We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top hospitality, good room, pleasant breakfast, shame about the guests upstairs”
Review of Hotel Astra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Astra
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Koprivshtitsa
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Top hospitality, good room, pleasant breakfast, shame about the guests upstairs”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We had a very pleasant one night stay in the apartment in May. The hospitality was second to none and the lack of english (or bulgarian on our part) had no impact. The apartment had a lounge area with couches which were a good area for a travel cot, the double-bedroom was adequately sized and the bathroom fine. Breakfast was pleasant comprising of local yogurt, pancakes, toast, coffee, cold meats / cheese. The only problem we had was that our booking coincided with a Bulgarian national holiday and the guests in the room above returned home in the early hours and continued their evening for a while longer. We would certainly stay again next time we visit Koprivstitsa.

Room Tip: The apartment provided a little extra space but was not markedly more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank c0bbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel several times, actually every time we visit Koprivstitsa. The house itself is beautifully decorated, kept well maintained. Garden is amazing and waking up and seeing it through the window in the morning makes your day. On the top delicious breakfast is served right in the middle of the garden. What keeps us going back is the amazing hospitality of the Owners and their desire to please.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Murzila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

this nice traditional family hotel is located at the entrance of the small cute village of koprishvitsta.
the room is clean. the size is normal. it looks just like the pictures at the internet site.
the owners does not speak English but they are very nice people.
breakfast is adequate.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2011

We stayed in Hotel Astra for a night whilst recently driving through Bulgaria. It's a very cute little guesthouse with a nice courtyard and dining area. The rooms are small but cosy. Koprivshtitsa was fairly cold when we were there, but the owner had the heating going in all the rooms already, so even though we didn't book ahead, it was really warm and nice in the room!
I would say this - There seem to be quite a lot of guesthouses in Koprivshtitsa, most of which look really lovely from the outside. Hotel Astra seems to be on a bit of a TripAdvisor roll, but I would also suggest trying some of the unreviewed places as there is plenty more to be discovered!
Having said that, the breakfast that the lovely owner prepared for us was the best we had anywhere in Bulgaria... All the traditional stuff (bread, cheese, meat), plus pancakes for dessert! And all served in a cute little room overlooking the courtyard.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikey_br
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs UK
Level Contributor
236 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2010

We stayed 2 nights in this lovely little guest house which is ideally situated in this small picturesque village in the mountains.The small hotel is situated in a lovely peaceful garden which is ideal for relaxing in after a day's sightseeing.On return in the evening the owner had left fresh peaches and cherries on the table outside our room,what a lovely gesture.Breakfast was included in the cost ( £20 for both of us!!!) and consisted of the usual cucumber,tomatoes,meats,cheeses.
They only thing I can really be negative about was the fact that they didn't clean the room on the second day,however when I went and asked for fresh towels and a toilet roll they were provided without delay.I would not hesitate in recommending this lovely hotel

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jax11ard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varna, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2008

Nice family house with small garden in a quiet location not far away from all attractions and museums in Koprivshtitsa, clean rooms, reasonable prices. The owner sisters are very friendly. We booked the appartment on the first floor consisting of 2 rooms and a large bathroom. A breakfast is offered by demand prepared by the owners -pancakes, toast, cheese, honey.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
4 Thank DOBCHO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koprivshtitsa hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kalina
Hotel Kalina
#2 of 3 in Koprivshtitsa
4 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gozbarov House
Gozbarov House
#4 of 35 in Koprivshtitsa
14 reviews
0.4 mi away
Guest House Bashtina Striaha
Guest House Bashtina Striaha
#1 of 35 in Koprivshtitsa
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Family Hotel and Tavern Panorama Koprivshtitsa
0.2 mi away
Mountain Paradise
Mountain Paradise
#15 of 35 in Koprivshtitsa
1 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guest House Bolyarka
Guest House Bolyarka
#5 of 35 in Koprivshtitsa
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astra

Property: Hotel Astra
Address: N. Palaveev Blvd 11, Koprivshtitsa 2077, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Koprivshtitsa
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Koprivshtitsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Astra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing