We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding first family skiing holiday - it could not have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Familienparadies Sporthotel Achensee
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Achenkirch
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Outstanding first family skiing holiday - it could not have been better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from an 8 day family holiday here to give my 3 kids (14, 12 & 8) their first taste of skiing and we were completely delighted with the hotel and the resort.

I was looking for something more authentic and homespun than Club MED/Mark Warner but without compromising on efficiency and support, and this fitted the brief exactly.

The hotel is perfectly set up for skiing, 100m from the chair lift. THey own their own ski hire shop which is on the promises and the ski school, which is included in the price. The instructor/child ratio was about 1:6 at peak time, and Nadine taught all our kids together. They had a ball, and the week is well structured including a brilliant International race at the end which was handled impeccably.

Rooms were spartan but scrupulously clean and generously sized. There is a spa, sauna and swimming pool which were great.

The catering was excellent - a short dinner menu is presented at breakfast, and the food is presented beautifully and there is always enough simple fare for the kids to enjoy, including a lolly called a Bum Bum which caused much mirth. THe wine list is well chosen, but a little pricey, but there is plenty available by the glass. A simple buffet lunch and tea are included at their cute Alpine lodge, the Seealm.

It is an all inclusive package. Our bill for 8 days including a day of private tuition, moderate wine/beer consumption, ski/boot/helmet hire & laundry came to €6,500. Lift pass was €800. We were satisfied that this was good value, as were the many other families who have been coming back here year after year. Book early.

One note: the transfer from Munich airport via 4 Seasons travel was expensive (€300 return) and unreliable. Next time we'll hire a car.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Crossbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Familie_Hlebaina, Leiter Front Office at Familienparadies Sporthotel Achensee, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Crossbill,

thank you for your outstanding hotel evaluation. We are glad to read, that you have had such a great time in our hotel. We are already looking forward to welcome you again.

Best regards, family Hlebaina and the family paradise-team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    27
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
163
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We have visited the Sporthotel Achensee twice now, and have had two brilliant holidays with them. We cannot recommend the hotel highly enough. We travelled first with an 18 month old, and second with a two year old and small baby. Both times we felt at home and able to relax in a way that can be hard when on holiday with little children. We were worried at first that we would struggle with the language, as our German is dreadful. Almost all the hotel staff speak English, and are so ready to help and be friendly that it feels like staying with very understanding friends. The childcare staff in particular put our daughter at ease, and loved keeping our baby son entertained. The play facilities for small children are great, with a baby playroom, soft play, and a shallow baby pool.The (all-inclusive) food is excellent, the spa treatments interesting and well priced, and the hotel sits in stunning scenery. Both times we had comfortable rooms which were clean and had views on to mountains and pastures. Our toddler loved seeing 'my cows' every morning. Every possible convenience for travelling with children is provided, barring nappies, so we had no need to bring a buggy, or hiking back carrier, or toiletries, and the hotel provided transfers from Innsbruck at a decent price. All in all, we loved our holidays here and can't wait to come back next year.

Room Tip: The suites are not much more expensive than the smaller rooms and enable you and your children to ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Busybee1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Familie_Hlebaina, Leiter Front Office at Familienparadies Sporthotel Achensee, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Busybee1976,

we would like to thank you for your superb evaluation and are happy to read that you spent such a great time in our hotel. It has been a pleasure being your hosts and we are already looking forward to welcome you again next year.

Warm regards,
Family Hlebaina and the Sporthotel Achensee Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had a great family vaccation at this kinderhotel. The kids activities was very good. Our kids had a wonderful time. Food was very good. Staff friendly and the nature around the hotel was beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindahj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Familie_Hlebaina, Front Office Manager at Familienparadies Sporthotel Achensee, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Lindahj,

thank you for your good hotel evaluation. We are happy to read, that you have had such a great time in our hotel. We are looking forward to welcome you again.

Best regards family Hlebaina and the family paradise-team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

This hotels for modern familys has it all; good service, exellent food (for kids and parents - no fast food!), cleen rooms, lots off activities and wonderfull sorroundings. We visited this hotell for 5 days this summer with three children age 4,7 and almost 11. The three off them all agreed it was the best vacation ever! And hey want to go back next summer (and for winter holiday as well). This is really all inclusive!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hege P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Familie_Hlebaina, Leiter Front Office at Familienparadies Sporthotel Achensee, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Hege P,

thank you for your outstanding evaluation. We are glad to read, that you have had such a great time in our hotel. We are looking forward to welcome you again.

Best regards family Hlebaina and the FAMILY PARADISE-team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We have been to several Kinderhotels in summer and had good experiences but after a bad experience in Serfaus (too much travelling from hotel to kids slopes) we wanted a hotel on the slopes and a ski school close by. Well this hotel has it just about sorted!

As a 5 smiley hotel it has the usual Kinderhotel stuff; child care and excellent kids facilities/cinema/theatre as well as super wellness area, 2 swimmimg pools and great full board accomodation. Sure it doesn't have the water slides of Serfaus but everything else was so good the children forgot all about it. Here's what we liked:

1) The ski school is owned by the same family that own the hotel so the vast majority of the children in the ski school are from the hotel. They were fantastic in every way. Our 6 and 4 year olds took to the instructors in no time at all and loved it so much they also wanted to have lunch with them (4 euros per child per day) as well as ski all day. They all spoke English and did so much to make our trip so much fun (helping the kids on/off the lifts etc.). Thank you so much Isabella and Elisa. The highlight was the childrens' ski race, complete with the most enthusiastic commentary ever, and the award ceremony complete with podium finishes and anthems for the winners

2) The beginners slopes are just across the road from the hotel, just beyond the hotel's fantastic take on a Tyrolean Mountain restaurant (the Seealm - where they serve lunch for hotel guests as well as afternoon teas and cakes and little disco's/bands for the kids after skiing). What we didn't know until we got there was that there is a tunnel under the road to the Seealm so no need to worry about traffic and the ski lockers are located in the tunnel so you collect everything on the way to ski school. When the children graduate to the main slopes they get escorted up there from the ski school and the meet point is back at the base of the lifts (30 yards from the hotel).

3) Ski Guiding was included in the cost for adults - so my wife basically had 5 x 2 hour lessons as there were only 1 or 2 others in her group. I was in a larger group of Swiss/Austrian skiers but they were all better than me so I found it stimulating skiing with them and we had great fun off piste with our instructor - who offered good tips throughout. They also arranged a hotel adults ski race with awards ceremony on the Thursday - great fun!

4) Ski rental/toboggan hire located in the hotel and could be charged to the room - so easy.

5) Don't be too put off the size of the ski area. We really enjoyed skiing it and there were plenty of better skiers than us there who have been coming back year after year. The pistes were in superb condition, the off-piste was good, the queues were almost non-existent on a half-term week and for us the convenience of being maximum 15 minutes away from the hotel (should our 18 month old be screaming in the kiddy club - as did happen but not through any fault of the staff there I must add) was an added bonus. Although the height of the resort is low by French standards talking to other guests at the hotel the snow conditions in February seem to be pretty reliable - perhaps this is partly due to geography.

6) Great food in the hotel. Maybe the breakfast buffet is a bit chaotic but I think that's probably the same everywhere prior to skiing. The evening meals were excellent, as was lunch and cakes in the Seealm. The kids enjoyed eating with the Kiddy Club too.

7) Convenience - easy to get to from Munich airport (1.5 to 1.75 hours) with half of it off motorway.

8) Friendly staff in the hotel - nothing was too much trouble

9) Lovely staff in the Kiddy Club. Our 18 month old has little experience of nursery/creche so found being left there a bit of a shock (typical 3rd child!) and screamed her head off one day but the staff could not have been more kind with her - they eventually walked her over to the Seealm to find us having called us on the phone. Our elder children enjoyed going there also.

Is there a downside ?

Well it is very booked up a year in advance with returning guests so that can be frustrating when you try to get in there. However the deposit you place is quite small so well worth taking a flyer in advance. The room we had (a Mickey) was perfectly good but compared to some of the other kinderhotels quite basic. But it worked for us very well and we were not in the room much at all.

Overall we rated it very highly and have already booked the hotel and flights for next February.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RTHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Familie_Hlebaina, Front Office at Familienparadies Sporthotel Achensee, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear RTHC,

we would like to thank you for your full description and are happy to read that you have had a great time in our hotel. Also we say thank you for your compiments, which we will pass to our kids club and the ski instructors. It's been a pleasure to be your host and we're looking forward to welcome you again in February.

with kind regards

Family Hlebaina
and the Sporthotel Achensee Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Lots of things to do with the kids, our daughter was so happy to be able to feed the animals in the morning (horses and rabbits), ride, swim in the pool, play with other kids in the play room. Clean, quiet and comfortable apartments, you can request a glass of milk for the kid at 22:00 with no problems from the restaurant... we felt like at home from this point of view.

The all inclusive is not really "all" inclusive, you have to pay for drinks at dinner (except for water and juice which are indeed included).

The only part that I cannot rate that well is the kids menu at the restaurant: fries & schnitzels and the fact that the staff at the play room offered our 3 years old daughter a candy without asking for our permission first, even though we were present in the room.

A suggestion to the hotel would be to have translated in English as well all the warnings and announcements on the walls, there were a few at the play room and at the pool that seemed important, but were only written in German so we could not understand them.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camelia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tegernsee, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

Weekend stay with 5 year old twins. They were absolutely thrilled; perhaps, even spoiled.
The property is attractive, well managed, focused on families with younger children and has ample internal and external activities to provide cover for what ever the weather conditions are.
The kids absolutely loved the Kids Club. This is an all inclusive property with the exception of alcoholic beverages. It has my full recommendation. We are heading back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Achenkirch
0.3 mi away
Das Kronthaler
Das Kronthaler
#2 of 10 in Achenkirch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
5.7 mi away
Kinderhotel Buchau
Kinderhotel Buchau
#1 of 9 in Maurach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
1.0 mi away
Posthotel Achenkirch
Posthotel Achenkirch
#1 of 10 in Achenkirch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cordial Feriendorf Achenkirch
Cordial Feriendorf Achenkirch
#6 of 10 in Achenkirch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zillertaler Hof
Hotel Zillertaler Hof
#4 of 10 in Achenkirch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
5.2 mi away
Der Wiesenhof
Der Wiesenhof
#1 of 20 in Pertisau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Familienparadies Sporthotel Achensee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Familienparadies Sporthotel Achensee

Property: Familienparadies Sporthotel Achensee
Address: Achenkirch 114 | 6215 Achenkirch, Achenkirch 6215, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Achenkirch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Achenkirch
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Achenkirch
#2 Spa Hotel in Achenkirch
#3 Luxury Hotel in Achenkirch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Familienparadies Sporthotel Achensee 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The upscale holiday destination for a fantastic family holiday in the heart of the Tyrolean Alps in Achenkirch, Austria. Spend an exclusive and relaxing holiday in our family-run 4-star hotel. We are one of the leading hotels for children in Europe. Our 5-Smiley rating sets us apart as an upscale and particularly child-friendly hotel. The exciting and varied range of holiday facilities for babies, children, and teenagers will delight your loved ones - and that's a promise! The kids are kept busy, romping and playing all day, so there's plenty of time for the parents to relax and recuperate. Treat yourself to a break for two and spend relaxing moments in our extensive wellness oasis. Our sports and leisure facilities at the Sporthotel Achensee offer something for everyone. The magnificent nature of the Tyrolean Alps ensures relaxation and calmness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Travelocity so you can book your Familienparadies Sporthotel Achensee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Familienparadies Sporthotel Achensee Achenkirch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing