We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect, peaceful, classy.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau Les Roches

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau Les Roches
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect, peaceful, classy.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed at Les Roches for one night of luxury. Having drone extensive research for a special night in the French countryside we settled on Les Roches and weren't disappointed. We were treated like royalty from the minute we arrived.

We got one of the cheaper rooms at the back of the hotel but being on the top floor was a bonus. I'm not sure we would've liked one of the rooms below us as the floor boards creaked every time we walked around.

The room itself was spacious, the bathroom while not particularly luxurious was everything we needed.

We had dinner at the hotel and it was one of the best meals we've had for years. Absolutely too class. Breakfast was also excellent. The orange juice was amazing!

Overall I would definitely recommend this chateau. The village is quaint and absolutely delightful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shazzbrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    38
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
29
123
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Perfect place to base your holiday in Burgundy. The little town of Mont-Saint-Jean is quaint and quiet, 40 mins drive from the Grand Cru vineyards and their towns but also close to Morvan National park, great for picnicking on the saucisson, cheeses, baguette and wine you've purchased from the numerous markets and shops scattered around the various nearby towns like Saulieu. The Birdseye View room is bright and airy with a huge semi-circular window overlooking nothing but green landscape. Waking up naturally to the sound of farm animals will put a smile on your face.
Owners, staff, the service, the catering, the chateau pets etc were all part of this wonderful experience. Thank you!

Room Tip: If you want to wake up to an amazing view of the countryside take the Birdseye View room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zhirayr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in this lovely chateau,on the way down to Samoens and on the way back,in a different room each night. Both rooms had beautiful views, were very clean and comfortable. We had dinner on both occasions which were excellent. The young staff were very knowledgable and attentive. The breakfast was very good and plentiful.Both hosts were very welcoming and we are very much looking forward to returning in September.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank johnT1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,051 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

From my first enquiry via email I cannot fault the attention to detail of the owners. The information they give is very comprehensive about the hotel and the area. This really is in the middle of nowhere but keep on the road through Mont St Jean and you will come across the château on your right (which you can see as you come down into the village) from Sausse. We were greeted by a friendly Japanese intern from a hotel school in Switzerland and the two delightful owners, Tobias and Marco the latter is the excellent chef). We had a tour of the château en route to our delightful room on the first floor-with balcony overlooking the intriguing sloping garden at the back of the château.
Dinner was served on the delightful terrace and the suggested €32 menu was a delight. We started with snails in their shells dripping in garlic butter then had local trout and Boeuf Bourguignon followed by the most amazing local cheeses selected by the owners, including a new soft cheese from Dijon. Desserts of fondant au chocolat and a sorbet were absolutely delicious. Finally, the wine list was local and reasonably priced.
The bed was so comfortable and our little balcony overlooking the back sloping garden was perfect. Due to the morning rain a buffet breakfast was served in the pretty dining room- fresh croissants and pains au chocolat with fresh coffee in a silver pot adding to the feeling of luxury. I'd thoroughly recommend a stay in this lovely château.

Room Tip: All rooms great- our secret room at the back had a little private balcony overlooking the secluded g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed two nights and were impressed by the effort Marcos and Tobias have made to make this a charming retreat. Our rooms were very comfortable and the staff wonderfully accommodating to our every request. Mont Saint Michel is a tiny, remote village so you have all of the peace and quiet of the countryside as well as some lovely views. This may not be the place for city folks however. Although we loved the chirping and, in one case screeching, of the birds in the morning, it felt like we were in the tropical rain forest not France! Dinner was unexpectedly delicious and the wine quite wonderful. Tobias and Marcos offer a lot of usual advice about the area. Our only regret is that Mont Saint Michel is 45 minutes away or so from the Route de Grand Crus and the country roads in and out of town are not something you'd want to travel on a dark and stormy night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smithmfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We recently spent two nights at Chateau Les Roches. Marcus and Tobias are genial and welcoming hosts, and the rooms are simply superb. We stayed in the 'Enchanting View' room - it's at the front with a balcony that would be a great place to relax in the summer. The staff - students from a Swiss hotel management school - were friendly, helpful and utterly professional. Everyone here had a real enthusiasm for the area, and for the food and wine.
Now, the food. If you stay here it would be wrong not to eat here too. The set menu was 32 Euro for four courses, with a good variety of seriously competent and confident cuisine, and a very well chosen wine list to complement it. I really cannot praise the restaurant too highly - it's astonishing value for cooking that's this accomplished.
I would recommend a stay here without hesitation, and I hope to be back soon.

Room Tip: 'Enchanting View' is a very spacious double, but I expect all the rooms are good. Pictures...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TonySG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We are just back from a two-night stay at Les Roches. We would have liked to stay longer but it was unfortunately fully booked for New Year's Eve. That was a last minute trip by Parisians willing to relax in a quiet place before getting back to work in 2013 (by the way Les Roches is a 2hrs 40min drive from downtown Paris). We booked by phone and one of the owners offered us a good deal.
Mont-Saint-Jean is a remote but lovely medieval village in Burgundy, near Saulieu. Les Roches consists in a grand house (or is it a small château?) with 6 guest rooms. The 100-year house is beautiful, well restored (see the pictures on the website). We enjoyed quietly reading near the fireplace in this old house, while drinking a cup of tea. Wi-Fi is free of charge. There are three dogs and a cat, not causing any trouble.
We stayed in the 'Gazebo View' room, on the first floor at the rear of the house. Well decorated room and comfortable bed, nothing to complain about. We slept very well in a quiet and nice environment, which was what we were looking for. We were a bit disappointed by the adjacent bathroom: aggressive white light + nowhere to put your stuff, but everything was very clean. In the common areas, there is a minuscule kitchen with a fridge, a boiler, mugs and tea bags free of charge.
Breakfast is served between 8:30 and 10:30. It was very good and was also included in the room rate, which can make a difference! We got dinner twice at Les Roches. There is a €29 menu (starter/main course/cheese/dessert) which we recommend, with wine by the glass at €7/9. Classic French food with a contemporary twist: foie gras, escargots, saumon, Saint-Jacques, pigeon and the local cheeses including Epoisses, Abbaye de Citeaux or Délice de Pommard with mustard!
Guests are mostly international. We met couples from Germany, England, Japan, Switzerland and France (a minority).
Maybe a last word about Les Roches owners: The B&B is run by Marco and Tobias, two Germans in their early 40s. They are discreet, which was not an issue for us, but I understand travelers willing to make "new best friends" with the owners, as that sometimes happens in B&Bs, might be disappointed. Special kudos to the Asian girl from Mexico helping them, who definitely knows the meaning of hospitality. There may be something comical for French Parisians visiting our old national Burgundy to be hosted by such an international team, but we enjoyed it very much, and are likely to come back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Voyageur3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mont-Saint-Jean
4.2 mi away
Hotel Golf Chateau de Chailly
Hotel Golf Chateau de Chailly
#1 of 1 in Chailly-sur-Armancon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
12.5 mi away
Chateau Hotel Restaurant Sainte-Sabine
8.2 mi away
Le Relais Bernard Loiseau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Abbaye de la Bussiere
Abbaye de la Bussiere
#1 of 1 in La Bussiere-sur-Ouche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hostellerie de la Tour d'Auxois
8.1 mi away
Hotel du Val Vert
Hotel du Val Vert
#1 of 1 in Creancey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Les Roches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Les Roches

Property: Chateau Les Roches
Address: rue de Glanot, 21320 Mont-Saint-Jean, France (Formerly Les Roches Chambres d'Hotes)
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Mont-Saint-Jean
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mont-Saint-Jean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tobias and Marco acquired Les Roches in 2003 and completely renovated the building for the purpose of creating a boutique B&B with five spacious bedrooms each unique and with private bathrooms and a junior suite. After 18 months of renovations, they opened for business in 2005 (also one of the great vintages for Burgundy wines!). Les Roches offer table d'hôte dinners five nights per week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chateau Les Roches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Les Roches Hotel Mont-Saint-Jean
Chateau Les Roches Mont-Saint-Jean, France - Burgundy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing