We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soak up the square”
Review of O Vrakas Taverna

O Vrakas Taverna
Ranked #6 of 38 Restaurants in Pissouri
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $23
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: O Vrakas is a traditional Cyprus taverna in Pissouri Square with a twist. We are offering Traditional dishes as well as a specially selected variety of International cuisine. We are featuring daily our Daily Specials as well as a different food and wine matching menu. Our highlight evening is Wednesday night, with acoustic Bouzouki and Guitar, accompanied by our traditional Meze, dancing and smashing plates. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon at our premises. Best regards Haris Stylianides
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Soak up the square”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We were able to sit outside and soak up the atmosphere of the pretty village square. The menu had a good selection of traditional and not so traditional food plus a children's section. Prices were reasonable, good choice of local Cypriot wines and knowledgeable waiters. This was recommended to us by a neighbour as its popular with locals.
They were very family friendly. We've booked to go back later in the week which is unusual for us as we like to keep trying new places.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank beeanthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    122
    35
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice food but understaffed..”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

As it was a november sunday and it was a bit quite there was just one person workng so the service was way toooo slow!!! At some point his wife came along holding a baby in her arms and was taking orders and cleaning fables!!!(completely unprofessional). Food was nice,quite small portions and a bit pricey (we had mix grill for 16 euro). i guess i would return though.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Selia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Last meal before flight”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

At the end of a week in Cyprus, peppered largely by very disappointing food, this was a welcome surprise. We had the most unusual fish and chips ever ; battered cod and chips, tartare sauce, mushy peas, coleslaw, vinegar, curry sauce ( real with bits in! ) and baked aubergine with tomato. It was really, really good. My daughter had a great chicken dish too about which she raved.
Old Pissoori still fells like old Cyprus too with men sitting chatting in groups and children playing in the square. When the church bells tolled they were genuflecting as fast as they could until the bells stopped. Required or a game?
Tip; park in the first available spot and amble as not fun to drive around !

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SunStreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Very friendly owner Harris makes you feel extemely welcomed in his taverna, the food, service and atmosphere makes it a must eatery on your visit to Pissouri Village , in the heart of the square you cannot miss it - ENJOY like we all did.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank celtictaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Always made to feel special”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is the fourth year in this wonderful village and once again enjoyed the food and service at Vrakas. The food is superb, and not a huge menu which we like, although there are usually specials to expand the choice. What makes this taverna stand out is the service - attentive without being oppressive, your wine glass is topped up regularly and the presentation is spot on.
Had dinner on 3 occasions as well as lunch on one (omelettes are superb) and were never disappointed.
Looking forward to returning next year!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank northamptoncouple13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Vrakas Taverna also viewed

Pissouri, Limassol District
Pissouri, Limassol District
 
Pissouri, Limassol District
Pissouri, Limassol District
 
Pissouri, Limassol District
 

Been to O Vrakas Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing