We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High Tea - more like High Prices\Average Tea” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Joondalup Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Joondalup Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Connolly
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“High Tea - more like High Prices\Average Tea”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Took some old friends from interstate there on the weekend, thought High Tea would be a nice way to get together. It cost us $38 each for a couple of average sandwiches and a few different cakes (scones, little cakes etc.) and tea. You can choose different options but for the price we paid ($152) for a 3 tier cake stand of nibbles it was a rip-off. Will not go again. Service was good and staff were nice but they need to improve the restaurant as we've also had bad experiences for Sunday buffet lunch (food very average).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holid-yayyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    80
    36
    26
    13
See reviews for
48
63
3
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by Joondalup Resort. Living not far away we knew where it was, but had never visited. Accomodation was lovely, service was great and we felt very relaxed. It is well hidden from surburbia with exquisite gardens.
We were given this opportunity to visit, as a present and will certainly return. We may even bring our boys as it was obviously child friendly as well.
Thank you

Room Tip: Lake view room is very nice. Wonderful opportunity to have any drink on balcony and take in the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Joondalup Resort on a Friday and Saturday night in a standard room. The room was large, comfortable and nothing exciting in the décor stakes. The bathroom was also spacious but there were some cracks and peeling in the shower. The TV was small and the channels were very limited and apparently Room Service closes at 10pm (not that it says that anywhere in the Welcome booklet). The gardens and surrounding area is beautiful but the restaurants are expensive. Luckily there is a small shopping centre less than a 5min walk down the road with an IGA, a bakery and a pizza shop. I wouldn't recommend this hotel unless you are happy to pay $230 a night for a large bed and not much else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meisha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed one Saturday night after a wedding at the resort and originally booked a garden room, which as named, overlooks lovely gardens in the resort. Check in was very swift and the staff polite and attentive. However, upon entering the room, it just did not smell pleasant at all (like really strong toilet cleaner). We asked to be moved to a different room, and we were shifted without fuss and very promptly to another room. The room was very spacious with two double beds, contained a mini-bar and very cheap flat screen TV with very poor picture quality on the movie channel. Didn't like the wooden louvre door that separates the bathroom and toilet from the rest of the room, you don't get a sense of privacy.

The grounds are lovely, and it's a beautiful place to hold a wedding, with native birds enjoying the ceremony as much as we did. The reception was held in one of the function rooms and the service there again was very swift and attentive.

Breakfast was included in our room rate, and was a buffet breakfast with your typical hot foods (bacon, different types of eggs, soggy hash browns etc), cereals, fresh fruit and yoghurt and a variety of breads and pastries.

The resort itself could do with a little maintenance as it is starting to show signs of ageing (paint peeling off door frames, water stains on rendered walls) but overall it was a nice place to visit, though a little more expensive than what we would usually book ($260.00 for one night.)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank XAGTKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

my husband and I booked a night here in a Garden View room in June to celebrate my birthday as the grounds are beautiful and have heard good things from friends.

Check in was prompt and polite. The room was probably as far away from reception as it got. being only 2 storey we had to walk a distance to get to our room with no offer to take our bags. The room was a good size overlooking the driving range and the decor not too dated.

The Good:
* Comfy bed
* Prompt service for ice bucket when requested
* Beautiful grounds
* Nice toilet seat (so I was informed)
* Bathrobes
* Free wifi

The Bad:
* This room had no bath,and this is one of the things I enjoy about staying in a nice hotel is a deep tub.
* The shower screen was in need of a scrub (not a wipe) to remove all the build-up. Even my husband mentioned this, and he is not one to have attention to detail with these types of things
* soap for basin and shower was the suction type fixed to the wall - perhaps a bit tacky for a 4.5 star hotel
* There were no cotton tips or shower caps (needed especially as there was no bath)
* No Slippers - but we did get robes
* Dust / lint / hair build up on lamp shades terrible. reminds me of my constantly malting cat
* Clock did not work
* Patio outside was hard to use as there was no shelter, and as it was raining the whole time made it hard to enjoy the nice views
* No foxtel - only pay movies

Overall we were disappointed with what was provided to us and had hoped for more of the little things you find in a more upmarket hotel or resort. If you are staying for business and don't have to spend too much time in the room you may enjoy it more.

Didn't get to try the pool or spa (don't think there was a sauna) so had it not been winter this could have been a redeeming feature.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodlands
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Joondalup may be some distance from the heart of Perth City but it is well worth the commute. Renown for their golf-course, we were fortunate that the bungalow we stayed in faced it! Every morning, it was amazing to see the amount of birds having a good time. The neighborhood is quiet and it is lovely to take a walk around early in the morning. The bungalow is very self-contained and there is a supermarket and a few shops within walking distance if one needs to get something (but this has to be during the day as most places are closed at night). I have to confess that we did not eat at the resort at all but that was because you were spoilt for choice for nice restaurants within half an hour's drive. The folks manning the concierge are quite helpful with recommendations.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ar_sgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

I have been to the restaurant at the resort twice now for afternoon tea. The first time was poor but thought I would give them a second chance. There were 25 of us celebrating a pre-wedding get together. We were put into the conservatory with about 200 others and the noise was unbearable. Inside the restaurant was completely empty so we could have been spread out. The food was awful. Dried up sandwiches, jellies that weren't set. Very poor choice of tiny sweets. Cake stands left on the floor because the young staff didn't know how to make a space on the table. I live overlooking the golf course and recommended we go there. I was highly embarrassed. On complaining we were grudgingly given $10 a head back but no appology. There comment to us was "Oh you women come from.....(workplace)... we all know about you." We are all mature ladies who have never caused any problem!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PVH_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Connolly hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Connolly
Joondalup City Hotel
#4 of 4 in Joondalup
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunmoon Boutique Resort
#2 of 6 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joondalup Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joondalup Resort

Property: Joondalup Resort
Address: Country Club Blvd, Connolly, Joondalup, Western Australia 6027, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Joondalup > Connolly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Connolly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Joondalup Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Joondalup Resort offers an oasis of relaxation, perfect for a getaway, Play & Stay golf experience, corporate function or wedding. Tucked away and surrounded by natural bushland, you'll feel the escape of the daily hustle and bustle whilst still being just 25 minutes from Perth CBD, just 5 minutes from the ever evolving city of Joondalup and even less to the white sandy beaches of the Sunset Coast. A stay at Joondalup Resort invites you to enjoy one of 70 spacious accommodation rooms and suites, each with your own private balcony or courtyard. Relax by the outdoor lagoon style swimming pool and spa with a cocktail from Bistro 38, or stay active with our mini gym, tennis courts and of course, our world class 27 hole championship golf course, for which special discounted rates apply for hotel guests. The Resort invites groups of between 6 and 900 for private functions, corporate events, weddings and corporate golf days. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Joondalup Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Joondalup Hotel Joondalup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing