We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely chateau in pretty town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Chateau de la Berchere
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely chateau in pretty town”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I'm surprised at some of the negative responses because for the money the chance to visit at close hand this particularly beautiful chateau was special. The actual chambres are not IN the chateau but converted buildings whose windows look across at the main chateau, the breakfast is served in the dining room of the chateau and was very pleasant and about the right price. Jeanne the receptionist/manager etc could not have been friendlier or more helpful, even driving into town with us following to show us where to eat. We had a great meal in the charming little town of Nuits St George in the main square with another most congenial fellow who spoke great English.
The property is very beautiful and definitely worth a night or two if you are visiting the region.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gillian1andlaurie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    24
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
29
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ghent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

The setting of the gorgeous château is excellent. The rooms are old but clean. It is set close to a main moroway, but as trees give shelter you barely hear it. The availability of a pool was a very welcome asset in the hot weather as we arrived as well. No complaints on accomodation, good value for money.
When I ordered a gin tonic from the bar though, it went pear shaped. I stopped the intern serving me just in time before an expired tonic was used in my drink. The brown fungus in the bottle was obvious and sure enough the expiration date was somewhere in 2010. While she was looking for a fresh one, the manager popped by. Rather than apologizing he wondered what the problem was. He stated it was 'only water', poored it in a glass & drank it (brown bits floating in the glass). I decided not have breafkast in that place then and there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nico D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
70 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

Had a family apartment room which is huge - main double bedroom / lounge area, with separate bedroom (one double and one single bed). No problems with the decor, cleanliness etc. There is no English TV (bar one Eurosport channel). Wi-fi is free. Breakfast is Ok - continental buffet style. Pet friendly and children's outdoor play area. Close to the autoroute so makes convenient stop over. No restaurant so we drove into Nuits St George in search of dinner. [See separate review].
If you arrive in a biggish car, I would not try to squeeze through the quite narrow front entrance to the chateau; take the next right turn and use the rear entrance to the chateau / car park. [Could be better sign posted]

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DCBLEGAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Builth Wells
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2010

Bit of a curates egg. Great postion and beautiful historic chateau. Dont expect luxury but very comfotable. Really helpful and welcoming receptionist. Dated but comfortable rooms and were offered a choice of two. Good breakfast although a little expensive.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caerberis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2010

This hotel, really chambres d’hôte as no dinner available, was recommended for its historic surroundings, excellent location and friendly service from the owning family and staff. In some areas the antique decor was tired but comfortable and the breakfast was a wide selection of local and homemade products. The pool was very necessary in the heat wave. The peace of the grounds suffered noise from the nearby motorway.
For us the attraction was also adjoining airfield Nuits St Georges where we could land the airplane. The free wifi was invaluable too.
We were given a loan Renault car - also "Historic" but essential to see the area and visit the excellent local restaurants.
We'll be back as it is so well situated for the vineyards and when crossing France by road or air.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelOgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2009

This was really a case of a charming setting but lacked all the ingredients of a good hotel: good service, cleanliness and value for money. The staff seemed bemused by our arrival and we found the room adequate but definitely not clean or up to scratch. I believed breakfast was included in the price and was annoyed that we were forced to pay 13 Euros each for a barely edible continental buffet.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephengreen123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuits-Saint-Georges
1.3 mi away
La Gentilhommiere
La Gentilhommiere
#1 of 10 in Nuits-Saint-Georges
328 reviews
2.6 mi away
Chateau de Gilly
Chateau de Gilly
#1 of 2 in Gilly-les-Citeaux
526 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Richebourg
Le Richebourg
#1 of 1 in Vosne-Romanee
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Clos Badan Hotel
The Clos Badan Hotel
#2 of 10 in Nuits-Saint-Georges
68 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vign'appart
Vign'appart
#5 of 10 in Nuits-Saint-Georges
56 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel L'Oree des Vignes
Hotel L'Oree des Vignes
#2 of 2 in Gilly-les-Citeaux
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chateau de la Berchere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chateau de la Berchere

Property: Hotel Chateau de la Berchere
Address: Berchere, 21700 Nuits-Saint-Georges, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Nuits-Saint-Georges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Nuits-Saint-Georges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Chateau de la Berchere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing