfortable. Wifi was spotty in our room but accessable from the lobby. The grounds are pretty with lawns and surrounding arbors and forest.

The owner greets all but speaks French without nuance to langauge ability. One must not be shy about requesting spoken English if you need to communicate.

Great location for visiting and biking to Chambord, Cheverny, and surrounding villages.

By bike, Cheverny is 10 minutes away. The Chateau is worth the visit. Stop at the small creperie across the main road from the side entrance for lunch.

Room Tip: Take a room on the first floor if you have physical disabilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TLMSLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My friends and I stayed in Chateau du Breuil during a part of our horse-riding trip. The only minus was that May 2013 was cold and it was raining. We were really impressed by the welcoming attitude that started at midnight when the owner met us to help with everything, and the staff who are very helpful and friendly. And we really admired the chef and our waiter who spoiled us with delicious food and excellent service.
This is not a 5-star hotel with standardized procedures and services and this is not a hotel in a city. But it is an extremely nice place if you want to enjoy France and you are open for this.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oksana Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
65 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Ideally located not far from Cheverny, Chambord & Blois, this castle was a nice place to spend 2 nights. We were kindly offered an upgrade by the receptionnist because the hotel was not full. So we stayed in a deluxe in the château. The room was quiet, simple, not si big. The wood all around gives a cosy feeling. We had dinner in the château one of the evening, which proved to be a good idea (good quality, créative cuisine). The breakfast was a bit poor on choice. I would return to that hotel nonetheless !

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J_from_Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheverny
2.4 mi away
Relais des Trois Chateaux Hotel
Relais des Trois Chateaux Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cour-Cheverny
401 reviews
3.5 mi away
Chateau de La Rozelle
Chateau de La Rozelle
#1 of 1 in Cellettes
146 reviews
19.9 mi away
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
#1 of 5 in Chenonceaux
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
556 reviews
17.0 mi away
Chateau de Chissay
Chateau de Chissay
#1 of 2 in Chissay-en-Touraine
334 reviews
13.7 mi away
Domaine des Hauts de Loire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau du Breuil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau du Breuil

Property: Chateau du Breuil
Address: 23 route de Fougeres, 41700 Cheverny, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Cheverny
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cheverny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau du Breuil 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau du Breuil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Du Breuil Cheverny
Chateau Du Breuil Hotel Cheverny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing