We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots to like but....”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Chateau Les Roches

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chateau Les Roches
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lots to like but....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Les Roches is a great place. Macro and Tobias were really helpful and friendly. Amazing food. Amazing location. But there are problems.....the room we had was on the first floor and seemed to be above the kitchens and so there were smells fom cooking or gas throughout the night....we had head aches on the last day. Marco tried to help but to no avail. Also.....noise is a HUGE problem....the room we were in at the back on the first floor was right next to the guests small kitchenette.....and literally every conversation is audible. But also the doors are really thin so much noise from the landing too. In short we slept really badly.
But the staff are wonderful and so accommodating. Dietary restrictions are not a problem...there IS vegetarian food and Marco helped with my wife's gluten restriction. Thanks.
Move the kitchen, kitchenette and do some basic sound proofing and this place would be 5 star IMHO!
Andy

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dzika1923, Owner at Chateau Les Roches, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
We have just connected the kitchen extractors fans (May 2014) to the outside via a tube through the chimney as we suspected that some of the kitchen odours were not properly evacuating through the chimney (without a tube directing the air to the outside).

We are continuously trying to improve our guest experiences :-)

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    38
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
29
124
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed at Les Roches for one night of luxury. Having drone extensive research for a special night in the French countryside we settled on Les Roches and weren't disappointed. We were treated like royalty from the minute we arrived.

We got one of the cheaper rooms at the back of the hotel but being on the top floor was a bonus. I'm not sure we would've liked one of the rooms below us as the floor boards creaked every time we walked around.

The room itself was spacious, the bathroom while not particularly luxurious was everything we needed.

We had dinner at the hotel and it was one of the best meals we've had for years. Absolutely too class. Breakfast was also excellent. The orange juice was amazing!

Overall I would definitely recommend this chateau. The village is quaint and absolutely delightful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shazzbrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Perfect place to base your holiday in Burgundy. The little town of Mont-Saint-Jean is quaint and quiet, 40 mins drive from the Grand Cru vineyards and their towns but also close to Morvan National park, great for picnicking on the saucisson, cheeses, baguette and wine you've purchased from the numerous markets and shops scattered around the various nearby towns like Saulieu. The Birdseye View room is bright and airy with a huge semi-circular window overlooking nothing but green landscape. Waking up naturally to the sound of farm animals will put a smile on your face.
Owners, staff, the service, the catering, the chateau pets etc were all part of this wonderful experience. Thank you!

Room Tip: If you want to wake up to an amazing view of the countryside take the Birdseye View room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zhirayr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in this lovely chateau,on the way down to Samoens and on the way back,in a different room each night. Both rooms had beautiful views, were very clean and comfortable. We had dinner on both occasions which were excellent. The young staff were very knowledgable and attentive. The breakfast was very good and plentiful.Both hosts were very welcoming and we are very much looking forward to returning in September.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank johnT1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,125 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

From my first enquiry via email I cannot fault the attention to detail of the owners. The information they give is very comprehensive about the hotel and the area. This really is in the middle of nowhere but keep on the road through Mont St Jean and you will come across the château on your right (which you can see as you come down into the village) from Sausse. We were greeted by a friendly Japanese intern from a hotel school in Switzerland and the two delightful owners, Tobias and Marco the latter is the excellent chef). We had a tour of the château en route to our delightful room on the first floor-with balcony overlooking the intriguing sloping garden at the back of the château.
Dinner was served on the delightful terrace and the suggested €32 menu was a delight. We started with snails in their shells dripping in garlic butter then had local trout and Boeuf Bourguignon followed by the most amazing local cheeses selected by the owners, including a new soft cheese from Dijon. Desserts of fondant au chocolat and a sorbet were absolutely delicious. Finally, the wine list was local and reasonably priced.
The bed was so comfortable and our little balcony overlooking the back sloping garden was perfect. Due to the morning rain a buffet breakfast was served in the pretty dining room- fresh croissants and pains au chocolat with fresh coffee in a silver pot adding to the feeling of luxury. I'd thoroughly recommend a stay in this lovely château.

Room Tip: All rooms great- our secret room at the back had a little private balcony overlooking the secluded g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed two nights and were impressed by the effort Marcos and Tobias have made to make this a charming retreat. Our rooms were very comfortable and the staff wonderfully accommodating to our every request. Mont Saint Michel is a tiny, remote village so you have all of the peace and quiet of the countryside as well as some lovely views. This may not be the place for city folks however. Although we loved the chirping and, in one case screeching, of the birds in the morning, it felt like we were in the tropical rain forest not France! Dinner was unexpectedly delicious and the wine quite wonderful. Tobias and Marcos offer a lot of usual advice about the area. Our only regret is that Mont Saint Michel is 45 minutes away or so from the Route de Grand Crus and the country roads in and out of town are not something you'd want to travel on a dark and stormy night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smithmfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We recently spent two nights at Chateau Les Roches. Marcus and Tobias are genial and welcoming hosts, and the rooms are simply superb. We stayed in the 'Enchanting View' room - it's at the front with a balcony that would be a great place to relax in the summer. The staff - students from a Swiss hotel management school - were friendly, helpful and utterly professional. Everyone here had a real enthusiasm for the area, and for the food and wine.
Now, the food. If you stay here it would be wrong not to eat here too. The set menu was 32 Euro for four courses, with a good variety of seriously competent and confident cuisine, and a very well chosen wine list to complement it. I really cannot praise the restaurant too highly - it's astonishing value for cooking that's this accomplished.
I would recommend a stay here without hesitation, and I hope to be back soon.

Room Tip: 'Enchanting View' is a very spacious double, but I expect all the rooms are good. Pictures...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonySG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mont-Saint-Jean
4.2 mi away
Hotel Golf Chateau de Chailly
Hotel Golf Chateau de Chailly
#1 of 1 in Chailly-sur-Armancon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
12.5 mi away
Chateau Sainte Sabine
Chateau Sainte Sabine
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Sabine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
8.2 mi away
Le Relais Bernard Loiseau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Abbaye de la Bussiere
Abbaye de la Bussiere
#1 of 1 in La Bussiere-sur-Ouche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel du Val Vert
Hotel du Val Vert
#1 of 1 in Creancey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
7.8 mi away
La Chouette qui Chante
La Chouette qui Chante
#1 of 3 in Saulieu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Les Roches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Les Roches

Property: Chateau Les Roches
Address: rue de Glanot, 21320 Mont-Saint-Jean, France (Formerly Les Roches Chambres d'Hotes)
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Mont-Saint-Jean
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mont-Saint-Jean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tobias and Marco acquired Les Roches in 2003 and completely renovated the building for the purpose of creating a boutique B&B with five spacious bedrooms each unique and with private bathrooms and a junior suite. After 18 months of renovations, they opened for business in 2005 (also one of the great vintages for Burgundy wines!). Les Roches offer table d'hôte dinners five nights per week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Les Roches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Les Roches Hotel Mont-Saint-Jean
Chateau Les Roches Mont-Saint-Jean, France - Burgundy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing