We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Kirchenwirt Wachau
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Steigenberger Hotel and Spa(Krems an der Donau)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arte Hotel Krems(Krems an der Donau)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Zierlinger(Senftenberg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kolping Campus Krems(Krems an der Donau)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Unter den Linden(Krems an der Donau)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveler rating
42
20
6
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
20
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice placehotel is locateddanube rivercourtyardroomstown
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 69 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Wonderful find, what a surprise to have such a friendly, well appointed small hotel in a delightful old village. The staff and town people were very friendly, most spoke English very well but all were willing to try. Dinner and breakfast were wonderful. The rooms were well appointed, clean and very comfortable. Our only regret is we didn't come here on our first night and stay a week and do day trips to Vienna and Salzburg. Only hope I get a chance to go back and do it again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We enjoyed both the restaurant (seating both inside and out in a nice covered area) and a room here. The wine choices from local vineyards was wonderful, the apricot knodle terrific, and the breakfast choices diverse. One night when we dined elsewhere but returned to the hotel for the apricot knodle, I asked for a glass of Gruner Vertliner but two glasses as I did not want a full glass and my son was willing to drink what i didn't want....what we were served for the price of 1 glass was two glasses full--but all servings were generous. All the staff spoke good English and were gracious, outgoing and friendly.

A beautiful old building with marble floors, our room was spacious and windows opened to a breeze from the Danube--the hotel is on the main bike route and from our third floor room we could see the river. As with many very old buildings, no elevator, so one needs to be able to manage stairs.

We were biking, and the hotel had a locked bike locker nearby. The price seemed a little high for a small town, but most good places even in small towns in Austria are priced higher than we would expect for a similar location in the States. Overall pretty wonderful.

Room Tip: Our room over locked the road/bike route, but by evening there was almost no traffic and noise was not an issue.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

A beautiful, family-run hotel with a very welcoming atmosphere, great breakfast buffet, helpful staff and old wonderful buildings. The beautiful environment of Weissenkirchen with its vinyards and flowers along the Danube river make up for a perfect romantic weekend. Try the restaurant of the hotel and their apricot delicacies! Best to visit in spring or early autumn.

Room Tip: We stayed at the "Dependance Arkadenhof" of the hotel, which can bei highly recommended. This part of the hotel has a wonderful inner court with old arcades, beautiful flowers and many swallows' nests. It seems a bit quieter as the main part (Haupthaus Kirchenwirt) of the hotel as well.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelette2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Receptionist very friendly (it should always be the case but it is not obvious) hotel, recently renovated, classic tile.

The restaurant is great, we have not visited the SPA with indoor pool.

The area is touristy but less well known than other places even more prestigious but it seems he did not miss anything (maybe just the name).

The hotel is family run and the family seems to take much care of customers.

I liked it, have invested a lot, you see, we hope you have a return, but if they work so well it certainly will!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benevelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We so enjoyed every aspect of this hotel while we hiked the Danube Path. We had not originally planned on staying but after a super lunch at the in-house restaurant, decided we couldn't pass up an overnight here. Our first floor room overlooked the valley and Danube. Bright, clean, and roomy, it was well furnished and afforded good storage. The bathroom was well fitted and held a great selection of soaps, shampoos, etc., etc. Breakfast was overwhelming! As others have noted, the staff and owners are indeed professional and kind. They even allowed me to print out Ryan Air boarding passes for our return to Italy. Although not for travelers on a budget, the Kirchenwirt is a fine experience. Weissenkirchen itself is the heart of the Wachau wine region and a must for any wine lover.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloraPapini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews