We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful accommodation and Poltergeist ;-)”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Muhldorf
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Burg Oberranna
Ranked #1 of 3 Muhldorf B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The hotel has a beautiful location and very charming, nice and helpful staff, it was written in the other reviews and that´s all definitely true.
But I liked the most strange noises in the middle of the night in our room. Amazing experience! I was very very scared, but now I have a story to tell and something to remember ;-) We must go back again! :-)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eTrezalka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 32 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

There is nothing we would change about this castle hotel in the storybook Wachau valley. Our only wish is that we had stayed longer. The castle is over 1000 years old and in incredible shape. If there were not so many cool attractions nearby (we picked up a rental car in Krems, a short distance away, which was a very good experience as well), we could have easily spent the entire couple of days exploring the castle, reading, drinking wine, taking in the many breathtaking views, sitting by the fireplaces, and being doted on. The crypt and church, in the courtyard under our room, were a couple of our favorite finds. The manager and staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. We loved the breakfast room; incredible coffee and very tasty food. There was not a thing my wife or I would change about the room. For us, this stop was a perfect countryside getaway, sandwiched between Vienna and Bavaria. Had we not already been married, we both agreed that this would be a place for a fair tale wedding. Perfection!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KandJadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We and our traveling companions were greeted at the castle door by Fra Kosma, the manager of the hotel, dressed in traditional Austrian attire. After a warm greeting and dropping off our luggage we were shown to the cozy tavern/restaurant area. It was a cool/rainy afternoon so the fire in the fireplace and the candle light about the room were warm, friendly and cozy. This was not a restaurant, but a place that served simple, typical huerger foods-local cheeses, meats and wines from the Wauchau Valley.
The rooms were large with a sitting area and beautifully appointed. The bathrooms was quite small, but modern-the towels were great!
The breakfast was served in a beautiful, cozy dining room located on the second floor – a wonderful buffet.
We used this hotel/castle as our base of operation for a day long bicycle trip through the Wauchau Valley- to and from Krems. Electric assisted bikes(E-bikes) are available for rental in Muldorf or Spitz.
This hotel was located just outside of Muldorf and about six miles from Spitz and the Danube River
The one drawback is that the Berg Oberranna is not walking distance to Spitz or the Danube River. We used a taxi which was easily available, but a bit pricey. If we had our own rental car, our stay would have been perfection.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eugene b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

With only one previous review we were a bit apprehensive about booking into Burg Oberranna for three nights ... but are we ever glad we did. It's hard to believe the fabulous hotel does not have more reviews.

First, a couple of cautions. Muldorf and the hotel is about five km up a pretty valley from Spitz, i.e. it is not along the main road that runs along the Danube. For those who like to be in the country, in a rural setting the location is perfect. As an example, while approaching the entrance across the bridge, passing over the moat, one afternoon we spotted two deer (see photo), which we were told live inside the castle walls. Second, while there is a cozy tavern where one can have a drink and dessert there is no restaurant at the hotel (although we were told if you arrive late and would like a plate of cheese and meats just ask).

Records of the castle date back to 1070. During the 16th century it was remodeled with a ringed outer wall, defensive towers as well as an inner and outer moat, a design that remains to this day. The castle's chapel (which is open for viewing), originally part of St. George's Church dates from the first half of the 12th century!

Lydia and Brigitte were both very friendly and helpful. They, and other staff were always in traditional Austrian dress. Our apartment (Number 10) was huge, with a kitchenette including a half fridge, beautiful furniture with spectacular views across and up the valley. Breakfast was wonderful, again in a attractive room, with a wide selection of great breads, meats, cheese, juice, cereal etc. along with eggs cooked to your preference.

Being out in the countryside may not be perfect for everyone, but for those who are looking for a quiet, peaceful, get-away (as we were after a couple of days in Vienna) Burg Oberranna is a perfect option. The Wachau area is beautiful, with many quaint towns, an extensive bike path on both sides of the river, all in an area known for its wines.

At 153 euros (2011 apartment rate) we felt we got excellent value given the history of the castle, the service, the obvious care in furnishing the rooms and common areas, the views, and the breakfast.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I imagine any room/apartment is beautiful but certainly No. 10 was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NSMoosehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

My wife and I spent three nights at the Burg Oberranna this September and thought it was delightful. Our room was huge, quiet and clean with a nice, modern bathroom. Breakfasts were very good, and the hotel's staffers were entirely charming and helpful (we were especially pleased with a recommendation to try Gasthaus Prankl in nearby Spitz for dinner--the food was excellent as was the wine list). The hotel has a beautiful and dramatic location on a hill above Muhldorf.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vaoenophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, traveled with family
Thank AMSchultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: 11 ???( die mit Balkon)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Adrijana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Burg Oberranna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Burg Oberranna

Address: Oberranna 1, Muhldorf, Feldkirchen an der Donau 3622, Austria
Location: Austria > Upper Austria > Feldkirchen an der Donau > Muhldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Muhldorf
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Burg Oberranna 4*
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing