We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bulgarian Gem”
Review of Gozbarov House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gozbarov House
Ranked #5 of 35 Koprivshtitsa B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed one night on our Bulgarian trip, but this place impressed me as the best of the several small inns at which we stayed. I would like to come back in the future. One can walk to the town easily. The food was very good.

Room Tip: Stay more than one night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kutuzov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 15 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

This restored property is quite charming. The walls are cheerfully painted amidst a background of dark woods. Our room had plenty of light and our double glazed windows opened fully onto the well groomed courtyard. There are places to sit and relax outside. A well manicured lawn is surrounded by colorful flowers. On the first floor is the restaurant. Service is excellent in this cozy little space. There is a full bar , nice wine list and a huge bulgarian menu. I highly recommend eating here for dinner. it is very convenient and quite good. plus, it seems like the sidewalks of this town roll up at 7 pm during this time of year. we stayed at the restaurant in this B &B til 10:00 pm! Breakfast is served here every morning. Coffee is great. The owner is friendly and very helpful. He picked us up from the bus stop in the center of town and will take us back to the stop when we leave. It is conveniently located a block from the Main Street, however, there is no traffic noise. There is a mild incline, but it is not too far. Also, the rooms are very clean. The beds are cozy and comfortable. The bathrooms are roomy and functional. There is a closet, dresser and night stands for plenty of storage too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bbbuttercup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed here only one night during our tour of various places in Bulgaria. Our only regret is that we didn't arrange to stay somewhat longer.

This is a beautiful 19th-century traditional Bulgarian house, fully renovated by its current owners. The exterior and interior decoration is just perfect, with extensive areas of wood panelling on the floors, walls and ceiling. The apartement in which we stayed has 2 separate rooms, one including a traditional stove, and the bathroom is quite large - and modern - with no shortage of hot water.

You can take your meals in the basement restaurant, which again is in traditional style, or on the tables in the courtyard. The dinner which we had was just perfect: trout caught that very same day and perfectly cooked. The salad with which we started had some tomatoes from some of the owners' neighbours. So much better than what you can buy from the supermarket. There is also a large selection of Bulgarian rakia, beer and wine available. (Personally, for beer I would recommend Zagorka).

From the windows of the apartment there is a lovely view over the village of Koprivshtitsa, with the sounds of the country drifting through the air. It was so peaceful that we slept until almost 9am. Apparently this is normal for guests in this hotel! In any case, despite our lateness we were still able to get a simple and freshly-prepared breakfast, which again we took outside.

The owners of this hotel provide a really friendly and personal service. After spending a night in Sofia after arriving at the airport, this was like a completely different world.

If you have a car, be aware that there are only two spaces within the hotel's courtyard itself, and it's up a steep and narrow cobbled street. Getting the car out backwards is quite challenging.

If we get the chance we would definitely not hesitate to come back here. What it does, it does perfectly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrissw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

It is a lovely 1832 house fully renovated by its owner Ivan in 2006. Very clean, suprizingly spacious, good cooking. Place you don't want to leave.
Definetely a place to stay at Koprivshtitsa.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank avoronin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Piv0ine75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lu-hospi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JiJiL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koprivshtitsa hotels
92.6 mi away
Hotel Astra
Hotel Astra
#1 of 4 in Koprivshtitsa
30 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kalina
Hotel Kalina
#2 of 4 in Koprivshtitsa
4 reviews
0.3 mi away
Guest House Bashtina Striaha
Guest House Bashtina Striaha
#1 of 35 in Koprivshtitsa
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Guest House Bolyarka
Guest House Bolyarka
#10 of 35 in Koprivshtitsa
4 reviews
184.5 mi away
Denis Guest house
Denis Guest house
#2 of 21 in Koprivshtitsa
2 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mountain Paradise
Mountain Paradise
#17 of 35 in Koprivshtitsa
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gozbarov House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gozbarov House

Address: Ivan Borata Str. No. 9, Koprivshtitsa 2077, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Koprivshtitsa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Koprivshtitsa
Price Range: $26 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Gozbarov House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing