We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent - like being in someone's home”

Le Relais du Grepissot
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Reading, Hampshire
Level Contributor
102 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Excellent - like being in someone's home”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We travelled with another couple at the end of April staying at Le Gentilhommiere (not sure that's spelt right!) in Nuit St George. The food there was lovely, but too rich to eat there every night so we wanted an alternative. After the use of google for restaurants in Nuit St George, we found this one. As mentioned in other reviews, it's not the easiest to find as you feel as though you are driving out to no-where. Persevere as it is a real gem. Only a handful of tables and the only other group there on the night we visited were what seemed to be locals. Always a good sign. Food just like home cooking. Delicious and tremendous value for money. We would have liked to have returned but we weren't staying long enough! Do check it out if you are staying locally.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WoodentopOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    41
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a find! (thank you, Trip Advisor!)”
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Out of the way, small, simple place, an annex to a centuries-old farmhouse. Went for Saturday lunch and met all expectations, food, service and price/quality ratio! Mainly locals there, including a family of 25, celebrating an anniversary.

Difficult to find, even with a gps. Go to small, small village of Concoeur and turn downhill about 150 meters. Don't be afraid to ask for directions!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GeeAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great food, great value”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Finding good food that doesn't cost an arm and a leg can be something of a challenge on the Cote de Nuits. However, courtesy of the reviews here on Tripadvisor, we sought out the Relais du Grepissot, and enjoyed our meal so much we returned on 2 subsequent occasions. Situated in the hamlet of Concoeur-Corboin, it could be tricky to find. However, it is well signposted (once you're on the right road!), which is just as well, as the route seeks to avoid the hamlet by taking you down a distinctly agricultural single track road.
Once there, we found it to be a simple, unfussy restaurant with a warm friendly atmosphere and clearly popular with locals as well as tourists, judging from the clientele on the nights we were there. While it was not packed, we found it best to book - just to be on the safe side (tel: 03 80 61 01 03). The food is traditional bourgogne fare, with menus between 18Euro and 25Euro as well as a la carte, or you could opt for the Bourgogne fondue, at around 35Euros for two. The wine list is, unsurprisingly, largely composed of Burgundies, with typically Burgundian price tags, but very good. The service (by the proprietor) was prompt, friendly and efficient. All-in-all, an excellent place for a good meal.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlKronos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“What an absolute GEM.”
Reviewed June 22, 2010

Its closed on Wednesdays. Open until 4pm for lunch and 7-9.30 for dinner and thank GOODNESS for the previous review or we would never have found it.

Go to Nuits St Georges, Avenue Concoeur; find La Gentilhommiere (direction Meuilley); take the tiny slip road to your right; mind the hairpin and when you get to the top, look for a small, dark green rectangular sign; go along the dirt road through the vines, head towards the farmhouse/Domaine and its on the right. You won't be disappointed. Four of us had the four course menu du jour lunch beautifully cooked and complete with wine from the Domane next door, 2 x 1L bottles of water. The bill was E55! It was leisurely, languid and lovely. Even the unisex loo was clean and well provided

We didn't get to the Domaine - he was aux vignes - so we went along to the village (Celines will give you directions to Domaine Manuel Oliviers (www.domaine Olivier Gard). There is a very pleasant english speaking assistant; the tasting was superb; his prices are incredible and the 2006 Pommard 1er cru is sublime. I could have filled the boot.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank realwit1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Relais du Grepissot also viewed

Nuits-Saint-Georges, Cote d'Or
Nuits-Saint-Georges, Cote d'Or
 
Nuits-Saint-Georges, Cote d'Or
Nuits-Saint-Georges, Cote d'Or
 

Been to Le Relais du Grepissot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing