We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing meal”
Review of Joondalup Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Joondalup Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Connolly
Reviewed March 4, 2012

My husand and I celebrated our wedding anniversary at Joondalup Resort last year and were very impressed with the meal and the service. This year as we live close by we thought we would repeat the experience and came away very disappointed. The service was slow and very unprofessional, we had to catch the eye of the wait staff on each occasion we wanted to order, the wrong entree was delivered, which we decided to accept after letting the waiting staff know they had it wrong. We ordered a seafood platter were two, on arrival we thought it was very small for two people but thought that must be the meal size, when we paid we realised they had only bought out one serving to share between us, once again the order was wrong. After a lengthy wait we at last managed to find a member of the serving staff and ordered sweets ($16 a serve). My husband's was very nice it was cake and icecream (a minute size serving). I ordered so called pavlova which turned out to the 3 hard swirls of merangue (stale I would say) with a flavourless cream, unset toffee and a tiny piece of mango. Our summary would be very ordinary food, unprofessional service and a pretense to be fine dining, needless to say that will be our last visit to the Resort.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 251 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2012

We had stayed in one of the bungalow at Joondalup resort, formerly owned by Singapore Labour Foundation ,whenever we played golf at Joondalup Golf Club. But since they have sold the bungalow, we have to stay at the Resort hotel instead and this is a 2nd time we stayed at the resort hotel but the first time i'm writing a review.

It is a comfortable, clean and hotel-style apartment in contrast to the self-contained bungalow we used to stay in the resort. The surrounding is very pleasant and with a car, everything is convenient. We always dine and shop at Joondalup city centre or surrounds and actually come to like the place very much.

It is certainly a very good and convenient place for golfers who wish to be play a few rounds in this beautiful and challenging golf course.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EstellaGardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

I live a 20 min drive from Joondalup resort & wanted to take a guest we had staying with us to a "High Tea". I have only experienced a high tea at the Hyatt in Perth city & thought Joondalup Resort would do the same. On reading what it offered as a hightea, I went ahead & booked it.
On arrival there was a list of the choise of food that we would be recieving & could choose between "Sparkling" (Sparkling wine) or without.
After recieving the drinks, Tea, water, wine, a three tear cake plate came out.
This offered about 4 small scones, very little cream & jam. About two small sandwiches cut up & three small "Party" deserts each. This for $38 EACH!!
We came away VERY unimpressed & felt totally ripped off for the price! Never again!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
26  Thank lyndaholgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Good value hotel resort on the edge of the city. Staff are friendly and provide a good level of service. Lagoon view rooms have a pleasant vista. If you are doing business in the city you would need to hire a car ... But the parking is free. Great acess to nth suburbs.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PandSMadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Great stay and would love to stay again next time I'm in Perth. Enjoyed a relaxed atmosphere at the Kangaroo Arms which is situated on the Resort premises. I would recommend a stay at Joondalup Resort.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSP300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

We frequently stay at this hotel – particularly with family over Christmas time. We love it as it has a relaxed resort feel which not many Perth hotels have. The pool area is lovely and definitely one of the best assets of the hotel. The views of the golf course and surrounding gardens are also beautiful and nice to walk through. The accommodation is modern and clean and I would recommend the garden rooms as they open out to the pool area and have views over the golf course and gardens.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Club334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Whether you are into golf, shopping or the beach this resort is well located for a rest. Although its in an outer satellite city of Perth everything you need is close. The rooms are spacious and quiet and the staff are friendly. The grounds are peaceful and the area is well kept. A really enjoyable stay and I will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussie_travellers_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Connolly
1.3 mi away
Joondalup City Hotel
Joondalup City Hotel
#4 of 4 in Joondalup
48 reviews
5 mi away
The Marina Hotel
The Marina Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mindarie
154 reviews
10 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Ocean View Motel
Ocean View Motel
#1 of 1 in North Beach
76 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Richardson Hotel & Spa
10 mi away
Sunmoon Boutique Resort
Sunmoon Boutique Resort
#4 of 6 in Scarborough
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joondalup Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joondalup Resort

Address: Country Club Blvd, Connolly, Joondalup, Western Australia 6027, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Joondalup > Connolly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Connolly
Price Range: $123 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Joondalup Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Joondalup Resort offers an oasis of relaxation, perfect for a getaway, Play & Stay golf experience, corporate function or wedding. Tucked away and surrounded by natural bushland, you'll feel the escape of the daily hustle and bustle whilst still being just 25 minutes from Perth CBD, just 5 minutes from the ever evolving city of Joondalup and even less to the white sandy beaches of the Sunset Coast. A stay at Joondalup Resort invites you to enjoy one of 70 spacious accommodation rooms and suites, each with your own private balcony or courtyard. Relax by the outdoor lagoon style swimming pool and spa with a cocktail from Bistro 38, or stay active with our mini gym, tennis courts and of course, our world class 27 hole championship golf course, for which special discounted rates apply for hotel guests. The Resort invites groups of between 6 and 900 for private functions, corporate events, weddings and corporate golf days. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Joondalup Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Joondalup Hotel Joondalup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing