We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weeeee!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alpine Coaster

Alpine Coaster
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Imst
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Weeeee!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

My girlfriend (31) and I (30) came by during summer on our way to Italy and it was so much fun. Would've stayed and tried it several more times if it hadn't been for the relatively long line of people. HINT - even though the guy at the start of the ride says GO, go slowly to begin with. That way the cars in front of you get a head start and once you work up the courage, you can do the ride full speed!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank RolfT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    77
    8
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tyneside
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice Idea, Doesn't Work In Practice”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We headed for the Alpine Coaster with high hopes which were not met. If you go to Imst on a sunny day in the school holidays with the least sense of adventure, you will leave disappointed. Quite simply, there will be too many users with varying degrees of exposure to risk that will frustrate your ambitions if you want to use the rodelbahn as it should be experienced.

Tip - do anything to achieve as large as gap between you and the previous sucker at the top of the ride: insist on a Norwegian translation of the safety brief, stage a fake panic attack, use sign language, recount the Desiderata, ANYTHING that will buy you those precious seconds of empty space on the descent.

But it still won't be enough. Because somewhere ahead of you on the course, in the woods, will lurk the Safety-Conscious Family, trundling downhill at two miles a fortnight. You think you've outwitted them by employing the ruses above, and more besides, but it still won't be enough. You'll hurtle downhill, breathless with adrenalin, and then suddenly, unfeasibly, encounter a slow-moving toboggan inching ahead, snuffing out all excitement in a heartbeat.

How is this possible? Here's the plot. Inverting the maritime rules of chivalry, Mr Safety-Conscious will make darn sure he goes in the first toboggan, ahead of wife and child. Why? Simple. He's been a passenger in his wife's car. He knows the speed she drives. And he's not going to suffer that on the Alpine Coaster. So he gets a clear run with full G-force, 18-till-he-dies. Next in this melancholy procession comes the 9-year-old daughter. All the way up in the chair-lift she's been having the heeby-jeebies at the prospect. After the first nauseous corner of the descent at speed, the brakes go on, the tears flow, and the rest of the journey is made at the speed of your funeral cortege. And bringing up the rear of this pantomime horse will be the mother, coaxing her reluctant offspring along with all the enthusiasm of a hibernating tortoise, leaving a large enough buffer zone between her child and you to prevent your unholy thoughts reaching said child's ears. Even the prospect of faking an accidental shunt at the bottom of the ride into your tormentor's rear won't be enough to stem your rage.

For such is the bitter truth of a sunny day spent on the Alpine Coaster.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
22 Thank wallsender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Laughed the Whole Way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

This attraction had me laughing from the start. You take a very scenic chair lift to the top (which can also be used if you are going hiking for the day). Once on the coaster you are in control of how fast the car goes. I never let the brake up once. It was so much fun I laughed the entire way down, much to the amusement of everyone on the chairlift. Can't recommend this enough. Don't miss it if you are in this part of the world.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MakCerMakLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excelent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Very fun ride down eventhough the climb using the lifts tales over 20min. Make sure you take a multiple ride ticket if you want to do it more than once. It turned out to be on a costly side though.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank philouyeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very safe, exciting and thrilling ride.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

This is the only mountain summer ride we have done; so we cannot compare it with another one. However, we really enjoyed the ride and we did it two times. I was with my three year old son and i felt it very safe to ride with him.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Navarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alpine Coaster also viewed

 

Been to Alpine Coaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing